We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unarguably the best accommodation in the area”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of La Portette

La Portette, stunning converted farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Portette, stunning converted farmhouse
Traditional Christmas Beautiful, spacious living room with log fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
La Portette, stunning converted farmhouse
Traditional Christmas
Beautiful, spacious living room with log fire
It's snowing outside......
... but it's cosy inside.
Snuggle up around the log fire in the living room with a glass of wine
The living room has 2 grouped seating areas: this one faces the TV, DVD player and gamestation
TV/ games area
The dining room is down 5 steps from the living area, with huge windows looking out at amazing views
Salmon mousse with recipe from Andy's mum!
Home made tarts to delight.
Bright and friendly twin bedroom on the first floor
Bright and friendly twin room. All our bedrooms have stocked bookshelves
Romantic four poster bed in this huge suite in the oldest part of the house
Romantic four-poster bed
Armchairs in the family suite
Fairy-tale wooden beds
Double bedroom with built-in wooden four poster
Double bedroom with wooden four poster bed and traditional wooden walls
Double bedroom with amazing views of Mont Blanc
Small double bedroom with beamed ceiling in the old part of the house
View from the balcony: Mont Blanc at sunset
Skiing in La Plagne
Comfortable living room
Roche de Mio, one of the high points of La Plagne.
Powderfield above Montchavin
Mont Blanc
North Face of the Bellecote
Les Arcs
Montorlin from above, walking home via the footpath through the trees
The balcony in summer is a great place to chill
Wisteria outside the family suite in spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Montchavin, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
H5221
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unarguably the best accommodation in the area”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

You would be a fool to look else where for accommodation.
We stayed in the chalet over the Christmas period for a week, the lifts in the area had only opened the day before we arrived. I cannot fault our stay at La Portette!
The accommodation was homely and very warm. There was the opportunity to have baths as well as showers, with hot water available at all hours, just what you want after a day of skiing. Liza and the chalet hosts bent over backwards to ensure that our stay was the best it could be, and the price for the service we received was well worth it. The food is to die for- 3 course meals on an evening; you do eat late however there is cake and coffee when you get in after skiing. Liza and the chalet hosts (Jamie and Kirsten) will amend the menu for you if have and dietary issues or dislikes. Drink is free flowing both wine and juice. There is nothing that I can possibly think of to improve the holiday, we even got our skis delivered to the accommodation.
I would recommend taking a torch if you wish to walk to the larger town on an evening if it is rather dark on the way there: ask Liza where the short cut is otherwise it is not a short walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2014
What a great start to the season with our new chalet hosts Jamie and Kirsten. Thank you to our lovely guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for such positive feedback. We greatly enjoyed your week with us too and look forward to welcoming you back, winter or summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chandana
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location, lots to do, nice chalet but problems with facilties”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

La Portette has been a farmhouse since the 17th century if I remember correctly what Lisa told us and it has been converted into a large chalet with a superb lounge dining area with great views of the Mont Blanc. Lisa sent us relevant maps of how to get there and it was easy to find, in a traditional village and not a souless ski resort. As we were a large group we had the entire villa to ourselves and had opted to do our own cooking. Lisa showed us all the maps of the area and also told us about a traditional Festival in a village on the other side of our hill and how to use the Vanoise Express to get there. Lots of books, DVDs etc as another reviewer also mentioned. However our stay was beset with problems with electricity as well as the main oven was not working ( a small compensation oven was left given as a back up) and did not work during the duration of our stay. We had asked Lisa to cook us the first evenings meal and she did not charge us for it as compensation for oven not working on the day we arrived, assuming it will work from Monday. We arrived on a Saturday and had electricity outages incl the refrigerator ( although luckily no food ws spoilt) from Wed or Thurs. Then the hotwater went in all the bathrooms and kitchen except the en suite on the ground floor. Eventually we just decided to leave a day earlier. Lisa was very apologetic and on her own offered compensation, however that has not gone beyond that as she has not been in touch even though we have emailed her. A pity, as we really liked the place and them. From reading the other reviews again, I figured that most guests have their food cooked for them and also during the peak season in winter Lisa and Andy live very close to the Chalet and so it is easier for them to handle any problems. I have put in a 3 star as that's how it worked out for us. However I would still recommend to a friend as it is a great location and the Chalet is nice for a big group and of course the price was very good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, Lisa's inputs on a local festival, driving up to the Grand Routes des Alps
Liked least: Oven not working, frequent electricitny outages, no hot water from day 5 of holiday
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our guests and are very sorry that you had a less than satisfactory stay.

We are aware that you experienced problems with the house during your week’s self catering let. Thank you for your patience with us during your stay as we worked to sort them out! And thank you also for the many positive things you have said in your review.

The problem with the water heating was fixed on the same day it was reported: an electrician was called out who quickly identified and resolved the issue. This was the same issue that had caused the electricity to trip the preceeding day. This must have been very inconvenient and we apologise unreservedly.

The oven proved a more stubborn issue as the part required took over a week to arrive, for which again we sincerely apologise.

I am extremely sorry that these problems affected your stay; holiday time is very precious and we deeply regret that yours was in any way spoiled. I have since been in touch with you directly to agree a satisfactory outcome. (Your original email was not ignored, but was must have been lost during a short period when our host server was down at the end of August).

Personal service is our speciality and we hope that our guests, old and new, will understand that sometimes circumstances conspire. We will always do our best to resolve all problems raised quickly and effectively - and also, wherever possible, ensure no problems arise!

Liza and Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levento1
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hosts, location, views and food.”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Liza and Andy are the nicest people you can meet. They made us feel at home and enjoy our stay. The dinner Lisa was excellent and my wife can't stop talking about the cake she baked. The views from the dining/sitting area is breath taking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Friendly welcome, food, views.
Liked least: The room we stayed, although larger didn't have the views the double bedrom had.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2013
Thank you so much for such positive feedback. Andy and I are enjoying our summer business which goes at a slower pace than winter and allows us time to have leisurely dinner conversations with such interesting guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe111
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay - can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My partner and I stayed in this chalet for a week at the end of the 2012-2013 ski season, and had a fantastic time. The chalet is located in Montorlin, a traditional farming village, which is a far cry from some of the ugly ski villages up in Les Arcs or La Plagne. We loved the comfortable style of the place, with big sofas, free wifi, a massive library of books, DVDs and music, and stunning views from the balcony down into the valley. Liza and Andy made us feel very much at home, and went out of their way to help us out - nothing was too much trouble. The food was also excellent. All in all, it was a wonderful week, and I can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The excellent service and relaxed, homely atmosphere
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing