We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,473)
Filter reviews
1,473 results
Traveller rating
1,214
159
60
25
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,214
159
60
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillveranda restaurantjacket and tielake comofloating poolbest hotels in the worldjunior suiteindoor poolold worldlinen sheetsmain buildingbeautiful hotella verandatennis courtsconcierge deskgeorge clooneymagical place
Filter
Updating list...
773 - 778 of 1,473 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Sorry if this title has been used many times before, but it seemed appropriate. If you stay in this quality of hotel all the time, ignore my ramblings. We chose this hotel for a special couple of nights for our 20th anniversary, and were delighted with the experience. From the time the taxi went past the security man In the Arrmani suit and shades, until we left a couple of days later, it was magnificent! We had a junior suite overlooking the lake. The view is unsurpassed by anything other than the Taj Mahal at close range. The staff were extremely professional but unobtrusive and I could have spent three days exploring the gardens, (most hotels don't have their own waterfall). We had drinks on the terrace, 29 euros for 2 drinks, but with the best nibbles I have ever had. We did not eat dinner in the hotel, but the breakfasts were great. You can sneak off to a couple of really good wine shops to construct a picnic to have in your room. Certainly not a place for backpackers, but for the really wealthy or those of us who can stretch for something special, this is a fantastic spot.

Room Tip: Lake view is a must
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dkreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stopped here for breakfast on the way down to Tuscany. (see travel tips)
A couple of years ago, this classic lakeside hotel was looking very tired. Now it's freshly painted and with new carpets. Also the service seems to have improves in line with the makeover.
The location is fabulous with a 100m of lake frontage and manicured gardens behind the hotel complete with cascading water.
Breakfast was sumptuous and for 35euro each, worth it in my opinion.
It can be windy at VdE which sometimes dictates whether you can eat outside or have to seek shelter inside or behind the hedges and screens.
If driving then take the left hand road after entering the hotel grounds and park above in the sporting club car park. Avoids the tight underground park garage.

Room Tip: If you are driving from Switzerland consider this sneak trick. Take the motorway exit at Chiasso, just before the border and drive through town passing the station and heading for COMO.. This avoids the queue at the motorway border. Also you can fill up at the petrol stations as it's cheaper petrol in CH compared to Italy. (at time of writing) After the border, go 100m then turn Left to Cernobbio and follow signs until you reach the town. Go through the narrow one way to the other side of Cernobbio and hotel is on your right. Forest border as you end up in a tiny crossing normally reserved for locals.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zaplocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Lake Como in itself is a fantastic site but staying at this hotel is a unique first class experience. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the staff is terrific, the concierge desk provides outstanding service and the indoor pool and spa facilities are first rate. The food is the best as is the service. Room service breakfast on a terrace overlooking Lake Como is special.

Room Tip: Lakeside views are a must and ask the concierge for great day trips.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosmo144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I have been very fortunate the stay at Villa d'Este more times than I can count over the last 30 years and realised I have never written a review for TripAdvisor. The last visit was June 2011. This must surely be one of the few great hotels in the world where the standard has remained highly consistent, where there seems no apparent cost cutting, and where the staff remain the same year after year (and get older with me!). The hotel provides a complete experience which started in the 1870s and continues in its modern version to provide every comfort in a grand yet relaxed style.
The ambiance is unsurpassed created by exceptional service, every modern convenience, rooms filled with fresh flowers and antiques, pools, restaurants, gardens, and a few shops. But what shines above all this is the atmosphere that has been created - it is totally relaxing whether you are in your casuals or in your latest designer clothes from Milan. For a hotel of this calibre the treats are more intangible - like sitting on the terrace overlooking the lake as it changes colour at twilight sipping a cocktail - or sitting under one of the many gracious trees reading a favourite book, or swimming in the pools - the outdoor one on a pontoon floating on the lake, or just enjoying the aroma of the climbing jasmine etc etc.
Did I mention the pure linen sheets? (changed daily). This is a luxury rarely found these days but remains part of the tradition of Villa d'Este - as does the exceptional standard of dress of hotel staff at every level.
Yes, the breakfast and coffee exceptional. Yes, the service in the restaurants exceptional. Yes, the attention to detail exceptional. And the personal service provided by the General Manager, and Giovanna Salvadore and Annamaria Duvia of the PR Department unbelievably helpful. It is this personal attention to detail that puts Villa d'Este above the rest of the luxury European hotels. And each visit is something special. Treat yourself!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My stay at the Villa d'Este on the Como lakeside was stunning, it was truly unforgettable.
The staff were wonderful and the rooms were large and spacious.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel leaving evening meals to the local town of Cernobbio, and the food itself was to die for - I've got nothing but praise for the staff of this wonderful establishment!

Its expensive, but - you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews