We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel needs help” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Dei Templi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Dei Templi
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“This hotel needs help”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2008

We were a group of 10 on a tour of Sicily and this hotel was our home for one night on Oct 15 2007. I must say the staff were helpful, and the food was better than average. But the first room we were given had a toilet that was leaking at the base. The staff sent a handyman up to take a look and when the problem couldn't be solved we were given another room. Well, that room also had a problem with the toilet...it wouldn't flush. By now we were tired and it was late so my husband rigged up the shower hose over to the toilet and we were able to use the toilet that way. In the morning we informed the staff again, but I have no idea if anything was done. Also the halls were very shabby. The hotel really needed to be closed and renovated to bring it up to a 4 star that it was advertised as.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Char1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    17
    22
    39
    49
See reviews for
22
43
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2007

On an ABC tour, we stayed at the Dei Templi for one night. One night was enough. The room smelled, the rugs were worn, the shower door leaked, and the beds (twins) sagged. However, the food, both the dinner and breakfast the next morning, were above average. There was an ATM across the street, a 3-4 minute walk, which was convenient. The location of the hotel near the Valley of Temples was very good. The rooms should be overhauled, as well as the rugs in the hallways.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agrigento hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2007

We were part of a tour of Sicily and prior to arriving at this hotel we had visited the Greek temples - out of this world!

But, the hotel - no to be recommended. Whilst I cannot agree entirely with the comments of the previous observer, whe has captured the gist of the matter!

Stay away if you can.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank GordoSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2007

Using the inflated star system common in Sicily, we would rate Dei Templi Grand 2 stars – if we were being generous. We found it pretty bad and comparable to an inexpensive motel. When we got there, it was mobbed with tours (we were on a tour also). Checking in and getting to our room was a problem because of the crush, especially since the hotel has 2 slow, tiny elevators (you can just barely squeeze in 2 people with luggage). Considering the number of new guests involved, the front desk did seem to tackle the task efficiently. We could find no porter and the front desk receptionist didn’t understand our sign language pointing to our luggage while pretending to lift it or our English asking: “Porter??” We had requested nonsmoking rooms and so we asked the front desk if our room was nonsmoking. She replied: “Yes.” It wasn’t. Communication is clearly a problem here. The lobby was hot – no AC. The dining room was also hot – also no AC and mobbed with 3 or more large tour groups. The room décor was extremely “tired,” there were no tissues in the room and only one glass for two people. The flexible hand held shower hose connection came out of the wall at 90 degrees to where it’s holder was, causing you to hit the hose each time it was replaced, spraying water all over the place. The room had two double beds and the windows couldn’t be locked. Not a good experience.
The best part of the hotel is its proximity (5 minute car ride) to the fabulous 2500 year old Greek temples – a must see (we had a bus to take us there so, for us, proximity was not a factor). Don’t miss seeing the temples lit up at night – breathtaking! If you can, avoid this place and stay at a nicer hotel -- but don’t miss visiting the Valley of the Temples.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2007

In all seriousness this is the worst hotel that I have ever stayed in, including those discount places that are the only thing you can afford while in college. The room had raggy carpeting that smelled horrible. When we opened the door to the balcony to let some fresh air in the backdraft literally blew the ceiling tiles out of the bathroom. The shower leaked all over the floor. This was not an isolated bad room - without exception everyone on our tour had equally bad things to say about their rooms. The only acceptable part was that the bartender in the lobby served excellent cappucino with a little cinnamon design on the froth that he was quite proud of. Had I not been on a tour I would have checked out and gone to another hotel. Did I mention the barking dogs all night?

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthernVirginiaNova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Mose
Grand Hotel Mose
#9 of 25 in Agrigento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.2 km away
Kore Hotel
Kore Hotel
#1 of 1 in Villaggio Mose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
3.8 km away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#5 of 25 in Agrigento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
#3 of 3 in San Leone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel del Viale
Hotel del Viale
#15 of 25 in Agrigento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
3.7 km away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 25 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dei Templi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dei Templi

Property: Grand Hotel Dei Templi
Address: Viale Leonardo Sciascia | Villaggio Mosè, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price range (per night): $161 - $493
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Dei Templi 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Dei Templi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Agrigento
Grand Hotel Dei Templi Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing