We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Friendly Pearl in Whale Point...”

Review of Baycienda

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Dunmore Town, Harbour Island, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Reisergeo
1 review
“Family Friendly Pearl in Whale Point...”
Reviewed 3 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We have been twice now to Baycienda. July last year and just now in March.
Both times, it just has been a beautiful week full of fun.
Our four Kids enjoyed to explore the area around the house, played with the turtles, fished for Snapper from the dock, Waterskied, and did so much more.

The house is spacious and everyone will find a place to either take time for themselves or congregate in the Family/Kitchen/Dining Part of the House.

If you don't mind the extra effort to go for Grocery in Gregory Town or on Harbor Island, you will have an just fabulous time.

Don't expect an modern, new designed house with the lates standards.
Find instead a place where you just can do whatever you want to do and dive into the Bahamian way of doing things. Easy and relaxed.

Tom puts a lot of effort in making it a pleasant stay for everyone. Very helpful and friendly. He is always there if you need him. Even when he is not on the Island he will make sure you are well and will send his Friend, the other Tom, for helping you if needed.

The Boat and Car are both a huge Plus and make this a unique offer.
You'll take the Boat to Harbour Island and find at great place for lunch at Valentines Harbour or enjoy the Pink Sands Beach which literally blows your mind when you get there the first time. We haven't seen a more beautiful beach anywhere in the world. On calm days (Ocean side) you can pull up right on the beach with the boat. On days with more wind from the Atlantic you just use the public dock and walk a few hundred meters over the Island to the beach.
AWESOME in any way!

You will find many beaches in the Bay where you can enjoy the time without being disturbed by anyone else. We had so much privet time, unbelievable!!!!

Take a Fishing Rod and Hawaiian Sling with you. You will find Lobster, Grouper, Snapper and even Conch everywhere. You just have to know how to find them....

Tom tries hard to keep the place clean and maintained, but you will have to accept that this is not Central Europe or North America Standard 5 Star Hotel.
If you love the Caribbean, and the Ocean... This is one of the best places you can go!!!

Oh, make sure you always have enough cash for gas, food, beer and groceries.... Most places do not take Credit Cards.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
649martyj
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“We all loved Eleuthera great trip!”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were three couples visiting Baycienda for a week. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and Tomas met us at the airport and escorted us back to the house. He then took us to the 7-Eleven which is the main store in Gregorytown and also to the liquor store to stock up since the next day was Sunday and a lot of the stores are closed.

We settled in for the next couple of days and got acclimated. We really like the location of the house, the view is gorgeous. There are many pros for renting this property which include the excellent satellite TV reception, good wireless internet, large living area, kitchen which had ample pots and pans and dishes along with a dishwasher which was a real plus. The Tahoe that came with the property was a bit rough but did not break down on us and was sufficient for the week. The boat was in excellent condition and ran well however lacked proper safety equipment such adequate life preservers. It was nice to run around in the bay and we did not feel uncomfortable even running over to Harbour Island. The pier was great with the turtles and fish and green moray hanging out all the time. The outside patio was a great place in the evening and we had no problems with bugs. The air conditioning in the bedrooms worked great, the master bedroom suite was very nice. The other bedrooms were not up to par. The second bedroom upfront had a comfortable double bed however the toilet seat was broken in the bathroom. The back bedroom with a double bed was horribly uncomfortable as were the two single beds in the other bedroom. The second bathroom was rather old and not particularly appealing. I would rent the property again but only if I did not have to stay in those bedrooms the next time or if they were somewhat upgraded with new bedding. This is one of the most beautiful islands that I have ever been to with some of the friendliest people. And you feel very safe everywhere you go. Shopping is good at the N. Eleuthera Shopping Center which carries most everything and is only about 15 minutes from the house once you get to the main road. Eating out is very expensive but Daddy Joe's close by was very reasonable option. The air conditioning in the main living area strains to keep the area comfortable in the afternoon when the sun shines through the glass doors. I would rate the overall condition of the property about 2 1/2 to 3 stars. However based on the experience of the whole trip I would have to give this as I have, a four star rating. Also there is a cell phone there at the house for local calls just make sure that it has enough minutes on it for you to make phone calls I believe it's prepaid and we were only able to make one phone call and then it said we could make no more calls due to insufficient funds.

Sent from my iPad

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawmelly
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and remote, but convenient to harbor island”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Baycienda is a huge property, too big for the 2 families we had staying there. Tom jones was very helpful. He stayed in a nearby cottage while we were there and checked in on us each day. The boat was the best part, as we were on the Bahama sea everyday. Be sure to fill up with gas, as we did run out. The house had air conditioning,cable and the bay is great for swimming. The water is so clear and blue and there are a ton of fish by the dock.
There were a lot of small insects in the living room because the doors are open a lot. There was a leak in the bedroom but it was cleaned up right away by toms ground keeper who also lives on the property. We loved it and our children loved it. Be sure to buy some groceries, as you will probably want to cook some meals. The water taxis are also available to take you to harbor island if boat is not available. They only charge 8 bucks

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JkmW67
Kent, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best of Eleuthera”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 for a stay in December 2012
9
people found this review helpful

We spent 2 weeks at Baycienda and could have stayed forever. We covered as much of the island as we possibly could. Checked out other rental properties for comparison…Baycienda stood miles above, for a large group especially. I chose this property based on the amenities offered. 4 bedrooms. 3 bathrooms. Large well stocked kitchen. Room for spreading out. Our own boat and car to use. These were both indescribably helpful. The island is VERY long and some of the best beaches are rather remote so having access by water or land was absolutely a necessity.
The owner left our car at the airport for us and his house caretaker met us at the airport and guided us to the house. When we left we drove to the airport and left the car for the next guests, could not have been easier.
The house is on the protected inner bay so the waters are calm and warm and perfect. Just on the other side of the driveway is the mighty Atlantic so you have the best of both worlds at your doorstep.
The most positive aspects of the property are:
1: ON the water
2: Boat provided
3: Car provided
4: Comfortably sleeps 8
5: All bedrooms have ceiling fans (and A/C units if you need)
6: 10 minute boat ride from Harbor Island which has Dunmore Town and Pink Sand Beach.
7. Great snorkeling directly across from your dock. 5 minutes by your boat. We paid for a snorkeling trip and this is one of the places they took us!!
8: Kitchen is very well stocked. Go to the house first to see what you need before stopping at the grocery, no need to buy more than you need. We left a lot of our staples for the next guests which others seem to have done also... so pay it forward.
9: The large grocery is about 15 minutes from the house. It is surprisingly well supplied though before the weekly delivery staples do tend to run low. Plan on going on delivery day to get the best selections! (was tuesday when we were there) Before and after school you will see MANY children at the store who will graciously "help" you take your groceries to the car. Tip well ;)
10: There is a washer and dryer in the guest house. There is also a laundry line for drying if preferred.
11: Rain water is collected from the roof and stored in a cistern under the house. We never had a worry about running out.
12: Bottled water is readily available at the store and 5 gallon water bottles can be exchanged there as well.
Early morning and late evening be sure to be on the dock…morning you will see sharks and rays and turtles….evening you will see the rocks below the dock come alive with fish and if you are lucky and drop and few nibbles down you may get to see the eels!
Be sure to go Preachers Cave at the very North end, Then follow the path to the beach and you will find one of the most spectacular beaches on the whole island. We were completely thrilled to get to play with dolphins at this beach.
Also worth the trip is a day trip down to Lighthouse Beach at the southern most tip of the island. It is a bit of an adventure to find. And when you think you are LOST keep going. Take food and water and plan for a whole day adventure.
Also an adventure is Surfers beach. Do not miss it.
Eleuthera has been our favorite island of the Bahamas so far. So much to see and do and so much diversity with the Caribbean on one side and the Atlantic on the other. And Baycienda is a delight. Owner Tom does it right with all the amenities he offers, he helps make your vacation a little extra special!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location on the water
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing