We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ever wonder what it feels like to be royalty? Stay here and find out!”
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Seriously, this property is like a royal palace. Granted, it's an aged palace. But at a place like this, "age" translates as "patina." And like any good patina, it only adds to the overall beauty and character -- both of which this place has PLENTY!

We treated ourselves to a suite. And we weren't disappointed. Our private "veranda" directly overlooked Lake Como. By leaving open the double doors that opened from our room onto the veranda, we could hear the water below. You could hear the church bells ringing in town. You could hear water birds calling. It was magical.

Okay, the room has this antique, guilded feel and appearance. No, it's not "high tech," or sexy in a contemporary way. But it IS sexy!

The service is impeccable. It could be the school to which all other hotels send their staff to learn. That includes both the hotel and the restaurants.

The breakfast buffet is absolutely outstanding. A very wide array of goodies. All of which are fresh, well prepared, and well presented. Be sure to sit outside for the full effect of the environment.

There are so many enjoyable walks to be made in/around this hotel during your stay. Walk south toward town and visit the shops. Stop for some gelato along the way. Or walk up the west side of the Villa property and enjoy the cascading water garden. Or climb the hillside on the north side of the Villa property on the trails that are literally carved into the rock. Fabulous views up there await.

We ate dinner on the property, and once again, were not disappointed. The waiters brought our dinner in this incredible "wave." One waiter behind the other, each dropping off a dish in a choreographed serving procedure that was like something you'd see in a ballet. I'm totally serious. There were four waiters, one behind the other, and each dropped off a plate at our table, before moving out of the way to allow the waiter behind him to do the same. This way everything was served in elegant style, and all at once so nothing would be cold, and no person would have to wait longer than the other. WOW!!!

I can't say that I've ever stayed at any other place that made me feel so special. The amount of respect provided by every single staff member on this property is beyond impressive. They treat you like you are royalty. The valet even washed my car overnight, as I noted the next day when they brought it around to the front of the hotel. Once again, WOW!!!

We loved the floating swimming pool. It just couldn't be any more beautiful. We also loved the clay tennis courts. So much nicer to play on than asphalt, or any other surface. They are so much cooler in mid-day sun, and so much more forgiving on your feet and joints. And of course, they were impeccably maintained.

Anyone who stays at Villa D'Este will remember it the rest of their lives. Without question. If you're like us, you'll find so many amazing little details during your stay that you've never seen, or experienced at any other "hotel" in the world. I put that word "hotel" in quotes, because it's really not a hotel at all. It's a palace. Once you've stayed here, you'll totally know what I mean.

Go out of your way to stay here. You will NOT regret it!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eilig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

729 - 733 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2011

Whatever i decide to write about this hotel, it will be an understatement - i have traveled the world and stayed in some wonderful hotels, but nothing in the world can compare to Villa d'este. At other hotels they may get 2/3 out 5 things right but Villa d'este has the FULL package in terms of delivering a 5 star service. Yes it is expensive but money well spent.
Every department gives a excellent service, starting with concierge - very knowledgeable.
Restaurant - service was quick & elegant. Food quality - melts in your mouth. Bedrooms - everything you could want and more, pure luxury!
Views/gardens - just breath-taking, 'post card' view.

After visiting this venue on & off for 2 years i decided to have my wedding there, and i'm delighted to say it was a 'dream wedding', still 2 months later my guests are still taking about it. I really believe it was down to Villa d'este high standards of staff/quailty that made it, Roberto Bassani was fantasic. Thank you Roberto. Also upon arrival Danilo (the Gereral Manager) came to introduce himself which was a nice personal touch.I am already looking forward to my next visit to Villa d'este.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HRS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The moment you arrive at this beautiful hotel you feel like you truly "Have Arrived!" The serive, the food, the rooms...all top notch! It is absolutely gorgous and romantic. I can't wait to return someday!

Room Tip: You have to have a Lake view...if you don't you are missing out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

In the village of Cernobbio the crown jewel gracing the water’s edge is Villa d’Este - one of the most exquisite palace-hotels in all of Europe. Built in 1568 by a Cardinal; home to a Queen (Caroline of Brunswick, wife of George IV of England); adored by a Sultan (of Morocco); owned by a Russian Empress and favoured by Greta Garbo, Mikhail Gorbachev, Elizabeth Taylor and Brad Pitt - everyone should spend at least one day here. The sumptuous entrance hall of polished, white marble will not disappoint. It has
impossibly high, gilded ceilings; is lit by sparkling, crystal chandeliers, and opens directly onto the lake. A unique swimming pool and sun-deck float on top of the water and antique statues line the landscaped avenues in the English-style, park-like gardens. Whether you enjoy a simple drink beside the grand piano on the sweeping terrace, dine in the velvet-draped ballroom or check into the Alfred Hitchcock suite - you will have bought a priceless memory. This setting might, with difficulty, be equalled - but it can never be surpassed!

Room Tip: A lakeside room will have an unsurpassed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Relais-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

One of the most impressive places to visit if traveling in Lake Como area. Just incredibly well maintained classic style palatial hotel really makes a difference.

Arrival to Villa d'Este was like entering into a dream. During the off-season it seemed that the beautiful garden and opulent hotel was in sleep. So quiet it was, but so beautiful also. Sleepy was not the word related to the service we received instantly after parking the car in front of the hotel main entrance. From that point onwards the staff treated us like special guests.

Amazing lobby with white chandeliers, room for your daily afternoon bridge game and the Veranda restaurant with stunning view through gigantic windows.

Room was really nice, quite spacious and well in line with the decorations in other spaces around the building. Top floor view to the lake was just incredibly beautiful. Room also had spacious and well equipped walk in closed as well as huge bathroom with jacuzzi.

Best thing in the hotel was the absolutely stunning surroundings. Lake Como view during this autumnal visit was very serene and calm. Garden surrounding the hotel was in excellent condition and we even witnessed that "The Chefs Garden" is in daily use by the kitchen staff. That's locally produced and healthy if you get the herbs and vegetables from your own garden. Amazing!

In this place you can feel like being a royal. So nice is the environment and service that surrounds you at all times when staying at Villa d'Este.

Room Tip: Ask a view to the lake. Top floor does it nicely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannuMikael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
19.4 km away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,135 reviews
2.4 km away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
849 reviews
21.3 km away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 km away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
24.2 km away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
467 reviews
3.5 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range: $865 - $1,420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing