We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Overall”

Ristorante La Nuova Torretta
Ranked #28 of 268 Restaurants in Civitavecchia
Price range: USD 17 - USD 51
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are in the historical center of the city in a medieval tower with a 30/35 seater interior room and 20/25 outdoor stations in a very panoramic view just a few steps from the port precisely historical entrance " door Livorno " . We cook mainly local products possibly enhancing their qualities and their flavors so in a nutshell traditional cuisine made with love ...
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Do yourself a favour and make sure to visit this restaurant when in Civitavecchia.
So glad we went here on our last night after a 3 week holiday in Italy.
Service: the restaurant was full, yet the waitress was extremely attentive.
Excellent food: chef knows how to respect his produce - you taste the freshness of each ingredient. My mother-in-law who isn't a fan of seafood demolished the mussels, calamari and octopus we ordered!
Dessert was voted 'Super'.
Price - surprised us. Very reasonable.
A great way to finish a superb holiday and say 'Arriverdeci Italy'.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Please be aware that the restaurant has had a change of ownership recently. We've been to this restaurant before and we were always satisfied with the experience. In fact today we were looking forward to revisiting an old favourite. What a disappointment! One mishap after another. One of the first courses never arrived, neither did the bread. The second course calamari were undercooked, the tagliata was full of fat, the potatoes burned.To make matters worse - sopra corna bastonata - the Manager did not apologize once when these shortcomings were pointed out. Very very upset

Thank flora043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanuovatorretta, Proprietario at Ristorante La Nuova Torretta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

The manager apologized as the waitress did when you pointed out the dish that had not arrived, as for the other courses we did clean the dishes and were empty at my home if something did not like it leaves in the dish, not Ending, I do not think the wandering just because you paid the beauty of 23.50 euros per person, if they are being beaten at home, because in the restaurants you go to eat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Avoid It. There are better restaurants in Civitavecchia. The owners are rude and do not know how to manage a restaurant. The food so and so and certainly not at par with others in the area. Ramsay would have a field day.

In Italian: cercate un'altro lavoro.

Thank jport2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanuovatorretta, Proprietario at Ristorante La Nuova Torretta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Thanks for the second review, the same table that makes two, congratulations, I repeat that if you do not like it you leave it in the dish, it does not end there, at least it is one thing that works at my home, as far as work is concerned We are perfectly able to do so, unfortunately we can not please everyone, tastes are tasty and they are not discussed, but you got up that nothing was left in the dishes, so I think you thoroughly liked it all, then if For a pasta dish not arriving you have to invent other standards even knowing that it is not so to do it as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

We were in Civitavecchia for one night before a cruise, and were initially heading for a differnt restaurant that was highly recommended by friends. However the look of this restaurant was so charming, with little tables set outside, with wonderful bougainvillea trailing down the walls, and we decided to eat here.
A small simple menu. DH had mussels,then spaghetti vongle, then selection of grilled fish - all beautifully cooked and simply presented.
I had shrimp and arugula followed by scallopine in lemon (this was the weak spot of the menu - it was very fatty and I didn't enjoy it) however DH said his food was delicious.
When we asked for the wine menu it came as "litre or half-litre"......we had a litre of crisp white wine.
The bill including 1 tiramisu and coffee came to €77.

Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LittleBritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

We loved the traditional look of this restaurant and we were right to trust our instincts.
Professionally run restaurant by husband and wife team who welcomed us on a quiet Monday evening. Although our Italian is almost non existent, they made us feel very welcome and helped us to choose some delicious dishes.
From the excellent Fillet of Beef Carpaccio with just the right amount of delicious parmesan and olive oil and the mixed selection of Brushetta - the Truffle one being our favourite to start, followed by a delicious mixed seafood Risotto, which was light and well judged. I enjoyed the Puttensca pasta which was a great interpretation of this classic dish. Just the right amount of anchovy and olives and pasta al dente as it should be. The desserts of a fondant style chocolate souffle and a really light and creamy Tiramisu finished off our evening perfectly. House Red wine was excellent and at only 8 euros a bottle a bargain. Top all of this with perfect Italian hospitality and we also met other friendly and interesting diners - exactly what the first night of a holiday should be.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oakbruton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante La Nuova Torretta also viewed

Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
 
Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
 
Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
 

Been to Ristorante La Nuova Torretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing