We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
16
14
5
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
14
5
9
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Our recent (and first ever) visit to Chiusi occurred during the shoulder season between spring break and Easter, a relatively quiet time in this small southern Tuscan hill town. We opted to stay in Chiusi because of the Etruscan history of the town and the associated quality museums and because it is convenient as a base to explore nearby Umbrian and Tuscan hilltowns (we visited Montepulciano and Assisi during our stay here). Our room at Albergo La Sfinge was enjoyable - we awoke in the morning to a wonderful view of Tuscan hillsides directly from our window. Our room was spacious, with a large well-appointed bathroom and comfortable king size bed. Our host was extremely accommodating and helpful in assisting at check in and especially as we departed. We were meters from the bus stop for local buses to the train station and a few hundred meters from the stop for intra-city buses to Montepulciano, Chianciano Terme and other nearby destinations. We have traveled in Italy nearly every year for more than two decades and were very pleased with Albergo La Sfinge as a base of operations in southern Tuscany.

Room Tip: Lower floor and fronting over the valley view.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alh065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We love Chiusi. While there are a couple of gentrified restaurants, the old village is not prettied up for tourists. It has a real sense of authenticity about it. We stayed two nights at the Hotel La Sfinge, a throwback to another age. Welcoming owner. Spotlessly clean. Abundant hot water. Good water pressure. Comfortable mattress. Quiet. Well-heated in a cold February. Lovely view. 30 seconds' walk up into the heart of the old town. Convenient on-street parking. There's supposedly wifi, but we couldn't get it to work on our laptop, used our phone instead to connect via mobile data. Towels are thin. Bed has a frame meaning no stretching one's legs out for tall people. But for 40 euros a night traveling solo in a double room, can one really complain? Rating reflects price-quality ratio. Other than the wifi, it does what it claims to do, and very well.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank opera_fanatic47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We are super pleased we stayed on the top of the hill in Chiusi rather than close to the station. This hotel is just 100m from all the main attractions of Chiusi which is a truly beautiful town with great food, wine, museums and simply a fun place to be. The hotel was friendly (struggled with English) and very clean. Big cases are tough to drag up a very long flight of steps

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

The room was in such a great location in Chiusi. We decided to stay because we were on our way to Rome where a tour was to start the next day. We loved wandering around the hill of Chiusi. The views were wonderful, the museums were fascinating, and the food was great. If you want to enjoy Tuscany, this is a good place to go.
The room was big. We had a hallway, a living room, nice bathroom and a bedroom with a balcony. I loved the balcony! The view was wonderful! I painted a great picture of the view from that balcony. The only downfall of the room was there is no breakfast served. We walked down to the little store and got yogurt and fruit and ate in the living room. There were restaurants near by which might have been open but we needed to eat and get to the train station.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2014

The room was decent enough, no air conditioning but a fan. The owner let us keep our bikes in the foyer. Unfortunately our stay was coloured by the fact that the bathroom flooded whenever we showered. The shower was a curtained off portion of the bathroom, so when the drain didn't carry water away fast enough, the entire bathroom floor was covered, even with a shorter (~5 min) shower. Room came with wifi. Good location for accessing the old town.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marcia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews