We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Tuscan Experience in Chianti”
other traveller has booked this property
'la Tana' - on ground floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'la Tana' - on ground floor
view of houses property view of Poderi Val Verde
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
'la Tana' - on ground floor
view of houses
property view of Poderi Val Verde
townstairs entrance with large terrace
view from entrance/kitchen onto  pool area and terrace
downstairs wintergarden loggia
downstairs fully-equipped kitchen with dining area
down stairs - bedroom no. 1
down stairs - bedroom no. 2
downstairs bathroom
upstairs - livingroom with dining area, open fireplace and double sofa bed
upstairs - small kitchen
upstairs - bedroom no. 3
upstairs bathroom
romantic courtyard terrace
floorplan downstairs
upstairs floorplan
pool with leisure area
small covered, unheated, pool for cooler periods
playground
views from upstairs
welcome dinner
cookery courses
rudolfo - newcomer to  our herd of Cameroon sheep
our new-bon lamb twins
'robbie' the peacock
'clio' the kitten
adventure trekking - best in spring and autumn
olive picking in nov/dec.
mushrooming in autumn as of mid sept. ,
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Castellina In Chianti, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maureen07...
Montvale, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Tuscan Experience in Chianti”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We very much enjoyed our stay at this scenic, conveniently located Tuscan farmhouse. The farm was only a 5 minute drive to Castellina in Chianti, yet felt so secluded and peaceful. It's ideally located for visits to Florence, Siena, San Gigimagno, etc. The farmhouse was clean and spacious with a well equipped kitchen and expansive views of the countryside. Don't miss Ulrike's "Welcome Dinner", a true Tuscan delight!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debap2015
Needham, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Experience in Tuscany”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our family of 5 recently spent a week at this villa/farmhouse. We have 3 children in their 20's. We had a fabulous experience and were blown away by how beautiful and peaceful the setting was. The villa is actually made up of 2 separate but adjoining apartments which was perfect for our family with space and privacy for everyone. Ulrike and her son Fabian, were warm and welcoming hosts. We especially enjoyed a cooking class with Ulrike our last night there, as well as her welcome dinner. The location is very well suited to exploring the beautiful, Tuscan countryside as well as being close to Florence and Siena. It was everything we were hoping for and more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and rustic farmhouse
Liked least: Wi-fi was spotty but that was actually okay with us as we were trying to get away from our devices!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54jeet
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

What a beautiful location! It is the Tuscany we dreamed of. We stayed with our friends, two other couples, and had a wonderful time. The accommodation was perfect for us - plenty of space and nicely furnished. We enjoyed the large, outdoor terrace at all times of the day. Ulrike kindly gave us farm fresh eggs, bread, full access of the garden which included fresh herbs, and she had all the necessary items we needed in the kitchen. We LOVED the welcome dinner (a must for everyone!) and had such fun during our cooking class. We laughed, cooked, shared stories, drank a lot of Ulrike's wine, and ate, and ate! You don't have to already know how to cook to enjoy this! Ulrike, you were so kind, caring, and patient with us. You are such a talented, hard-working lady and we hope to be able to go back to Poderi Val Verde some time soon. I miss the fragrant scents of the roses, blossoming trees, and herbs! Thank you for a great week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The serene, beautiful setting
Liked least: We liked everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W
Tortola
1 review
“Fabulous location, breathtaking views, beautiful stone cottages and charming Owner.”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

A most charming hamlet of stone cottages and a main house, set in many acres of Chianti countryside. The main house kitchen is where the cooking lesson took place.
We were a little nervous that morning since neither of us had ever been on a cookery course. Katharina Ulrike Eder, the congenial owner & host and also the Cooking teacher soon put us at ease. She said we would be preparing five separate dishes that morning as she put us to work peeling, chopping, stirring. As she supervised, she gave us tips as to easier ways to peel garlic, remove seeds from tomatoes, etc. What a wealth of information we gained in just a few hours. We both felt comfortable and laughed at the fact we had been nervous. In fact it was so much fun.

After finishing the five dishes, we went outside where a table was set in the courtyard. Here we were to sample and enjoy the lunch we had just prepared. Our efforts in the kitchen paid off, all was delicious and we have already tried doing these same recipes at home in the Virgin Islands. We wished we had allocated more time with Ulrike in her Kitchen but our two week vacation came to an end far too soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing views and tranquility.
Liked least: Not applicable - all amazing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Reviewed 5 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 1,413
/
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing