We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service”

Fennells Restaurant
Price range: USD 4 - USD 20
Restaurant details
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

For those of you that don’t know, Carraigaholt is a very remote village in west Clare. 13 of us decided to head back there for some delicious seafood and try this new restaurant. We were not disappointed. We arrived with no booking and they were more than accommodating, told us go have a drink next door come back in 30 minutes. Could not fault it, from the service to the food to the price, everything was excellent. The wait staff very much on the ball (we wouldn’t have been the easiest crowd) there wasn’t a crumb left on anyone’s plate.
The only tip I have is, they haven’t got their alcohol licence yet so it’s BYO or they let you go to the pub next door and bring in your drink!!!(how very Irish)! Highly recommend this restaurant.

Thank SimpleShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin m, Owner at Fennells Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Thank you very much for your custom and your great review we are glad you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to seeing you all again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2018

Perfect village views pubs 4 . Then there is Fennells this is no pub meal or cafe . The fish chowder was just delicious not a glutinous glob but a very smooth well cooked fish (not all broken up ) dish . Then hake and chips the hake was cooked just right not to much. We are on the move which is a shame as I would go there a lot as I could afford to the meals are all priced sensitively. Ps a kids meau. So get your own wine it’s a lot more to drink in a pub here bit of a shock and have a very classy meal he will do some French classics if enough want it and in Ireland you have such fresh delicious food oysters from the bay fish beef lamb.

Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin m, Owner at Fennells Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Thank you for your kind words and we are so glad you enjoyed your meal hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Went here recently with my family and have to say it was one of the best meals out we had in a long time!!
Staff were super friendly and couldn’t do enough for us!
Nice range of vegan options too!!
Will be back!!!

Thank Padraig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin m, Owner at Fennells Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Thank you for your review we are so glad you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

Was in fennells last week after the dolphin watch trip in carrigaholt and have to say its brilliant I had a Pollock special that was on it was superb my boyfriend had a ham hock which he is still telling people about staff are lovely we had a young girl who was so sweet serve us made feel welcome great value for money quality food and to top it off we got 10% discount because we went out on the dolpin watch trip will b back next year highly recommened

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

This is located in two adjoining houses in the main street and offered very friendly service.
Black pudding entree was creative and tasty, and the seafood chowder was very authentic.
Mains included Asian style sea bass which was excellently cooked, plus the slow cooked beef with linguine which was "absolutely wonderful"
The staff were very friendly and helpful - one of the few restaurants where water was provided at the table without asking which was appreciated.
Very good value for a local restaurant.

Thank paulrgnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin m, Owner at Fennells Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to see you again thank you for your custom and for taking the time to review our restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fennells Restaurant also viewed

Carrigaholt, County Clare
 
Kilkee, County Clare
 

Been to Fennells Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing