We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tranquil stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“tranquil stay”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We left the hotel after a 3 night stay feeling relaxed and very happy. The staff were so helpful and professional. They were there if you needed them, friendly and warm but not over bearing in anyway. The room was perfect, good space, comfortable bed, lovely view. We asked for a quiet room and this is what we got!
Hidden in the basement was a 5 star relaxing area with sauna etc. What a treat after a few busy days in Florene. It was late october when we stayed but the pool outside looked very inviting.
The town and the surrounding area have a true tuscan charm.
We hope we will be back soon.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    76
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
63
190
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
st louis MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here 6 years ago; this hotel is still as charming as it was then. The staff is friendly, helpful. The hotel is beautiful and comfortable; bathroom was modern and quite spacious. The spa is beautiful. The breakfast buffet was quite delicious; great coffee, too. The back patio overlooks the gorgeous countryside. Castellina is quite a charming town to base your exploration of the Tuscany area. We also took a cooking class, about 15 min. drive, at nearby Tenuta Casanova; wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stlouisMOColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We ended our tuscan/chianti trip with this hotel and what a delight it was! This was my favorite place of all the hotels we stayed in.
This little town is so quaint and fun and we had a really nice time just walking around, eating pastas and pizzas and drinking carafes of wine!
The owner was a lady who was really sweet and helpful and accomodated us even though mine was a really last minute booking (i just landed up there the morning of our booking asking for a room!)
I got an apartment next door which is also owned by them and it was such a sweet place. It had its own sitting room & bedroom and balcony even with the winery views!
We hung out at the main hotel ofcourse, by the swimming pool with drinks and it was really refreshing and relaxing.
They have their own parking lot not very far away from their hotel since we were driving through this region.
All in all- beautiful hotel, lovingly maintained and we were so happy to have stayed there!!
Breakfast could have a slightly better selection but all of this region of Italy seems to have limited breakfast spreads.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are really nice , so is the apartment i stayed in!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kittycat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Nestled in the picturesque village of Castellina in Chianti, Palazzo Squarcialupi is one of a kind: historic surroundings, unforgettably beautiful views of the Chianti hillsides and vineyards, lovely large rooms furnished with antiques, a luxuriously appointed spa, a first-class winery, and a multi-lingual, friendly staff that goes out of its way to make sure that your stay is memorable. Well located for day trips to Siena, Florence, Monteregione, San Gimignano, Rada and Gaiola in Chianti. Don't miss a chance to stay in this marvelous hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the hillsides and vineyards are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ungerhausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We have just returned from a 10 day adventure in Tuscany. By far the most stunning property and venue was in Palazzo Squarcialupi

The setting was only equalled to the hospitality we encountered. My wife discovered here by chance on the day and we stayed for threee glorious nights

We were able to discover not only the whole Chianti region from herebut we also made Florence as well

The staff not only had written instructions ( in English) of the best route but also the best places to park- this proved to be a dream.

Before I forget the bedrooms are superb and cosy and the addition of the Spa ( for FREE!!)
is unbelieveable!!!

All in all a real find.....We will be back.......Sooner rather than Later

Room Tip: Just Ask.......................from my experience they are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank darmodyKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
4.9 km away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
5.7 km away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
7.3 km away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi

Property: Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Address: Via Ferruccio 22, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price range (per night): $192 - $233
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historical center of Castellina in Chianti, you will find the 15th century Palazzo Squarcialupi. In the past, the Palace was a noble residence with agricultural activity and has recently been restored to become the Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Squarcialupi Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Palazzo Squarcialupi Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing