We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,471)
Filter reviews
1,472 results
Traveller rating
1,213
159
60
25
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,213
159
60
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grilljacket and tieveranda restaurantlake comofloating poolbest hotels in the worldjunior suiteindoor poolold worldlinen sheetsmain buildingbeautiful hotella verandatennis courtsconcierge deskgeorge clooneymagical place
Filter
Updating list...
790 - 795 of 1,472 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Whatever i decide to write about this hotel, it will be an understatement - i have traveled the world and stayed in some wonderful hotels, but nothing in the world can compare to Villa d'este. At other hotels they may get 2/3 out 5 things right but Villa d'este has the FULL package in terms of delivering a 5 star service. Yes it is expensive but money well spent.
Every department gives a excellent service, starting with concierge - very knowledgeable.
Restaurant - service was quick & elegant. Food quality - melts in your mouth. Bedrooms - everything you could want and more, pure luxury!
Views/gardens - just breath-taking, 'post card' view.

After visiting this venue on & off for 2 years i decided to have my wedding there, and i'm delighted to say it was a 'dream wedding', still 2 months later my guests are still taking about it. I really believe it was down to Villa d'este high standards of staff/quailty that made it, Roberto Bassani was fantasic. Thank you Roberto. Also upon arrival Danilo (the Gereral Manager) came to introduce himself which was a nice personal touch.I am already looking forward to my next visit to Villa d'este.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HRS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The moment you arrive at this beautiful hotel you feel like you truly "Have Arrived!" The serive, the food, the rooms...all top notch! It is absolutely gorgous and romantic. I can't wait to return someday!

Room Tip: You have to have a Lake view...if you don't you are missing out!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

In the village of Cernobbio the crown jewel gracing the water’s edge is Villa d’Este - one of the most exquisite palace-hotels in all of Europe. Built in 1568 by a Cardinal; home to a Queen (Caroline of Brunswick, wife of George IV of England); adored by a Sultan (of Morocco); owned by a Russian Empress and favoured by Greta Garbo, Mikhail Gorbachev, Elizabeth Taylor and Brad Pitt - everyone should spend at least one day here. The sumptuous entrance hall of polished, white marble will not disappoint. It has
impossibly high, gilded ceilings; is lit by sparkling, crystal chandeliers, and opens directly onto the lake. A unique swimming pool and sun-deck float on top of the water and antique statues line the landscaped avenues in the English-style, park-like gardens. Whether you enjoy a simple drink beside the grand piano on the sweeping terrace, dine in the velvet-draped ballroom or check into the Alfred Hitchcock suite - you will have bought a priceless memory. This setting might, with difficulty, be equalled - but it can never be surpassed!

Room Tip: A lakeside room will have an unsurpassed room
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Relais-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

One of the most impressive places to visit if traveling in Lake Como area. Just incredibly well maintained classic style palatial hotel really makes a difference.

Arrival to Villa d'Este was like entering into a dream. During the off-season it seemed that the beautiful garden and opulent hotel was in sleep. So quiet it was, but so beautiful also. Sleepy was not the word related to the service we received instantly after parking the car in front of the hotel main entrance. From that point onwards the staff treated us like special guests.

Amazing lobby with white chandeliers, room for your daily afternoon bridge game and the Veranda restaurant with stunning view through gigantic windows.

Room was really nice, quite spacious and well in line with the decorations in other spaces around the building. Top floor view to the lake was just incredibly beautiful. Room also had spacious and well equipped walk in closed as well as huge bathroom with jacuzzi.

Best thing in the hotel was the absolutely stunning surroundings. Lake Como view during this autumnal visit was very serene and calm. Garden surrounding the hotel was in excellent condition and we even witnessed that "The Chefs Garden" is in daily use by the kitchen staff. That's locally produced and healthy if you get the herbs and vegetables from your own garden. Amazing!

In this place you can feel like being a royal. So nice is the environment and service that surrounds you at all times when staying at Villa d'Este.

Room Tip: Ask a view to the lake. Top floor does it nicely.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannuMikael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Villa d'Este is a beautiful property in a wonderful location. We generally prefer a more modern style for our accommodations but had been told that it was *the* place to stay on Lake Como. We had a lake-facing corner suite in the main building and it was clean, spacious and opulently decorated as if from another century. The little balcony was a treat as you could watch all the people coming and going below around the restaurant and the gardens. The service was pretty good, and once we had built up a rapport with the concierge we found them to be quite nice and helpful (although they were keen to sell us on a private boat to Bellagio and I thought their restaurant recommendations were rather average). Not too surprisingly, we were among very few people under 55 at the hotel, which coloured the experience somewhat -- just something to bear in mind if you're younger. If you do go, take out the hotel's kayaks (free) and paddle across the lake to any one of the little restaurants on the opposite shore; for us this was the highlight of the stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews