We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Albergo Martini(Chianciano Terme)(Great Value!)
USD 73
USD 71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel Capitol(Chianciano Terme)
USD 103
USD 99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Garden(Chianciano Terme)(Great Value!)
USD 58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Caterina(Chianciano Terme)(Great Value!)
USD 65
USD 57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aggravi Hotel(Chianciano Terme)
USD 70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Palazzo Bandino(Chianciano Terme)
USD 138
USD 134
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Montecarlo(Chianciano Terme)(Great Value!)
USD 58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo La Pietriccia(Chianciano Terme)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Campo Contile(Chianciano Terme)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (809)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveller rating
220
363
152
57
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
363
152
57
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming capbreakfast roompleasant stayspacountrysidetuscanyinvestmentcheese
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 810 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2015

It seems that all the funding has gone into the basement spas, jacuzzis, massage rooms and so on, at the expense of the rooms and furniture. My heart sank when I first opened our room door. It would be hard to make a room look more dull. And as others have written, the balcony, for which we paid extra, was tiny, with no table. Having said that, everything worked and the room was kept spotless, towels, etc changed daily.
All I'll say about the food is that the soup was good every night. I don't believe that Italian bread has to be like concrete.
The staff were fine, mostly, and helpful.
The Travelsphere Treasures of Tuscany tour was excellent, thanks mainly to guide Prisca and driver Gianni.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minnipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel V, Responsabile reception at Villa Ricci Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2015

Dear minnipop,

thanks for giving us the opportunity to have a discussion and understand through your review, the efforts we make and that they reach our customer. The rooms will be renovated in the next futeure in order to continue the path of renewal that has happened with the Spa.

Best regards,
Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2015

We stayed at this hotel as part of Travelspheres Treasures of Tuscany. We paid extra for a room with a balcony and did have a nice view over the countryside, but both the room and balcony are in need of refurbishment. The room smelled quite musty when we arrived, it was gloomy and the dated furnishings were very dull. The bedsprings seemed to be broken and all the doors (room, bathroom & balcony) needed lubricating as they squeaked loudly when opened or closed. The bathroom was rather grubby with the tiniest shower cubicle which leaked water into the wall, causing a damp patch in the bedroom. The cleaner obviously swept up the flaking plaster everyday but no effort was made to repair the leak while we were there.
The food in the restaurant was OK but dull. Breakfast was the same every day and although there was a bowl of 'fresh' fruit it was clearly the same fruit, with everything that wasn't eaten deteriorating day by day ! Dinner was plentiful but with very limited choices, veal was the most frequent meat offered but varied in quality from quite enjoyable to totally inedible.
The restaurant staff were mostly friendly but rather disorganised, they would often serve 6 or 7 people at a table of 8 then go off to do something else. They also had a tendency to lean across customers to serve other people rather than going round to the other side of the table.
I can only guess that Travelsphere use this hotel because it is cheap, it is in the wrong location for most of the excursions they offered (Florence, Pisa, Lucca, Siena) which meant we spent between 1.5 and 2.5 hours EACH WAY on the coach most days.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel V, Responsabile reception at Villa Ricci Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2015

Dear Mr PrimroseB,
Thank you for your review and for the ideas suggested. We are aware of our structure at the moment and the need for action, in fact, in this regard we always try to be precise and accurate with the cleaning and the daily change of linen.
Breakfast at our hotel has been enriched with many varieties of homemade cakes, cookies and bread. The staff of our restaurant is always trying to satisfy the demands of all customers and when they have three different menus, often the requests get busy, but the success of a customer satisfaction on food has always awarded.
We wish you many beautiful trips to Tuscany.
Best regards,
Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

Stayed for 7 nights at the above hotel as part of Travelsphere Treasures of Tuscany and was advised on booking that upgrade was worth while.. I wonder why as we learned later on from fellow travellers that some non up graders had better rooms...
Our balcony consisted of two odd dirty plastic chairs, glass dividers on both sides had huge cracks and although the outlook was reasonable it did overlook an apartment block!
On arrival the impression was that the room had not been used for a while...leaking toilet..shower only trickling water so impossible to rinse out hair shampoo ....difficult to control the hot water so increasingly more scalding the longer it was running. When we complained they did change the shower hose but remained pretty hot with little flow!
Our bed was uncomfortable to say the least..so lumpy we had to place all the woollen blankets in the cupboard on top of the mattress to relieve the discomfort.
Internet was very intermittent and the hotels so called technical guy(clearly not...just trying to appease us) said he would sort it....NOT!
The location was rather depressing for such a wonderful place like Tuscany with most hotels closed permanently and for sale in the local Estate Agents.
We endured hours on the coach daily as most of our day trips were on the other side of the county.I can't blame the hotel for that but suspect Travelsphere paid very little to the hotel for our stay.
On a positive note the staff were polite, food plentiful and wine reasonably priced.
Travelsphere should have charged slightly more and put us more centrally .

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel V, Responsabile reception at Villa Ricci Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2015

Dear T J,

I really thank you for your decision to share your experience in our hotel with the Tripadvisor travelers, but I am really sorry concerning the fact that our room didn't satisfy your expectations; I would like only to underline that room 538 is one of our best rooms. With a fantastic view of the Val d'Orcia valley.

Regarding our location, Chianciano offers a lot of activities to do during your stay. For example we have the Etruscan museum (for those who love culture), we have a beautiful adventure park where you can walk in the middle of the nature, we have a big spa called "Terme Sensoriali" and thermal pools Theia and also the market that is made every wednesday and the lots of activities that are organized by local touristic associations.

With my best regards,
Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

Have just returned from a Travelsphere holiday in Tuscany, where this hotel was our base.
We had a double room with a balcony which looked over the Chincia valley and the old part of Chianciano Terme. The rising sun shone into our room, number 547.
The room itself was a little old fashioned and faded but what the hotel lacked in room amenities it more than made up for with the super friendliness of the staff and the delicious meals we ate there.
A special mention needs to go to Vanda. She served behind the bar and waited on tables. Her English was very good and she went out of her way to remember guest preferences. She is an asset to the establishment.
We had a lovely week here. I wish we had had time to check out the spa, but this holiday was all about seeing the sights of Tuscany.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KrispyPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel V, Responsabile reception at Villa Ricci Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2015

Dear KrispyPly,

thank you for your beautiful words about our hotel and our staff.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you soon in our hotel.

It will be a pleasure to share your comments with all my colleagues and a special greeting from Vanda who sends her personal thanks.

Best regards,
Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015

My husband and I have just returned from a week at Villa Ricci with Travelsphere and the hotel staff were fantastic, extremely friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The food was varied and plentiful. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a large bathroom and a lovely view from the window, the decoration and furniture could do with updating but then all you do is sleep in the room and for this purpose was more than adequate. It was in a good location for both the new part of town and the old part. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel V, Responsabile reception at Villa Ricci Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2015

Dear Chris G,

I thank you for your lovely words about our hotel. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay , the services and our food.

It will be a pleasure to share your comments with all the staff and I hope to see you next year.

Best regards,
Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews