We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Talalla Sea Anemone Hotel(Talalla)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 37
USD 30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talalla Retreat(Talalla)(Great Value!)
USD 52
USD 33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lagoon Beach Resort(Talalla)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
USD 19
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Swiss Lanka Bed & Breakfast(Talalla)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Handun Villas(Talalla)(Great Value!)
USD 53
USD 51
Expedia.com
View Deal
USD 54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jasmine Resort Thalalla(Talalla)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 30/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 33
Booking.com
View Deal
Sun Bay Lanka Guesthouse(Talalla)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
USD 44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mahena(Talalla)
USD 70
USD 63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ocean Nature Resort(Talalla)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
USD 20
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
28
15
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
15
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are basic but cleantalalla beachmosquito nethot waterseafood restaurantstayed dayssri lankayoga classesheadlandbayfanmonkeyssimpletrees
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I arrived in Talalla as it was recommended to us. As soon as we arrived in the Freedom resort we immediately asked if we could stay another night. The views from the hotel are absolutely breathtaking. You can see fireflies and night and we even found a tortoise outside our room. The family are so welcoming and really want guests to have a great stay. The rooms are basic but clean. we left the windows open at night and fell asleep to the noise of the waves. There is a good mosquito net which was very effective. We had dinner and it was the nicest dahl curry I have ever tasted. The family running the resort stand out as being exceptionally friendly and kind people. I would have no hesitation in staying again and felt sad leaving.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank navangirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed 10 days
and loved every minute.
Rooms were fine. Bathroom good. Mosquito net over bed fine.
Location quiet at the end of the one km long beach and bay.
The family/Staff super friendly and helpful.
Food supreme.
Beach lovely with big waves.
Quite some steps to climb from the beach.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mikael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

Talalla Beach Resort is hold by a very friendly family- the daughter Naila was sooooo nice, she always helped and we liked to chat a lot with her:-). The food was very delicious, best seefood and real Sri Lankan style. The breakfast and the view are amazing! The beach is very beautiful, not crowded, perfectly for swimming and there are also some deck chairs on the beach! The Rooms were clean, the beds comfortable! Thank you so much and hope to see you once again! Alle the best! XXX Ela and Ramona

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raphaela U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

The first impression after climbing the steps up is the breathtaking view and the stunning beauty of the beach. The Tree Tops restaurant has the best view of the beach framed by spectacular indigenous trees. The family that runs the place are very friendly, especially Naila the daughter who serves food and drinks in the restaurant. We left a book in the restaurant and she very kindly kept it for us until we could pick it up on our return. The sons helped with our heavy bags and served drinks on the beach. They are a very pleasant and friendly family.
The room is small and quite basic. We had a shared bungalow with lightbulbs missing. The fan was broken. Luckily there were mosquito nets.The hot water worked once we had figured the separate electric water heater out. None of the plugs in the room were compatible so we had to do our charging in the restaurant. The food is cheap, plentiful and good. All in all we were very happy but there are better places to stay on the beach although not with a view quite like the tree tops restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

On arrival we were taken to a laneway at the top of the beach, then found out we had to take our luggage over the sand along the beach and up a lot of stairs to the restaurant to check in. My husband phoned the hotel and they sent two young men to carry our large suitcases and all our other bags for us. I thought we hadn’t made a very good choice of hotel at this stage, but we ended up extending from one night to 5 nights due to the lovely staff and the views. We stayed in the standard double room right up high on the top of the hill. It was quite a climb. At 60 years old with bad knees and joints, I found the stairs from the beach up to room got harder and harder to negotiate by the end of our 5 night stay. However it was worth it for the views. Our timber hut was spacious and had a four poster bed with mosquito net. Mosquitos were a problem at this time of the year (November) but we bought mosquito coils to burn in the room and used personal mosquito spray. The bathroom had two separate shower heads for hot and cold water. The view from this hotel were to die for, with the two-level restaurant and rooms situated on a headland overlooking the whole bay. Down on the beach were about 10 beach beds with beach umbrellas set up exclusively for the people staying at Talalla Freedom Resort. Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the owner’s niece, Nila. She was probably the hardest working hotel staff person that I have ever encountered. Nothing was too much trouble, and she was constantly checking that everything was okay for us. They arranged tuktuks to come up to the hotel along the back road through the village so we didn’t have to go down the stairs and along the beach each time we wanted to go somewhere. The breakfast was lovely, but the quality and taste of the food for other meals wasn’t very good.

We dined at a few other places, but particularly liked for Hena Little Hut on the A2 road near Dondra (about 10 minutes by tuktuk) for lunches and for dinner, the Ocean Beach Hotel’s Seafood Restaurant at Talalla Beach we found very good.

Would definitely come back to Talalla Beach and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews