We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem on the edge of Chiantishire”

Restaurant Sciabolino
Reserve with
Restaurant Sciabolino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 163 Restaurants in Empoli
Price range: USD 12 - USD 43
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 June 2018

This is a delightful local restaurant in a modest village a few miles from the town of Empoli, some 15 miles to the south west of Florence. We arrived just before service finished on a recent Friday lunchtime and yet the service was exemplary. After a sharing platter of local meats my son and I chose a simple pasta dish with a wild boar sauce - and my wife had the risotto, all of which were as good as we could have wished after a very early flight from Gatwick and a drive from Bologna. A bottle of local sangiovese was a perfect accompaniment, and it was all extremely good value.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Food
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

Service is horrible in this restaurant. We were with 6 friends and ordered starters, so far fine. Than 2 maincourses were served before the plates were taken away. The 2 with the maincourse waited for the other dishes to arrive. But they did not, other tables were also served partial dishes. We waited for 10 minutes for the other 4 dishes and decided to leave. We went to the register to pay for our starters and drinks and even "coperto". The owner/cook made such a scene about this despite our request to solve this without raising voices/creating a scene.
We have never ever had such an experience in a restaurant. The did not understand that 6 people having a nice dinner together means 6 dishes served at (almost) the same time.
They really need to work on planning in the kitchen and they need to have an eye on their guests, do they want more drinks, can plates be taken away etc.
The starters were nice, but for the rest we cannot rate thd food. This is a bad review for service, hospitality and being a restaurant.

Date of visit: April 2017
2  Thank danielaa760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio B, Proprietario at Restaurant Sciabolino, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Dear my guests.
You had better to revise what you wrote.
I think you made such a scene for paying not the bill.
You had already your dishes on the table when you stood up... and on Saturday evening, when the restaurant is fully-booked, you cannot make a problem for waiting only 10 minutes.
We remind you that we only make express food, we are not a fast food.
Anyway we are very sorry about what happened.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Simply great Italian meat. Properly served and above all cooked. Get an appetizer and a Fiorentina. You will not be disappointed

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank 31giuseppeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2014

We arrived here by searching online after being unable to get into the restaurant we were planning for.

The food was great, the value excellent and the atmosphere and service wonderful. The fog machine and party lights on the ceiling came to good use to celebrate two birthdays in the restaurant that night. The owner is apparently actually an owner/chef/greeter/DJ combo.

I would visit again for sure.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We came here while staying with family and visiting Pizza & Florence. It's out of the way and unless you had been told about it not somewhere you would think of going.. However if you do you would not be disappointed, the environment was welcoming and relaxed and the food delicious! We were well looked after and went for a taster menu for 8. I have to recommend the Gnocci, it was delicious! As was the steak which was perfectly cooked. Will definitely return, we highly recommend!

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RhiannS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCIABOLINO, Proprietario at Restaurant Sciabolino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014
Google Translation

Anche se in ritardo Grazie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Sciabolino also viewed

Empoli, Province of Florence
Empoli, Province of Florence
 
Empoli, Province of Florence
Empoli, Province of Florence
 
Empoli, Province of Florence
Empoli, Province of Florence
 

Been to Restaurant Sciabolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing