We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A tranquil haven to return to after a day...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Annexe with private garden area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Annexe with private garden area
Views of the farmland Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
The Annexe with private garden area
Views of the farmland
Enter a caption for your photo
Lounge with log burner
Well equipped kitchen
large lounge where you can relax
The large kingsized bedroom with some lovely views
The master double bedroom
Kitchen with dining table
Lrrge shower cubicle
Master bathroom with spa bath and shower cubicle
Private garden
Some of the cattle on the farm
Barn
Farm buildings
Some friendly cattle
Lovely views all around
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Large convertable lounge with french doors
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bodle Street Green, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
rodney304
Adelaide Hills, Australia
1 review
“A tranquil haven to return to after a day exploring East Sussex”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Exceeded our expectations. Comprehensively fitted out, spacious and comfortable, the Annexe was our home away from home for two weeks. Easy to relax in and the views from the house and the outdoor area were very peaceful. Hosts Hazel and Chris were discreet, very friendly and most responsive to our requests. A splendid base from which to explore our genealogical roots.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and location.
Liked least: Fridge capacity could have been just a little bigger.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking the time to do a review and for your lovely comments. It was lovely to meet you both and so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Woodlands Farm. The weather could have been a bit kinder to you but it didn't put you of going to look for places where your ancestors lived and meeting some of your relatives.
Kind regards.
Hazel and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful cottage with an amazing view”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Hazel and Chris were very welcoming and their cottage is beautiful. We loved the jacuzzi bath and the log fire. Also had a lovely walk in the woods by the stream and enjoyed meeting the cows. Our children loved the farm and especially loved sitting in the tractor, a real treat, thank you. There are also great places to see nearby, such as Knockhatch Adventure Park and the Observatory and Science Museum which was enjoyed by kids and adults. Many thanks Hazel and Chris for your hospitality xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire
Liked least: leaving and going home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2015
Thank you for bothering to write a report on our holiday let. So glad you enjoyed your short stay and hopefully we will see you again one day. Your children were so well behaved and a pleasure to have them stay here with us. As you say there is a lot to do here in this area with plenty of walking, beaches not far away and lots of villages to visit.

Everyone who goes to the science observatory loves it as it is great for the kids and adults and is only five minutes in the
car at Herstmoneux.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandMF
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot for all the Family”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Woodlands Farm is in a beautiful quiet location with far reaching views over the Sussex countryside. The accommodation was ideal for us - grandparents , daughter and 2 grandchildren aged 6 and 8. There are so many places to visit nearby - Herstmonceux Science Observatory , Kent and Sussex steam railway , Bodiam Castle , Battle Abbey and grounds.
The local walks are perfect, leading to woods with stream and bridges - an idyll for young children.
Hazel and Chris are welcoming hosts - helpful and discreet - we had complete use of the large sunny garden with a large table to eat outside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely comments about the cottage. So glad you enjoyed your stay here at the farm and taking the time to review it and we hope to perhaps see you and your family again one day.

Kind regards

Hazel and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“friendly, welcoming, comfortable and stunning”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at Woodlands farm with family including our 5 and 3 year old children. The rooms were comfortable and large, and the sky TV was lovely. The beds were comfortable and the surroundings so quiet a good night sleep was easily had! There is a large grassed garden for the children to play in the safety of a gate and balls provided. Chickens, cows and tractors for the kids to see was amazing! The kitchen had everything you could think of and the fresh eggs were a welcomed treat. The whirlpool bath and walk in shower were clean and overall simply fabulous. Waking up in the surroundings of the country was lovely and the views simply spectacular!! Seeing the wild dear from the house in a near by field made the holiday extra special also - something I've never seen before. Both Chris and Hazel were so welcoming and I really hope we stay here again in the future. A 20 minute drive and you're in the heart of Eastbourne - both rural and urban at your doorstep! Definitely recommended!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views and the loveliness of both Hazel and Chris
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2014
Thank you for your amazing response we didn't recognise ourselves at first. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much and it is good of you to take the time to let others know.

We are very lucky to have this as our home and enjoy sharing it with others.

Kind Regards

Hazel and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greevsie
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, calm, country house”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My family and I stayed in Chris and Hazel's beautiful house in the run up to my wedding. The house is amazing - spacious, comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. It's surrounded by fields and so you feel immediately calm. Chris and Hazel were perfect hosts, showing us around and letting us know to call on them if we needed anything at all. The whole family loved staying here and there was plenty of room, and friends who came to visit were blown away by how gorgeous it was. Definitely recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2014
Thank you kind words they are much appreciated. Compliments like these make our efforts and hard work worthwhile.

We always try to make our guests feel comfortable and relaxed. Trusting you both enjoyed your wedding day and you were very lucky with the weather.

Kind regards

Hazel and Chrs
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing