We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
74
136
41
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
136
41
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews newer rooms great location one night lake como attending a wedding decent hotel new wing tea coffee no lift church bells shower room central location friendly hotel nice breakfast gelato the air conditioning first floor
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We were attending a wedding in Lake Como and chose to stay at the Hotel Centrale for 3 nights. It is not a luxury hotel but nevertheless it is a very good choice. It was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here very much and we would choose to stay here again. However, there are a few issues to be aware of if you do choose the hotel and accommodation we stayed in.

We chose the Lario apartment as we like to have space and self catering facilities. The space was great, the apartment has been recently refurbished and everything was very comfortable.

Shower room was spacious enough with room to put toiletries around the sink and on the shelf in front of the mirror. The shower cubicle was also spacious with a small shelf on the shower unit for your soap. Water took a little while to heat up but once it got going it was hot enough.

Although there was a kitchenette, there were no facilities – no kettle, no cutlery, plates, saucepans etc. On asking at reception if we could have these things we were told that the manager doesn’t allow for these things in the apartment. It seems rather strange that there is a self catering apartment on offer but you’re not allowed to cook or boil a kettle in it. Hot water was provided at the bar for you if you wanted to make a hot drink but it is very inconvenient to have to go down two flights of stairs and walk all the way to reception to get to the bar every time you fancy a tea/coffee. There was a fridge with small freezer which worked well. There were drinks in the fridge – water, soft drinks and beer but no sign anywhere to advise if these were to be paid for or not. We asked at reception and were told you had to pay for them if you wanted to consume them.

There was no iron or board in the room. You had to use an ironing room, which was no-where near the apartment. It was a long walk to get to the room and you would need someone from reception to let you into that part of the building each time. Again, this was not very convenient. I was allowed to take the iron to the apartment, but not the ironing board but this wasn’t a problem as I laid a towel on the kitchen counter top instead. The iron could only be used as non-steam as it was leaking from the bottom. They only have one iron in the hotel which was rather unfortunate.

The other small issue was that the apartment felt quite cool so we asked how we could turn the heating on. We were told that the aircon units do not have a heating option and the season hadn’t kicked in for management to turn the heating on… so we had to put up with it being a little cool, until we discovered the radiator in the bathroom could be switched on providing some heat. We left the bathroom door open and it slowly heated up the rest of the flat to a better temperature (we travelled September 21st to 24th so not sure if it is usually cooler this time of year or not).

The nearest supermarket was a 20 minute walk, which we decided against. We found a lovely little gelato shop just around the corner from the hotel, with a very friendly owner who sold big and small bottles of water, juices and cakes at reasonable prices so we just bought a few bits from there. The gelato was good too! (turn right out of the hotel, walk to the next road and turn right. Cross the road and the gelato shop is just a little way up on the left side of the road).

Another thing to be aware of is that there is a church right next door to the hotel and the bells ring every half hour from around 7am until the early evening.

Having said all of the above, we would still stay here in the Lario apartment again as location was excellent, just 2 minutes walk to beautiful Lake Como, several restaurants nearby, staff were friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was very good with hot, cold, gluten and dairy free options available. Fresh fruit, cakes, yoghurts, cereal, boiled and scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, broad beans, ham and cheese slices, tomatoes, cucumbers, olives and white/brown toast.

Solutions to the negatives:

1) Bring your own travel kettle & travel steam iron
2) Don’t worry about eating in your apartment – eat out at the lovely restaurants!
3) You could bring your own snacks with you – save you having to walk 20 minutes to the supermarket. Buy water, juices and cakes from the gelato shop around the corner
4) Take earplugs with you to help cut down the noise of the church bells
5) Take a cardigan/hoodie in case it feels cool in the room/apartment

If management would sort out some of the negatives I would give this place 5 stars (i.e. provide kettle and self catering facilities in the self catering apartment, an iron and ironing board in the room, and heating option in the room. Also, an electronic card key system rather than the old fashioned key system would be good).

We hope to be back one day soon.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YJ68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admin_HotelComo, Manager at Hotel Centrale, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear YJ68,

Many thanks for taking the time in writing such a detailed a review and for sharing your experience other TripAdvisor readers.

We are delighted to hear you appreciated our buffet breakfast, the location, the apartment and that on the whole, despite some negative aspects, that you would stay with us again!

We appreciate your constructive criticisms on our Lario apartment which will be considered for future improvements. However, please note that due to Italian safety regulations, irons are not allowed in rooms or apartments.
Thank you for your comment on the mini-bar rates; prices are displayed on the desk in the room; we are very sorry you could not find them, however, thanks to your feedback, we can ensure that signage will be improved.

We cherish all comments, both positive and negative; this allows us to improve and exceed our guest’s expectations. A happy guest is our goal!

Should you decide to stay with us again in future, we will be delighted to welcome you here Hotel Centrale.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We were welcomed by a youth who came in from the terrace having been smoking so smelled of tobacco. Our room at the far end of the new extension on the ground floor but we noticed did not have a proper shower, just a hand held spray over a bath - no shower room was available. There was no milk on the tea/coffee tray but on asking at reception, the youth told us coffee & milk were not put in rooms although we actually did have so he went away to find some milk to finish making our coffee. Whenever we wanted to use the tea/coffee we had to go & ask for some. The first morning we were awoken early by people using the rear door next to our room & a trolley rattling along the tiled floor at the back entry. The room key cards would be better if a buzzer did NOT sound when neighbours entered their rooms late at night & early morning. Next evening about 5 pm we tried to drive into the car park but no one responded to the buzzer - my wife went in to reception & rang the bell 4 or 5 times before the youth hurried out from the accommodation area putting his jacket on - why was he not at the desk for a good 10 minutes? However, a more helpful & sympathetic young lady had noted our numerous problems over the first two days, apologised for the problems & next day a bottle of prosecco was left in our room - a good outcome to a catalogue of problems. The rest of the week stay was much better, as was the irritating youth.
P.S. - their evening restaurant is only available for pre-booked groups but there are several lovely ones close by.

Room Tip: Avoid 405 by the rear door with a tiled floor entry hall & opposite two store cupboards
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hildenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admin_HotelComo, Manager at Hotel Centrale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear hildenley,

Thank you for your review.

We hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you faced during your stay. We have notified our Front Desk Manager on the unacceptable behaviour of our staff member and we can ensure that this attitude will be rectified and that more time will be spent on training.

Thank you for your constructive criticism on the key card buzzing sound, soundproofing and shower panel; we are aware of the problems and the Management is currently trying to find a solution.

Once again, we sincerely apologize for the various inconveniences you encountered during your stay.

Should you decide to give us a second chance, we would be delighted to welcome you here again at Hotel Centrale.

Kindest regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Decent place with Yerevan good price level. The staff is all time friendly. Breakfast is also good and the rooms are nice too. I you have a chance ask for the newer rooms at the back of the house. I stayed In the older part and these are fine too.
Will definitely come back !!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank unsub1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admin_HotelComo, Manager at Hotel Centrale, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear unsub1967,

Thank you for taking the time in writing us a review and for sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor readers.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our Classic room, our buffet breakfast and our location.

We are also very happy to read that you are planning to stay with us again in the future!

Many thanks for choosing Hotel Centrale and we will gladly share your comments with the whole team.

Looking forward to welcoming you here again soon.

Wishing you all the best!
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Great location close to shops, lovely restaurants, the lake, just ideal.
Very new modern bedroom wing wonderfully air conditioned.
Our double room with facilities for the disabled was large and well equipped, the bathroom was great all designed to help someone in a wheelchair. Very well done.
The hotel was clean, very friendly staff, small bar but adequate for our needs.
I would suggest a ramp down the steps to the front terrace, we couldn't get there.
Breakfast was great and very good value for money, hot food as well as cold.
We would certainly recommend this hotel, we enjoyed our two days there.
Thank you

Beverly Greenwood

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Beverly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admin_HotelComo, Manager at Hotel Centrale, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Beverly G,
Thank you for taking the time in writing us a review and for sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor readers.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated your guest room, our buffet breakfast and our location.

We are also pleased to read you are planning to recommend Hotel Centrale!

With regards to the ramp down at the three terrace, we have taken note of your feedback and passed it onto the Management.

We will be more than happy to share your kind words with the whole team.

Looking forward to welcoming you here again soon at Hotel Centrale.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

We have just returned from 4 nights at this hotel as we were attending a wedding on Lake Como. This hotel is really very nice, clean and the staff are very helpful. Its location is excellent for the lake where there are frequent trips and ferrys. Unfortunately for us we were very disappointed with our room. We arrived quite late and just needed to unpack have a quick wash and go out for something to eat. We noted the room was really small but were not too worried about that so did'nt really check anything. However the next day we realised how small the shower was in the bathroom, it was so small there was nowhere to put the shower gel,and shampoo but on the floor, my husband was unable to bend down to pick it up without opening the door to give him more room. We were absolutely astonished at the size having never seen a shower as small as this except probably in a caravan.It was a good job we were not larger people. We decided as we had not complained on arrival to put up with it as we were only staying a few days. As I booked last year for this trip (also booking another room for my friend) I am sure there must have been better rooms available then. Everything else was lovely and we had a good stay but don't think we would risk booking again.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank SusanNewark_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admin_HotelComo, Manager at Hotel Centrale, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear SusanNewark_Notts,

Thank you for your review.
While we were happy to read that you were pleased with the location and the friendliness of our staff, we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience with the bathroom. We are fully aware that some bathrooms are small and it is mainly because of the structural characteristics of our property. However, we have taken note of your feedback and passed this information onto the management.
Looking forward to welcoming you here again at Hotel Centrale.
Kindest regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews