We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“AN IDYLLIC HAVEN”
livingroom with dining and open fireplace (+ double sofabed)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
livingroom with dining and open fireplace (+ double sofabed)
small, but fully-equipped kitchen with dining area bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
livingroom with dining and open fireplace (+ double sofabed)
small, but fully-equipped kitchen with dining area
bedroom
bedroom details
bathroom with shower
entrance  with staircase
view of 'bellavista'
view of housing complex
floorplan
view from entrance/courtyard terrace
complete view
courtyard terrace in sun rise position
playground
garden details
garden with pool and leisure area
small covered (unheated) pool for cooler periods
cookery courses
ready for the welcome dinner
mushrooming in autum
olive picking in nov
trekking on adventure trails
the owner ulrike and her son fabian at their best
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castellina In Chianti, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marie-Cla...
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“AN IDYLLIC HAVEN”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were made to feel quite at home by Ulrike and her son Fabian. Accommodations was charming rather rustic and with beautiful views over the lovely well tended gardens and pool.. We had a relaxing two week bread well looked after and wonderfully fed by Ulrike whose cooking is effortlessly excellent. Recommendations for new places to visit and new places to eat at were perfect. We will visit again, maybe next time with a horde of grandchildren who will love the farm and its myriad animals. Fabian's archery lesson was also great and reviewed separately.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The setting, the atmosphere and Ulrike and Fabian's graciousness.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska_ab...
Juneau, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Tuscan farm you've dreamed of”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

If you have ever wanted to see what rural life in Tuscany is all about, this is the place to go!

When we decided to travel to Tuscany, staying on a working farm was on the list of "must-do's". I could not have asked for a more perfect farmstay. We arrived in late October; just in time to help with the olive harvest! Getting to help produce olive oil, from start to finish, was an experience I never thought I would get to have and definitely one of the highlights of our trip.

The accommodations were absolutely wonderful. The apartment feels like home; warm and lived in. The bed is super comfortable, and the shower is simply the best ever! I loved waking up the sheep bells and the clucking of pheasants in the woods, and seeing roe deer walking along the paths at night. The property is close enough to town to walk if you wanted, but far enough away that you don't hear cars at night. Ulrike was an incredible host and has extensive knowledge of the entire Chianti area, including the best hot springs and spas!

Staying here was one of the best parts of our entire vacation. I highly recommend it to anyone, whether you want to spend quiet days in the apartment, helping out around the property, or visiting the many walled cities of the area. This is the perfect Tuscan vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the staff, being able to help on the property, the quiet, and all the animals!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VStonkus
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
“Tuscany at its very best”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

An absolutely wonderful Tuscan experience. Our apartment was spacious, well appointed and a total delight. Our view overlooked olive groves and pastoral landscapes rivaling any to be found in Tuscany. The location outside Castellina in Chianti was ideal for exploring the entire region at a leisurely pace. Ulrike and her family/staff welcomed us warmly and were most gracious and helpful during our entire stay. We will most definitely be returning to Poderi Val Verde.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The true Tuscan immersion experience, location, staff
Liked least: I can offer nothing negative.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
“I want to go back...with kids next time!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time at this farm stay just a few km. outside of the lovely town of Castellina in Chianti. It was easy to get to (a rental car needed), and the perfect location for our day trips to Florence, San Gimignano, Volterra, Montalcino, Pienza, and Siena. The only thing I regret was not having enough time just to stay at the lovely farm! Next time we will bring the kids and go in warmer weather so we can enjoy the pools and yard as well as explore the area. The apartment was just perfect for us and felt like home for our 5 nights there. Great value compared to our other stays in Italy also!!!! My kids would have loved seeing the sheep that was born the morning we left. Host Ulrike was super and I also wished we would have done a cooking course that so many raved about. Next time....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Peaceful and relaxing after a day of touring!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fl
Reviewed 11 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 826
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing