We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel But......”
Review of Hotel Langhe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Langhe
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Alba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in early October ‘12 and we enjoyed it very much. Of our 9 hotels in Italy this was definitely one of the most pleasant. With one reservation (described below) we highly recommend it.

One outstanding quality of the Langhe is the service provided by the friendly, welcoming, and efficient staff. This began when we checked in and were offered a glass of wine or a coffee as the paperwork was completed. It continued with dining suggestions and making reservations for us, and with casual, friendly conversation. Another example was when we encountered a slight problem with our room. We had requested a room on a higher floor, which got translated as “highest” and we were shown a large and attractive attic room that had only narrow windows along the top of the walls, too high to see out. When we suggested we’d rather have a room with more of a view outside, even if it was on a lower floor, we were immediately given a lovely corner room with windows along one side and french doors leading to a small balcony on another.

The lobby area, hallways, and rooms are decorated with original art and stylish, sometimes quirky furnishings. Our room was large and attractively furnished in earth tones, with a comfortable queen bed, night stands, built-in desk and closet with safe, but no mini-bar or small fridge. The bathroom was good sized and attractively tiled. There was a pedestal sink with plenty of storage space on a marble counter adjacent, and a tub/shower combination. A couple of minor complaints: the shower curtain was a bit discolored and needed replacing, and there was some moldy grout in areas around the tub.

Breakfast was a very nice buffet with fruit, meat, yogurt, pastries, and coffee to order. It was served in the small, attractive lobby area and adjoining wine-tasting room.

Wifi was included and worked well.

Now for the reservation – location. The Langhe is on the edge of town, a short drive to the old town area. Although the grounds of the hotel are attractive and nicely landscaped, the surroundings are not attractive. The entrance to the hotel property is near an auto body shop and there are several large commercial building surrounding the hotel. The hotel has certainly made the best of it, however, and once inside everything is pleasant. If you can overlook this one negative, the Langhe is a very good choice for exploring Alba and the wine area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NaMakani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

The owner, Nico, is Italian but lived in England for a while so he has a very nice accent, hard to find in Italy. He was very sweet and helpful giving us great tips. The breakfast was full of local delicious and the rooms were very cosy and comfortable. For fans of great music, the ambient sound was very nice

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpellicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated just 3 minutes outside the town center of Alba. The owner, Nico and his staff made our stay a very good one, helping us arranging for a fantastic visit to the Malvira winery, Besides, we were upgraded to a nice and spacious suite, with a private "garden" surrounded by vines and ripe grapes! The breakfast is delicious, and at arrival you are treated with a glass of tasty wine! Since our last stay they have got a pool, we forgot our bathing clothes in the room when we left, and the hotel kindly returned them to Norway by post.
This hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor towards the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SveinAag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This was our second visit to Hotel Langhe and everything was just as good as we remembered it.

Location

The hotel is about a 3 minute drive from the centre of town at the end of a side street. The hotel grounds are lovely and it has a pool, lots of seating and plenty of parking.

Staff

As I said in my previous review, if you wanted a lesson in how to run a hotel and separate yourself from the crowd you should come here. The staff are excellent, the welcome is efficient and friendly and includes a nice glass of wine on arrival. They are also great for advice on places to eat, etc.

Room size, comfort, amenities and cleanliness

This time we just had a normal room which was over in the annexe. Good size, nice bathroom, comfortable and a view of the hillside. The only slight issue was that at this distance from the main building the free wifi was very patchy.

Breakfast was excellent, beautiful local meats, cheeses, jams, etc. Amongst as good a continental breakfast as I've had anywhere.

We also ate in one night as they now offer some antipasti and pastas plus the night we were there they were doing steak. Again very good both in quality and value.

Value

At under €100 a night including breakfast I think this is good value. I have no doubt we will return again.

Room Tip: Room 407 has a nice view over the fields but is a bit patchy on wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This place was incredible. The location was perfect. We were set just outside of Alba's main city center, with easy access to Barolo, Barbaresco, Serralunga and Castaglione Falletto. The owner, Nico really made the trip special though, with recommendations to amazing restaurants and fantastic offerings of local wine on-sight. We had a view of the Dolcetto hills and while we initially came to Piedmont for the wine and food (both of which are some of the best we've had in the world), the hotel was a surprisingly oasis in and of itself. Don't miss a lounge by the pool with a cold glass of favorita, if you've got the spare time. An evening nightcap with Nico is also highly recommended, as his wealth of knowledge about the region is par none. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alba
0.9 km away
Hotel Calissano
Hotel Calissano
#1 of 10 in Alba
489 reviews
5.1 km away
Hotel Le Botti
Hotel Le Botti
#2 of 3 in Guarene
147 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Ristorante I Castelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Palazzo Finati
Palazzo Finati
#4 of 10 in Alba
138 reviews
13.8 km away
Relais San Maurizio
Relais San Maurizio
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano Belbo
492 reviews
7.7 km away
Hotel Relais Montemarino
Hotel Relais Montemarino
#1 of 1 in Borgomale
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Alba

Been to Hotel Langhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Langhe

Address: Strada Profonda 21, 12051, Alba, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Alba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alba
#3 Family Hotel in Alba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alba
Price Range: $127 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Langhe 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Hotel Langhe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langhe Hotel Alba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing