We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and pleasant”

OSTERIA IN CONTRADA
Ranked #3 of 152 Restaurants in Grado
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Wine Bar
Restaurant details
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

This is a very nice place, quite busy and not that easy to find I have to say. Once you do though it is worth it because the staff are nice and the food is genuine. I recommend this place and I would suggest booking beforehand as it is rather busy and not big.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 550manuelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

The Osteria is a small place, in a narrow street of the Grado old town, with max 25 seats inside and the same number outside. We visited on a Sunday night early august, and we would not get a table without making a reservation.

The premises are rustic and clean. This goes for the single (unisex) toilette as well.

The staff feels familiar, and everyone had a smile on their faces that says “we are 100% confident that we can make you happy when dining with us”. No rush, no nervousness, and people that know their job, as well as the fact that the quality of the food speaks for itself.

The menu for the primi piatti is short (5-7 dishes) and changes daily according to what they have to offer. The same for the secondi piatti - main courses. In addition there are about 10 different choices of bruschette (you get two pieces of bread with different toppinfs, from classic olive oil, tomato and herbs to San Daniele proschiutto and black truffles) and 15 choices of crostatine (small toasted breads with varios delicious toppings) - way more than enough for everyone to be full on any given night.

We had gnocchi with sage and smoked ricotta, bruschette with tomato and the ones with proschiutto, beef tagliatas with tomatoes, rucola and parmigiano, and another version with bolleti (porcini) mushrooms. Everything was simply superb, fresh and tasty. The only thing to suggest an improvement was the olive oil at the table - it could be better.

The wine selection is small, bit the house wine was good. As it was 35 celsius outside, we forgave the fact that the red wine was a bit too warm, which seems to he a bit of a custom in these parts anyway.

All in all - perfect, and will return.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank JankoM013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Had an excellent family dinner here. Very authentic local restaurant. Very friendly service, with a great sense of humour. Excellent food. Simple traditional menu but all excellent.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank CJP900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Well, we were completely lost in the zik zak streets, on hidden place, but finally found it. Deserts were pretty good, very delicious, main meals with great portion of fantasy and delicious as well. I recommend it.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank izret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Went there because of all the good comments. Got friendly welcome and quick drink. But they had no more proper main courses. Told me that 2 big tables have eaten it all!? They suggested me a sea fruit pasta as I did not want to eat meat. The pasta was poor and basically had only tomato sauce (for 18 Euro!). They charged 3 Euro for bread and 3 Euro for the cover! Go somewhere else if you want to eat real dinner.

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank Markus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed OSTERIA IN CONTRADA also viewed

Grado, Province of Gorizia
Grado, Province of Gorizia
 
Grado, Province of Gorizia
Grado, Province of Gorizia
 
Grado, Province of Gorizia
Grado, Province of Gorizia
 

Been to OSTERIA IN CONTRADA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing