We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Tuscan Retreat!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Caminetto west bedroom Caminetto kitchen-diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Caminetto west bedroom
Caminetto kitchen-diner
Caminetto dining table
Caminetto picture
Caminetto bedroom with sunset views
The pool and the view
Caminetto east bedroom
Caminetto west bedroom
Villa Patrignone
The pool at sunset
The pool at sunset
gateway to courtyard
our menu board
The view from the drive
the sunset seen from Caminetto
another sunset
dusty sunset
Podere Patrignone from the air
San Gimignano from the Terracotta Terrace
The steps up to Caminetto
Another sunset
Another sunset
Another sunset
Our 100% organic extra virgin olive oil
The old cart
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Castellina In Chianti, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tom Z
Placida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Perfect Tuscan Retreat!”
Reviewed 16 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We stayed at Podere Patrignone for a week in mid-May 2012 in the Il Caminetto 2-bedroom apartment. Simon & Verity were great hosts. The first night we were there they had a fabulous Tuscan dinner party with the other guests. The meal was fantastic. We started on the veranda with wine watching the sunset, then moved into their rustic dining area lit by candlelight. What a great meal. Our apartment was well funished and kitchen was perfect for us - since we like to cook. The Co-op supermarket in the Castellina town is excellent - small, but very well stocked. We would travel around all day to the various hill towns enjoying the incredible views, eating lunch out, shopping, and then cook our dinners in the apartment. The food items and wines you can buy are just great and different than we find in the USA - which made it fun. Excellent cheeses, raviolis, truffle oils, pestos (mushroom pesto?), etc. - and of course the local wines - which are fairly priced too. Also, check out the ceramic shop in the town - "Pep Bizzarrie" - beautiful stuff - we had some pieces shipped home by Patrizia the owner. If we needed anything during our stay, Simon and Verity were always there to assist.
Our friends from England joined us there for 4 days, so having the 2-bedroom 2-bath apartment was perfect for all of us.

A car is a must! And be prepared for the long gravel/dirt road into Podere Patrignone - take it slow! Ask Simon about the alternate way out to the other main highway - which we found much better and quicker (the south drive). Also, ask about getting out of Castellina and back home to Podere Patrignone - you can't get out of town the same way you come in. A little tricky!

We would highly recommend Podere Patrignone to anyone who wants a true Tuscan experience in a beautiful area of Italy - close to many towns and wineries.
It was everything we were looking for, and more! So, if you are considering this property, Book it Danno!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rustic charm, location, and Simon & Verity's hospitality
Liked least: We probably should have asked them to turn on the heat - it got cool at night
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Reviewed 5 June 2012 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed 26 May 2012 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canada
Reviewed 14 February 2012 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing