We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic week spending time together.”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to the ORR a Grade 2 listed property with a modern design finish & spacious open plan li
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the ORR a Grade 2 listed property with a modern design finish & spacious open plan li
Our 2nd Award from our past Guests , many thanks to you all , much appreciated !! Flat screen digital TV,DVD player,Stereo and BT Openzone wi-fi are joined by traditional games
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Welcome to the ORR a Grade 2 listed property with a modern design finish & spacious open plan li
Our 2nd Award from our past Guests , many thanks to you all , much appreciated !!
Flat screen digital TV,DVD player,Stereo and BT Openzone wi-fi are joined by traditional games
Your opening view of the LARGE open plan living area which means no-one gets trapped in the kitchen.
Ground floor Family roll-top Bathroom, great for a soak with a glass of wine or the local brew!
Bring a toasting fork and make the most of this original fireplace.
Original Victorian open fireplace with a bag of fuel to get you started, bring some marshmallows !
Our growing library that means that the ORR lives up to its name , help yourself during your stay.
Simple BUT well equipped kitchen featuring butler sink & NEFF appliances, most importantly dishw
Up the wide and manageable stairs to the bedrooms , stairgates & doors at the top keep everyone
The Master Double bedroom complete with Bedknobs and Broomsticks iron bedstead and solid wood floors
The Middle twin bedroom with a small double and single bed, period iron beds with modern mattresses
The last bedroom,small double and tall single period beds , with plenty of furniture and space too!
All bedrooms feature original feature timber beams and period pine furniture with modern heating!
The marriage of old and new means the ORR is quaint but with ALL modern comforts - light and WARM.
Its the personal touches that mean we hope you enjoy your stay !
Xmas at the ORR always includes a real Xmas tree with all the trimmings, we are always full at Xmas!
A warm welcome awaits you behind this unique front entranceway behind your own secure period door.
Southwold's unique Pier, quintessentially British, vintage games, attractions and great Fish n
Suffolk has more Windmills per square mile than Holland , some are well kept , others are derelict.
Suffolk has some wild,unspoilt natural beaches where you can find peace, solitude and some odd stuff
NEW cream-tea island at nearby Southwold Boating Lake and Cafe , great place for tea & twitchers
The Norfolk Broads is 20 minutes away from the ORR & Day Boats or river trips are another great
Southwold the nearest Town to ORR , great for a bit of Star spotting or do the Adnams Brewery Tour
Come and join us and stay for the WORLD Crabbing Championships at nearby Walberswick.
Suffolk is home to the world renowned Adnams and Aspalls breweries , both within minutes of the ORR
Come and spend your holiday in one of England's special LISTED buildings.
Thanks to our guests for awarding us a coveted Trip Advisor 5-Star award last season.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wrentham, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Anna S
Soham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic week spending time together.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I decided to get away with the children and the dog and needed somewhere that slept 6 and I was very pleased with the open plan living area.
One evening I was able to interact with all the children at once. I was watching the two in the bath, while stacking the dishwasher and playing a game of draughts with one more and watching a film with the eldest two.
We had fabulous weather for the February half term and spent several days roaming the local beaches with small dog in tow.
Haley the owner was very accommodating and I was gratefull for her for forwarding details about mattress I slept on which was very comfy and we have bought one for ourselves.
The children never tired of watching the open being prepared and toasting marshmallows. Infact our good weather almost made the fire unnecessary.
We have been checking to see when it's next available for another time and bring my Husband along too.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2014
Thanks for your kind review , very much appreciated ! Your family really used the unique layout at the ORR to its absolutely best effect, well done. WE try and keep the Calendar up to date and already have a couple of weeks gone in 2015 but plenty remaining for a return visit which we would love to see, thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamela e
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"A Gem"!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I would be very surprised if anyone could find fault with this lovely property.
The kitchen is extremely well equipped - great quality crockery, glasses etc.We had taken out own tea and coffee - which we used, but these items where there.
Comfortable hide sofas and just a very genial area to spend time with a glass of wine! Shame we didn't have the need to light the open fire!
The beds are super comfy, and the bed linen compliments same. No scrimping on towels either. Hand wash and lotion at every washing point - small point maybe, but I have rented other holiday lets, and this has not been provided - even in some, no loo rolls - not the ORR!
The property was absolutely spotless - and we are 'fussy'.
Hayley made it clear that nothing was too much trouble, and stressed to contact her with any problem/query. Can't think anyone would ever have to though!
All in all, a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything inside the property
Liked least: Having to walk from the front to the garden area - small point though
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2014
Thanks for the Great review , we appreciate your kind comments and we hope you remember the ORR and the Suffolk Coastal area as a great holiday destination. We really value recommendation as future guests can really gauge what they should expect when deciding where to book. You will be very welcome to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin D
Diss, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Gem of a Holiday Home near the North Suffolk coast”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Used the Old Reading Rooms (ORR) for a weekend as a base for our daughter's wedding at Wood Farm Barn, Benacre. The ORR was ideal for this purpose and only about one mile from the wedding venue. The property itself was very thoughtfully and tastefully renovated and provided enough space to prepare for the event comfortably. After the event we were able to enjoy the very relaxing and comfortable surroundings of the ORR which accommodated 4 adults, 1 child and 2 under two's on our visit. It was like a home from from home for us and certainly the ORR is on our agenda for a longer visit in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space provided by the open plan ground floor
Liked least: Nothing that would spoil a holiday
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2014
Thanks for your kind review , we are so glad your stay was enjoyable especially given the special occasion. You will be very welcome back at the ORR for a pure relaxation vacation , see you soon, cheers Hayley and Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penni P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect holiday home”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

From the outset we were welcomed in by the unbelieveably friendly owner to the holiday home that was to be our base during our stay in Wrentham for my sister's wedding. Despite not having it for a holiday as such, the house was warm, fully equipped with everything we needed and more (wine already in the fridge). The whole place was very tastefully decorated with a lovely cottage feel, the beds were extremely comfortable and the shower was in fact a power shower, which is always a plus. The whole experience from start to finish was lovely and I would recommend it to anyone. With a short drive to the beautiful Southwold or for plenty of walks on the doorstep, pubs within walking distance and So many things to do in the area, this is a perfect holiday home for anyone wanting to explore Suffolk or wanting a quiet retreat for a well deserved rest from the hustle and bustle of city living.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2014
Hey Guys, glad the Wedding went well and you enjoyed the ORR for the course of the celebrations, we've a few this year so hopefully they will all do as well! If you ever feel like returning for a proper vacation you know where to find us and we'll keep the wine chilled. atb Hayley and Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda P
2 reviews
“Cosy and comfortable”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

An excellent base for exploring Suffolk by car or walking.Old Reading rooms was well presented and had everything we needed,including lots of towels!Lovely large open plan ground floor room,just right for relaxing and chatting whilst cooking!Good sized TV screen for watching DVDs.Nice friendly reception on arrival.Only thought,maybe some local walks could have been provided.All in all a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The big open planned downstairs.
Liked least: No windows to open downstairs for some fresh air.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2014
Thanks for a great review and it seems you got the most out of the ORR living layout. Great to see the new BIG plasma TV was appreciated. Thanks for the recommendation about the walk maps , there should be some in the desk BUT they do have a tendency to go walking themselves , will replace ASAP. We'd love to see you return to the ORR so drop us a line if you get any unexpected free time and i'm sure we'll fit you in somehow. Cheers !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing