We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic holiday home and area.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Matha

House and Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House and Pool
Terrace from garden Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
House and Pool
Terrace from garden
Living Room
A roaring fire in the winter
Dining Room
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Triple Bedroom
Double bedroom
Master en-suite shower-room
Master en-suite shower-room
Entrance hall
Landing
Kitchen
Front of the house
Table for evening drinks
View of the Terrace
Vineyard Opposite
Garden
Neighbouring Farm
Caplong
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Caplong, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Dee H
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Idyllic holiday home and area.”
Reviewed 10 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Delightful house, sitting in it's own grounds, surrounded by vineyards and farm land. Beautiful mature gardens, with a fenced heated pool, with umbrellas and loungers, a large covered terrace, housing a large table and chairs with a bbq built in to the corner. All our meals were taken on the terrace, with ample room to fit our family of 6 adults.
Plenty of room inside, with some private area's if you wanted a bit of me time. The kitchen has all you would need, even down to the wine chiller...yep......well used, as you are amongst an area rich in vineyards. So many to chose from and sample.....and we did!
Bedrooms are mostly ensuite, with comfortable beds and plenty of storage space. A goodnight's sleep was had by all.
Denis and Pip have made the house very comfortable, with some personal touches to make you feel at home.
A car is essential, but to be honest it's a pleasure to drive around the area. Lots of villages to visit, and the local supermarket and bakery is just a 10min drive.
We love doing the markets, especially the night one's, as usually they have entertainment, tables are laid out, hot food and wine/beer is available, so chose your food and drink take a seat and enjoy, always a fun evening with the locals.
Would I recommend this property, yes definitely, there are lots to see and do in the area, or equally a lovely home to just chill at.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2018
Thank you for your comments. We're glad you had a great time

Denis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Jul 2018
Thank you for your comments!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
Thank you. We’re glad you had a good time and enjoyed the house!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nicola O
1 review
“Beautiful house in the Dordogne”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

From the initial contact with the owners to returning home, our experience has been excellent.

The house is located in a quiet location on the edge of vineyards but still easily accessible to local villages and towns. It has great space both outside and in, which easily accommodates two families. The house is well maintained and all be necessary items are there to make the stay a home from home experience. The heated pool is great and allows everyone to take a dip even if the weather isn't great.

Very accessible to the major wine areas of Bordeaux and Bergerac and lots of family friendly activities in travelling distance.

Having stayed in French Gites for the past 15 years, this ranks amongst the best.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth...
Watton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic! Lovely relaxing week”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a fabulous time at La Matha, great base for exploring the area - particularly if you enjoy a bit of wine tasting!
We arrived after a very long drive a party of 4 adults and 3 children under 5 and immediately felt relaxed. The villa was so much bigger than I had imagined and the layout of the bedrooms meant that both families had their own space which was really nice. The kitchen was well equipped.The only problem with the villa was some interesting French plumbing with the lack of any decent water pressure to have a proper shower but a small niggle in an otherwise brilliant house.

A car is essential as it really is in the middle of nowhere but there are villages nearby where you can drive to visit the boulangerie for your daily fill of crossaints and baguettes as well as a well stocked supermarket (6km away). We also went to one of the many markets which you can buy all sorts of deliciousness! We settled on half a cows worth of steak and had a fabulous barbeque!

We hadn't really anticipated the number of steps in the property but the kids soon got used to all the different levels inside and thankfully there were no major disasters!! The outside area was excellent and really safe for the children with the gated pool area.

All in all a really great place to visit and I would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing