We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and convenient cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Dining room
Floorplans
Main bedroom
Second bedroom
first floor hallway
View down Wellington Road
The Iron Bridge 20 minutes walk
The viaduct near Abraham Darby's blast furnace - 3 minutes walk
Across the road from The Old Post Office
The Museum of Iron - 2 minutes walk
In the grounds of the Musuem of Iron
Next to Abraham Darby's blast furnace
Outside Enginuity, the interactive Museum for children
We don't know what this is, we just liked it
This is us just down the road from The Old Post Office with the viaduct in the background
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Coalbrookdale, Ironbridge Gorge, Telford, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tim T
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient cottage”
Reviewed 18 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We visited earlier in the year and wanted to come back in the spring. The location of the cottage is perfect for walking into Ironbridge and also for some lovely wooded walks which were beautiful. The weather was very warm for our visit but the cottage was lovely and cool. We enjoyed walking to Merrythought village and having a cup of tea by the Severn at the antiques centre. It's such a beautiful area with lots to do and the Old Post Office the ideal place to explore from. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curiosity...
1 review
“Lovely little cosy cottage”
Reviewed 8 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Many Ironbridge Gorge attractions and eating places within walking distance. Ideal for small family, couple. Telford/shopping/rail easy15 mins away. Small courtyard outside space. Bike store. Delightfully decorated, well appointed and very clean, tidy and cosy warm on arrival. Wood stove kindling and wood provided. Stove door needs rope replacing, heat generated lovely. Helpful owner with all that was going on. Unfortunately next door being renovated so early morning awakenings for move car/skip replacement, no shute so tiles dropped from roof to skip and general loud builders noise daily. Homely and I would visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2018
Thanks very much for your review. I'm really sorry you were disturbed by the refurbishment next door.
While it is great to see the local properties looked after I understand that this is little consolation when the noise coincides with your only few days here. I hope you will consider returning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian S
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 20 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The Old Post Office is the best place we have ever stayed in as a holiday rental. The owner as gone out of her way to accommodate her guests and catered for both old and young alike, with plenty of reading material dvds and games. The place is clean, well equipped and tastefully decorated. We felt very much at home and have put the Old Post Office at the top of our list. Hope to return soon, with many thanks to Heather.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim T
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable stay”
Reviewed 1 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Lovely cottage in a perfect position to explore the area. We had never visited Ironbridge before so had no idea what to expect. Staying in The Old Post Office we felt as if we were really immersed in this historic landscape! The cottage is really comfortable and very generously appointed - we loved it so much we can't wait to come back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D4NGERMOU...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A warm and comfortable base, close to local attractions.”
Reviewed 13 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely cottage, made even better by new double glazing (this was our second visit). Spotlessly clean on arrival, comfortable sofas and beds, big dining table, lovely BIG bath, OK shower (electric shower, so not wonderful but does the job), good kitchen utensils etc. Great selection of games and DVDs for a wide age range. Enough wood provided for two evening fires. New double glazing has made the cottage warmer and quieter, which is lovely. Just crept into the 5 out of 5, but provision of towels and a proper bath mat would make it a strong 5.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing