We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect house for a weekend getaway with friends”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Aga in the kitchen
Mooring space for a boat at the bottom of the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Burcot, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RebeccaSo...
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect house for a weekend getaway with friends”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A really lovely property that is perfect for a weekend getaway for a group of friends, or a relaxing hen do, with a good location only 15 minutes from Oxford.

The living areas are fantastic and a perfect place for everyone to be together. The kitchen and conservatory area is light and airy, with great views over the garden. The living room has a wood burner and a lovely mezzanine floor up to one of the bedrooms.

There is plenty of space in the kitchen to cook lovely meals - with a large oven and aga. My only grumble would be the quality of the utensils - the knives were dreadful!

The bedrooms are in 3 different areas, so I'm not sure that the house is suitable for a families with young children - although the bedroom over the living room has plenty of space for cots / pull-out beds. There is a separate entrance for 4 of the bedrooms, all of which are ensuite and in good condition (although 2 of the bathrooms have baths only).

Annette, the owner, was lovely. When we arrived there were fresh flowers and a bottle of wine. She was very welcoming and it was comforting to know she was close by if there were any issues.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen and living room areas were fantastic; well-presented, light and airy and plenty of room for all to sit down. The surroundings were beautiful.
Liked least: The standard of the bedrooms was mixed. The rooms in the main house were slightly dated, and it was a little disappointing that there not all the bathrooms had showers.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2015
I am so delighted you had a lovely weekend for your pre wedding celebrations with your friends. Thank you for letting me know the large knives need replacing/sharpening. The property has always worked very well with families with children as well as only Adult groups because the bedrooms accommodate privacy and space for those that prefer it as well as closeness for those that wish to be near their friends and little ones. Thank you so much for choosing Dinckley Court to celebrate your special weekend. We hope you will visit again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarlowO
Warrington
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great house, central location”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Just come back from a weekend at Dinckley Court for my family 50th birthday weekend. Great location, easy to find in a lovely village with a great pub in walking distance, and further pubs and restaurants in another 15 minute walk. The accommodation sleeps 18 very comfortably. All the rooms are in great condition and comfy beds. Annie was excellent, easy to communicate with, sorted out any questions I had. We had caters in that Annie had recommended which were wonderful. Great grounds would be lovely in the summer backing onto the Thames watching the world go by. I would recommend Dinckley Court to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the accommodation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
1 review
“Perfect venue for our wedding”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We held our wedding at Dinckley Court, using the huge garden for a marquee, and caterers that the owner recommended, and had the most wonderful week there. The place is comfortable, attractive and spotlessly clean, with quirky rooms and decor. We were able to accommodate a number of our guests in comfort, with one room large enough for a family to stay in. The lounge accomdated 16 of us yet still felt comfortable at the end of the week when only 4 of us were there. The kitchen was well equipped, and the dining room was a lovely setting for special dinners.
The grounds are so spacious, plenty of room for a marquee, parking, games on the lawn, and our guests enjoyed strolling down to sit by the river,and there were beautiful locations for our wedding photographs. The house itself looks wonderful in them.
The owner Annette was really helpful on our big day and very welcoming.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2015
I am delighted that we able to make your special day so memorable and happy. Thank you for booking Dinckley Court.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crazykids...
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic - especially the 'garden'!”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

15 of us got together (8 adults, 7 children) for a 50th birthday gathering. The whole process of booking, liaising etc was very smooth indeed. Annette was very helpful when we arrived and ironed out the couple of difficulties we encountered very quickly. The house is large and everyone felt like they had their own space to relax in. The house is well equipped - especially with crockery and glasses - a real party house! We had lovely weather and made good use of the outside seating and BBQ. The garden is enormous!! Walking to the end you just wonder when it's going to come! When you get there it is beautiful - 2 picnic benches to sit on and watch the river traffic pass by. We had our main meal prepared and brought over by The Chequers, the local pub, - a reasonable price and superb quality food. Overall, we had a superb time. Many thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, the garden, the 'feel' of the house......
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2014
I am so delighted you had a lovely weekend and thank you for such a wonderful review and appreciated it your comments that you were happy with our response in handling any problems. Thank you so much for your booking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londonwan...
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We just had a wonderful hen weekend at Dinckley Court. The house and grounds are beautiful and we all enjoyed it so much. We had very good weather and spent a lot of time sitting outside in the garden or taking walks down to the river at the bottom of the garden. The kitchen is large and very well equipped and the dining room table fit 14 of us and the living room was large with lots of room for us all to be in there as well. Lots of space for people to relax separately too. Annette was very helpful and we had a lovely bunch of flowers, home made bread and a bottle of bubbly on arrival and our deposit was returned promptly. Little things are thought of too so you don't need to worry about remembering rubbish bags, washing up liquid, dishwer tablets etc... as I have had to do on other holiday rental holidays. Rooms and bathrooms were a good size with lots of pillows on the beds and hanging space in wardrobes, and the beds were comfortable. The only down side was a couple of the showers didn't have great water pressure or were over baths with no shower curtains so we shared one downstairs that was better.
We ate a lunch at the chequers pub down the road (a few mins walk away) which was very nice and reasonably priced. To get to Oxford we used a park and ride about 10mins drive away which was very convenient. We all want to return next year either for a girls weekend or a family holiday. I would highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property's beautiful grounds and the feeling of spaciousness even with lots of people around
Liked least: showers
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2014
Thank you for letting us know you had a wonderful weekend and hope to return again. I apologise you had a problem with shower, water pressure has never been an issue before. However, we will double check all shower heads to ensure they are working properly. One of the baths referred to which has a shower without curtain is solely for use for hair bath - it is not for standing use. Thankfully with the luxury of eight bathrooms should a problem arise it did not impact on your stay. Once again, thank you for your booking. Wishing you a wonderful wedding celebration.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing