We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding ”

Welcome Country Pub & Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 9 - USD 20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Traditional pub in relaxed surroundings with great food and friendly service.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This place re opened again by local gentleman, lovely spot in gower overlooking the burry estuary , and was amazed how great the food was, fresh and all local, compared to the standard food in many gower pubs, with identical menus, a great pint and place been tastefully redecorated less subtle than previous time I visited, definitely worth a visit, and well within anyone's budget

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, General Manager at Welcome Country Pub & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Robert, thanks for taking the time to review us, we're really glad you enjoyed the food, we source all our ingredients from small local suppliers using as much local produce as we possibly can and cook every meal fresh from scratch to order. Our chefs work hard to create a menu with a difference to others in the area and with niche twists on classics to tantilise your tastebuds!

Once again thank you for visiting, hope to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Called in here on the off-chance at 5pm on Easter Sunday after a lovely weekend on Gower and having been turned away from The Greyhound as not serving food. What a lovely find just of the main road. Have been travelling to Gower for 20 years and always driven past the sign and said we must visit some time. Lovely pub, very friendly staff and delicious food, welcoming of well behaved dogs in the bar. Definitely visiting again soon.

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank SuziCatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, General Manager at Welcome Country Pub & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your comments. Really glad you found us (as we're not super easy to find!) and that you enjoyed the food. We pride ourselves on using fresh local ingredients and our chefs create every dish fresh. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

We have visited a few times and had very good meals and drinks in a very pleasant environment . Obviously investment was required to re open this Restaurant/bar and its been done quite thoughtfully so as not to detract from its origin greatly .

Its slightly off the beaten track and needs some decent signage to let people know its there and exact location .

Gower is full of little signs to help small and larger businesses ID themselves , however in this case the Council have told them to move a fairly innocuous sign , which was not even permanent , all aided by some very petty locals doubtless with their own agenda .

So an excellent new addition to the local facilities has been ruined by a very few people who didn't like the sign , jobs lost , rateable income lost but that is Swansea's so called business minded and business friendly council .

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank GoawayTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Visited on a weekday lunchtime, it’s obviously a popular place as it was full. Service a little slow but they explained ahead that this would be the case due to having a large lunch party in the dining room upstairs. Good and varied menu, I was sadly disappointed with my fish and chips, the fish was under done, but the rest of our group were happy with their meals, I didn’t complain as I didn’t want to upset the mood of our trip out and I was happy to go with the flow! Parking an issue, had to park in the road up a steep hill.

Date of visit: October 2017
4  Thank 66Midlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

So, lunch here, no reservation.
Very friendly and helpful barman asked us how many were eating before we sat down.
There were 5 of us.
“Just asking as I’ll have to warn the kitchen”.
Didn’t think anything of it.
Food turns up and was absolutely fantastic; properly seasoned and flavoured but not artificially so. Wonderful, superbly friendly service and very well kept beer. You can completely see how they have the awards that they have.
Then found out that they’d had a wedding party going on downstairs at the same time. And still managed what they did for us.
Absolutely outstanding; no more to be said.

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Welcome Country Pub & Kitchen also viewed

 
Llanmadoc, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Crofty, Swansea County
 

Been to Welcome Country Pub & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing