We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An escape in the woods”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Pineta Park Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Erice
Reviewed 2 July 2013

As nice as the pictures indicate, and closer to town than the map indicates also. It was easy to find and the parking was free. Cappuccini were prepared at breakfast by a person; not machine-made. (This was the case in most of the places we stayed in Sicily.) The breakfast was typical for Sicily, and that's actually a compliment. It wasn't overboard, but everything that you need. The wi-fi was free, and we could pick up a signal in the public areas. The rooms are basic, and they and the whole complex are a little rustic, in a delightful 1950's way. Our room, as many of theirs are, was a stand-alone unit - lots of privacy, plenty of fresh air, and a fantastic view. We had a private balcony that was very large, and had chairs and recliners. We stayed there at the end of 2 weeks driving around Sicily, and wish we'd allotted more than one night. It would have been a fantastic place to just sit with a drink in a chair under the pine trees (there were plenty of public areas) and relax. It smells good up there and there's lots of birdsong. We are there mid-June, so could sleep with the doors to the terrace open.

Saturday night there was some party noise from another resort down the hill, but that's why you never travel without earplugs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace and sea view. Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieSFBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights and the end of April, as a base for western Sicily (to visit this city, Segesta, and Selinunte). On the plus side, the staff are friendly, and most have a decent knowledge of English. Many rooms (such as ours, room 19) have nice views over the cliff onto northern Sicily (not Trapani, however). Also, the basics, such as the floors, sheets, towels, bathroom fixtures, are clean. Each unit has its own hot water unit, and there's plenty of it (be careful--it's kept at a scaldingly hot 90C). Finally, I believe unlike other hotels in Erice proper, the hotel has a parking area which can accommodate cars for most of the hotel rooms.
The hotel has some drawbacks, though, of which potential guests should be aware. The accommodations are quite rustic, with lots of dust on the window sills, old cracked furniture, crumbling door jambs, and the like. It's about three floors down some stone stairs to most of the rooms. When we checked it, the nice male staffer took our luggage to our rooms, but when we were checking out it was a woman, and I felt awkward as a 50 year-old man asking her to bring my luggage up, although I have a bad shoulder.
The only coverings for the windows are (old) wooden clapboard shutters, and ours didn't have any latches to keep them in an open position. The TVs have only Italian-language channels, and the internet works only in the bar. The bar doesn't have any special staff. Whoever mans the front desk also handles the bar (which is in a separate building)--at least in April (maybe they have more staff in the summer?). The staff are quite nice about it, but it is awkward.
Leaving the place by car is easy, down a fairly straight but unfortunately one-way road. Driving TO the place is rather tricky (albeit very well signed). You have to drive through hoards of tourists in the town's main parking lot and go around the old town, including one particularly nasty right turn which was tight even in our Fiat 500. I must confess we went the wrong way up the one-way street a couple of times in order to avoid the mess.
Another aspect of the location to be aware of is that it's on the bottom of the old town, so to get to the main square, shops, or town restaurants such as the (recommended) Monte San Giuliano, you have to walk up several flights from the room to the parking lot, up to the circumferential road, then steeply up several more blocks. I'm glad I wasn't traveling with someone elderly or infirm!
While there is plenty of hot water, nobody else better use any water while someone else is taking the shower. I just turned on some hot water to rinse my razor while my friend was taking a shower, and he got a cold-water surprise. Fortunately, I didn't turn on the cold water, or he would have been badly scalded. Finally, I don't think this place has air conditioning. We certainly didn't need it in late April at this 750 meter-elevation location. But I imagine that things could get toasty in the summer.
This place isn't bad if you're looking for a rustic experience, but my advice would be to visit Erice and Segesta as day-trips from Palermo. The highways in Sicily are quite good, and the superhighway from Palermo is toll-free here. See Segesta in the AM and Erice in the afternoon.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, be sure to discuss this when booking your room. Room 19 has a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lebelgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

It rained almost constantly during a two night stay, but the views were always stunning and the room comfortable enough. I agree with other reviewers who say the place could do with a little TLC, but for the price we paid we really could not complain. It has parking spaces on-site, good wifi near the reception area, and is a few steps away from everything in the small hill town of Erice. The restaurants in Erice are mainly geared to daytripping tourists, but there are some excellent places down the hill in Trapani (parking along the harbour front). The hotel breakfast was just OK - the orange juice was squash though. A bit odd in 2013, and adding to the feel that nobody has updated things much here for a few years. Some reviewers have complained of not being warm enough off-season, but our room had three different forms of heating and extra blankets, so we were fine (it's high altitude location means it's a few degrees cooler in Erice than in Trapani). A bit plus were the staff - unfailingly helpful and pleasant. Some previous reviewers have complained at not getting help carrying luggage down all the outdoor staircases that lead to the rooms, but we had no problem.

Room Tip: Email ahead to ensure you get a terrace with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The big draw here is access. The village of Erice is a MUST SEE but most of the reasonably priced hotels are more difficult to get to than La Pineta. Our first room was not so great as the heat wasn't working well but they moved us to a better room with a nice view and heat. The rate was good and the staff was very nice.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you accept it, some are much better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler522Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Wish we had some of these reviews before booking! Like a few others Erice is not a great place for overnight stays since its cold & damp on a great day ( at sea level!!). The hotel itself is clean enough but lacks any charm and the room we got had no view at all which is amazing given the location. Our room was a long way from the car park and no offers to help with bags; woulndnt normally need help but with a baby you do have a lot of stuff!

Room Tip: day trip only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandstormLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erice
0.5 km away
Hotel Elimo
Hotel Elimo
#1 of 14 in Erice
378 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel San Domenico
Hotel San Domenico
#2 of 14 in Erice
312 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#10 of 14 in Erice
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#1 of 1 in Pizzolungo
337 reviews
3.1 km away
Tonnara Di Bonagia Resort
0.3 km away
Hotel Villa San Giovanni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pineta Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pineta Park Hotel

Address: Viale Nunzio Nasi, 16, 91016, Erice, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Erice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Erice
Price Range: $145 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pineta Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Pineta Park Hotel is a welcoming 3-star hotel immersed in the pines of Erice, a fascinating site in the province of Trapani, surrounded by a Medieval wall, not far from the peak of the mountain that is home to the Temple of Venus. Equipped with modern comforts and in a splendid position with coastal views, La Pineta Park Hotel offers guests a warm and enchanting atmosphere in the heart of extraordinary Sicily, suspended between the blue sea and the luxuriant Mediterranean shrub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your La Pineta Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pineta Hotel
La Pineta Erice
La Pineta Park Hotel Erice, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing