We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
19
29
34
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
29
34
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator stayed here boats noise ferry venice
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Being a 2 star hotel we weren't expecting much here, and first impressions of the Clodia is that we were right not to. Funny place though, because it kind of grows on you in a perverse kind of way. It's quirkiness is very appealing despite the rock hard beds with pillows that are about as comfy as a cement bag and the worn bed linen and stained pillow. Not to mention black stuff growing in the corners of the shower - oh and the rusting radiator in there. It's clean though it must be said. There's noise from the boats at night as they make themselves ready to go out and catch fish and then there's the smell of fish in the morning as the catch is landed. We could have put the air con on but I personally don't like it much so it was my choice to have the noise and the mell - that's not the hotel's fault. At least the WiFi was excellent.

The staff here are helpful and friendly. Parking is in the side street alongside the hotel, it's cramped and a bit tight but it's part of what Chioggia is - even the fact that the seagulls used the car for target practice so after 3 days you can imagine what a mess I had to clean off the screen?

Sounds horrendous right? But it's not, it's just what Chioggia is and you have to savour the experience, this is no 5 star hotel or town - and it doesn't come close to pretendng to be, it's very far removed the clinically clean hotels in spa towns and "resorts" the world over. This is real, proper people with proper lives going about their daily business - it's a working harbour town which needs to be embraced for the experience it gives and the Clodia fits in very well here. Sure the owners could tidy it up and make it into some plastic gin palace but it would destroy the lovely ambience and "patina" of the place. Come here, stay at the Clodia and experience it warts and you'll not regret one single minute of it. Get a room on the upper floors with a baclony though, where you can sit outside with a glass of your preferred tipple watching Chioggian life go by - it became my favourite pastime here. Wonderful!

It gets 5 stars from us because it doesn't try to be anything other than what it is. They make excellent coffee at beakfast, and for that we can forgive them anything.

Dreadful hotel - we loved it to bits :)

Room Tip: Get a balcony on an upper floor then sit and watch the world go by
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Clodia C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Clodia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you very much for your true and sincere review.
See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

A basic hotel, but very clean and with good rooms. I got a room on the third floor, it was ample and well furnished. The bed was comfortable, no noise from outside, and I even had a small private balcony with a view on the canal.
There is no elevator, so a room on a high floor will offer you better views, but there will be stairs to climb.
Prices are moderate and parking, breakfast and Wi-Fi are included. Parking is a big bonus in a city where parking space is very limited.
Breakfast is just basic, and food and beverages are good.
Wi-Fi signal was intermittent, but I managed to use it.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.

In conclusion, this hotel is great value for a moderate price.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floors have better views
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ANGELO V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Clodia C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Clodia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

thank you for your kind judgment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Kind & Friendly people, great location, nice views. The breakfast is great, simple and good. I enjoyed my stay here very much.
The atmosphere is good,the fish market and main street is close, great weather, perfect for summer.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank lizipacziga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Clodia C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Clodia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thanks for your very kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

The staff was very welcoing and nice, told us every important information. Our room had a nice view from the top floor. It had air condition, it was comfortable. The beach is 15 minutes walk from the hotel, which is located in the historic center. If I visit Chioggia again, i will definitely stay at Hotel Clodia.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank iOne777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Clodia C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Clodia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016
Google Translation

Grazie per la sua gentile recensione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

I think what relieved us after a long drive was that the hotel manager \owner was a wonderful man. He helped us park our car and I saw him driving another owners car , as they were having trouble parking. He was happy , Italian load (which we loved) and he was up and bright and awake at breakfast, taking care to make us a lovely coffee, individually. The hotel room was comfortable, bathroom very good and we were right in the centre so we could go for instant centre walks. Recommend this hotel and lovely area - rather than mad venice.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Clodia C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Clodia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews