We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all true”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Terrazze di Montelusa
Ranked #2 of 225 Agrigento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I can't really add that much new about Francesco, who was clearly born to be a host, as all the reviews indicate. Our story is that we arrived just as he was going to go out for the afternoon (having just sent me an email to warn me that he would not be back for several hours) and yet he stayed on for a half hour making sure that we had everything we could possibly want. He advised us to go the the Temples by bus and not only gave us a precise description of where to catch one (in front of the station at the other end of Via Atenea, the main shopping street at the bottom of the hill described below - turn left and walk the length of the street till you get to the park, then bear right) and which one to catch (1,2 or 3) but even gave us free bus tickets which had apparently been left behind by a previous guest.

I can, however, try to make a contribution to finding the place - a notoriously difficult task (even though it looks easy on the map). Having been warned that the SatNav was not going to be of great use in finding Piazza Lena itself, I set it to look for Via Plebs Rea on the theory that once we got that far, the detailed directions he provides would do the rest. This worked out a treat: Via Plebs Rea lead to Via Delle Mure, which turned back on itself before going into a tiny roundabout, where the trick is indeed NOT to take the first turning towards the Duomo but to go across and take the second turning down the hill. The hill is steep and the street is narrow. It does change its name from Via Duomo to Via Matteotti to Via Bac Bac, but there are signs if you can take your eyes off the narrow street to see them. The key at this stage is NOT to think of Piazza Lena as a Piazza but rather as a somewhat wider point in the road with what looks like a tiny parking lot (for maybe 15 cars) on your right in front of the (hopefully defunct) Hotel Napoli and the Terra e Mare restaurant. The turn into the parking lot (which has a wall along the road side) is very sharp and you will be lucky if there are any spaces in it, but you still want to stop if at all possible to leave your bags. It would be good to have Francesco's number on your phone in anticipation of this moment (and perhaps better if you have agreed a time of arrival with him in advance. If you pass a vegetable display on your right, you have gone too far. After the 'piazza' there is only one more piece of road (with a big dumpster) where you can hope to park before you get to the main street and get swept away. There is in fact parking in the real piazzas ahead of you, but it is quite a schlep back with your luggage and an amazingly long drive to have another shot at parking near Piazza Lena.

The bottom line is that it is definitely worth the effort once you get settled in, although you may want to leave your car permanently parked until your ultimate departure (although I would suggest resisting that temptation to visit the fabulous beaches along the coast south of Agrigento).

At Francesco's recommendation, we ate at the Expanificio and the Ruga Reale which you can reach by turning right at the main street at the bottom of the hill and going through the big piazza with the theatre in it. Each was very good, with the Expanificio having the more adventurous menu and the Ruga Reale the better atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 184 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Terrazze di Montelusa is a good base for exploring Agrigento. The B&B has around 5 different rooms. Each is relatively large, with a good bathroom. There are also a lot of common areas and a lot of room on the terrace upstairs.

The terrace has spectacular views of the countryside and the sea, and Francesco's breakfasts are up to the task. He has a nice selection of foods, and squeezes his own juice. He also introduced us to canella here, a zippy cinnamon liqueur.

Francesco is hospitable, and is brimming with information about Agrigento and Sicily. I managed to drive to the Piazza Lena where the B&B is located (a trick in itself -- the town is especially winding!), but I had to call Francesco once I got there, to have him fit my car into the parking spot past the other cars wedged tightly. As with everything else, he was very helpful and gracious in parking my car.

The rooms are clean, but there are a couple cats there. This was not a problem for me, but people with cat allergies might want to know.

The bed and temperature was comfortable, though there was some street noise once the town awakes around 7am. The windows here seemed to do a less good job blocking the noise than at other places we stayed.

The B&B is not all that close to the Valley of the Temples -- definitely too far to walk. But it is very nice for exploring the old medieval area of Agrigento, and is within walking distance of a couple good restaurants for dinner.

Terrazze di Montelusa offers a charming B&B experience at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jml66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

After a tiring trek around the valley of the temples to arrive and be welcomed by Franscesco, who was the most charming of hosts. He so wants you to enjoy everything Agrigento has to offer. Sipping coffee on his roof terraces overlooking where we had just visited was magical. We managed to see the little theatre on his recommendation, well worth a visit. If want to play the piano he duetted with my husband, its a sanctuary. Our room was enormous and quiet - he deserves all the recommendations - outstanding in every way.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We didn't book in advance and were lucky to get the last available room. When we heard that the place is usually booked out in advance we felt even luckier. The owner was the most helpful host that we ever encountered in many trips. Greatly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolcevita_248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed there for two days last summer, and we'll never forget the great hospitality of our host Franscesco. We were invited to a welcome meeting on one of the marvellous terraces were he shared his great knowledge and love of Agrigento with us. He made his guests communicate with each other as well, and did everything for his guests. We learned the history of the house and his family, including his beautiful cat. We often talk about Franscesco and really hope to go back some time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorwayIngerlise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
3.7 km away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
2.5 km away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 23 in Agrigento
1,731 reviews
5.3 km away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,214 reviews
0.3 km away
B&B MiraValle Agrigento
B&B MiraValle Agrigento
#4 of 225 in Agrigento
197 reviews
2.6 km away
B&B VillaSeta
B&B VillaSeta
#3 of 225 in Agrigento
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Terrazze di Montelusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Terrazze di Montelusa

Address: Piazza Lena 6, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Agrigento
Price Range: $95 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B Terrazze di Montelusa is the result of the renovation of a mansion belonging to our family since 1822 (Casa Messina Bonfiglio), in the historical center of Agrigento. We offer three larger bedrooms, one suite and one junior suite. All of them are furnished with style and equipped with air-conditioning, private bathrooms, TV, mini-bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your B&B Terrazze di Montelusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrazze Di Montelusa b&b
Terrazze Di Montelusa Hotel Agrigento
B&B Terrazze Di Montelusa Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing