We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake charm”
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

A classical grand hotel full of charm; a bit "out of date" but it has un unbeatable location, a wonderful lakeside walk and nice cozy restaurants at walking distance.
I would add a bit of modernity to its rooms to make it perfect.
Just great for couples looking for romance.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyllidar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

723 - 727 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

This hotel has everything!! It is located on Lake Como with the most breathtaking scenery ever- the alps, the lake and picture perfect villages. The grounds and gardens rival any palace and the rooms are equally famulous. No vacation spot could be more perfect. In my opinion the lake front rooms in the annex are the one's to request. Can't wait to have an opportunity to return

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Twinponds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Our trip was fantastic and the room and service was impeccable. I would suggest that you join the "Leaders Club" from Leading Hotels as this $100/year fee afforded me an upgrade that was probably worth more than $1,500 for our stay of five days. Everyone at the resort was kind and made us feel at home. Lake Como is incredibly beautiful, but this is the pearl of the lake! Pony up the money, it is well spent.

Room Tip: Join the Leaders Club for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SlickWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My parents took me here for my birthday two years ago. I went back with my partner last year because the first trip was so memorable.

Tucked away in a gorgeous village that typifies this gorgeous region of Italy, your dream stay commences when you drive through the imposing gates and down the driveway to this elegant old hotel.

Do yourself a favour and have a look at the hotel buildings before making your booking. There are two beautiful buidlings. The main buidling, dating from 1568, is called the Cardinal's building. It houses the reception and 125 rooms. The Queen's Pavilion is nearby and was build in 1860, housing a further 27 rooms. some rooms have terraces and others have views. We went for a room with a garden view and were upgraded to a suite with terrace in the Queen's Pavilion. I don't know why! Maybe because it was off season? Felt ridiculously lucky and excited. It was our second visit and the staff were so friendly online when we made the booking. It sounds silly but it felt like going home again when we returned.

There is a wonderful swimming pool that is suspended out over the lake. So while you're lying around trying to spot George Clooney on the lake do yourself a favour and forget the prices on the service menu. You didn't come here to save money and i'm going to warn you in advance if you are looking for bargains. It's not that sort of place. But it will definitely be a club sandwich and beer that you don't forget :-)

The breakfast is unforgettable. If your idea of a holiday is "peaceful oasis of calm" then you have come to the right place. The service is impeccable, too. Don't be shy about asking for advice regarding day trips on the lake or drives nearby... there is a lot to see and do if you decide to depart the gates in order to explore the region (we didn't leave the hotel at all the second time... but that was just us).

Save this for a special occasion with your special someone, look around online for special weekend packages, check in and relax. You really won't ever forget this experience. It's a once-in-a-lifetime holiday that I'm already greedily planning to revisit!

Superb.

Room Tip: Feel free to contact the staff on the phone if you want to know more about the rooms. There are two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RegularTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

This place definitely has a wow factor if you like stylish Italian architecture combined with beautiful lake views, old charm service with Italian flair, excellent cuisine and sophisticated entertainment. Perfect setting for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fair_opinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
19.4 km away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,135 reviews
2.4 km away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
849 reviews
21.3 km away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 km away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
3.5 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
902 reviews
24.2 km away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range: $862 - $1,410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing