We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice blend of charming and modern in a great...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Dining room
Floorplans
Main bedroom
Second bedroom
first floor hallway
View down Wellington Road
The Iron Bridge 20 minutes walk
The viaduct near Abraham Darby's blast furnace - 3 minutes walk
Across the road from The Old Post Office
The Museum of Iron - 2 minutes walk
In the grounds of the Musuem of Iron
Next to Abraham Darby's blast furnace
Outside Enginuity, the interactive Museum for children
We don't know what this is, we just liked it
This is us just down the road from The Old Post Office with the viaduct in the background
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Coalbrookdale, Ironbridge Gorge, Telford, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dave W
Saint John, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice blend of charming and modern in a great location”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Quaint, comfortable, tastefully decorated cottage with a modern kitchen and bathroom. Large master bedroom with a comfortable bed and plenty of storage as well as a second bedroom with bunk beds and more storage.
Large soaker tub in the bathroom with a large rainfall showerhead, in addition to the handheld showerhead.
The area the cottage is located in is quite close to the beautiful and historic town of Ironbridge. There are plenty of shops, cafes, restaurants, grocery stores, and museums all within a short walk or drive of the cottage.
The only reasons I didn't give the Old Post Office a 5-star rating are the lack of provided bath towels (thankfully, we had family nearby we could borrow bath towels from), the lack of the usual "welcome pack" of teas, coffees, etc, that is usually provided in the other cottages we have rented, and the musty smell we assume was coming from the cellar, as the area is prone to floods and there had been heavy rains in the week previous to it arrival.
All-in-all, a very nice cottage in a great location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modern bathroom and kitchen
Liked least: The musty smell on the ground level
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey T
1 review
“Lovely Holiday Home”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed in August as a family of four with two young children 8&5 for one week.The house was very comfortable and clean.It is a great location for Ironbridge and all the museum's.Very good communication from Heather the owner.The on-road parking was not a issue as always plenty of space.
We all had a great holiday.
Many Thanks. Mr&Mrs Tibbs.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy W
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, very convenient for all the Ironbridge museums!”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent communication from Heather, the owner before and during the stay.
The cottage is well equipped and very comfortable - if I could have bought the mattress in the main bedroom home with me I would have done - probably the most comfortable holiday rental bed I've ever slept in! Lovely bath too...
The cottage is in the perfect for location for all the Ironbridge museums and makes a good base for other outings as well - we had a lovely day on the Severn Valley Railway, which is well worth a trip if they're running steam!
The on-road parking was not an issue - there was always plenty of space.
All-in-all a very pleasant weekend and I would recommend it to anybody!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the bed!!
Liked least: There was nothing...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew P
1 review
“Lovely homely cottage, would visit again”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The cottage was extremely homely and comfortable. The little touches made all the difference. Very comfortable beds. Very clean. Great for visiting the Ironbridge museums. Many thanks for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison S
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday rental”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at The Old Post Office in mid April as a family of four with our children aged 8 and 11. The house was warm, comfortable and clean and perfectly located for exploring the area. Ironbridge is in easy walking distance and the museum's of Coalbrookdale literally minutes away. We spent most our time walking in the Shropshire countryside, which is very pleasant and unspoilt. The towns of Ludlow and Bridgnorth are worth visiting.

We found our stay to be very peaceful and quite. Parking right outside worked well. A great holiday rental - THANK YOU!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing