We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
66
117
50
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
117
50
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown centrerailway stationthe ground floorshower cubiclecakesstar hotelyogurttowelswifikettlesnookerbicyclesposition
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of August as part of a Rail Discoveries holiday. On arrival, my husband and I were allocated a very small room on the first floor overlooking a back corner and with a tiny window overlooking an air condition unit. There was little room around the bed and the en suite accessed by a sliding door, the only way possible. We immediately requested another room as others clearly had very different allocations and were comparing whether they had fridges/ coffee tea facilities- ours had room for neither of these. As the hotel was full we were asked to wait until the next day. We therefore did not unpack our cases and the next morning was showed a larger room, 401 which we agreed to move to later in the day when it became vacant at 6pm. On arriving back to the hotel the next day we were met by a staff family carrying our possessions in the corridor. While this was helpful it also meant we had not emptied the safe and our belongings were bundled up earlier than the agreed time.
The food was not good during our stay. Reading other reviews, I wondered if some chef staff were away during our time because we have stayed in similar hotels and are not so fussy.

We enjoy simple pasta dishes but found these over cooked and the sauces lacking any flavour. Those with vegetarian needs certainly did not fare well. I felt that there were too many diners and on the final evening, when there was only our party and some individuals, the food was a totally different quality.
Considering the cost of our overall holiday, we felt that it was not good value and we were disappointed. Some members of our party decided to miss dinner on more than one evening.
The waiting staff were approachable and attentive.
As others report, the wi fi is poor.

Stayed: August 2016
2  Thank Traveller444_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

This feels like a Victorian Spa Town Hotel with period charm and modern facilities. It is a few minutes walk from the Rail Station, Town Centre and Promenade. (Using the trains for visiting Rapallo, Cinque Terre and Genoa was easy.) Without exception the staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. Our room was good and cleaned extremely well. Food was very good with bulk provided by a large pasta second course in our four course dinners. No tea/coffee in rooms but then we knew this when we booked. Lots of TV channels but only one in English but, hey, we are in Italy! (We have only one small criticism - very poor WiFi. This seemed to be the case wherever you were in the hotel according to other members of our group.) This is a very pleasant family run hotel to which we would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Stayed on half board with a RailDiscoveries group, in a very hot week.. In an elegant area and well placed for short walk to the old town or the beach. Excellent and quiet room air-conditioning.
Tap water drinkable, but room WiFi (30x floor) useless - had to descend to breakfast room (floor below reception) to be able to reach the internet, then quite usable - and free.
Room was quiet and very well kept, with adequate storage and slightly hard mattresses, but bathroom is a bit of a squeeze, especially shower, but plenty of hot water and towels. Free room safe, but unreliable, and had to abandon use in case could not be opened or closed when time was short.
Happy and helpful staff, though occasionally reception manned by non-English speaker. We enjoyed the simple and light 5-course meals and good service, though the main course was rather light, and there was hardly time to eat the buffer salad before the next course was served! Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mab33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We had a pleasant weeks stay at this hotel (with a group of 24), all the staff were excellent, rooms and hotel were clean at all times. We all enjoyed the food which on the whole was very good. its a medium size hotel close to both the railway station and a short walk from the beach and centre of town.

Good choice of food for breakfast, evening meals consisted of a starter, then a salad followed by a pasta course then a meat course (with one vegetable) then a sweet. Quite a nice change to eat in the Italian style (main course not meat vegetables and gravy), choice of meat or fish every night for the main course. 1/2 bottle of wine each every night on the table. Only one course (through out all the week) was not to everyone's liking and the staff did ask if we did not like it and seemed to take the feedback on board (we all did enjoy the other 4 courses that night)

All in all well worth going to was the consensus of all 24 of us

The resort has a nice older part with a good market, good choice of bars and restaurants. Safe and clean beach a short 5 min walk away, close to other destinations for day trips, which are accessible by a good train service

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 75jhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We stayed here for six nights on our Rail Discoveries holiday, visiting three of the Cinque Terre and Genoa. The hotel is very well located, close to the railway station and a pleasant walk to the beach. Our room was pleasant, looking out on a beautiful old villa across the road. The bed linens and towels were sparkling white, bed was comfortable and the food and wine at dinner were excellent. Lots of choice at breakfast. The staff were all charming and very helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front so looked out to the main road, with a little balcony at the end of the corridor so we could enjoy the sunshine.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StokerTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStelladelMare, Proprietario at Hotel Stella del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016
Google Translation

Grazie per le belle parole, anche noi la ricordiamo con piacere, dalla foto l'abbiamo identificata. Speriamo di rivederci in Italia presto.
Un saluto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews