We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great craft beer bar”
Review of One Inn the Wood

One Inn the Wood
Ranked #8 of 170 Restaurants in Orpington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed a few local beers in this craft beer bar. A good selection of Kentish ales and very friendly & helpful staff.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank R2737RUtonyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Met an old friend there for a few beers. Staff were friendly and helpful and all in all a very pleasant experience ! Would certainly go again.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Dzerzhinsjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

Not was it was. Now it’s full of a clique and strangers are stared at and made to feel unwelcome.

Appreciate it’s small and that used to be part of its charm however it’s the kind of pub now feels like it’s only for ‘the regulars’ and anyone else isn’t wanted.

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank JudithChalmers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We finally managed to visit this micro pub, which is a good train journey for us, but were disappointed. We had exactly the same round as we have in other micro pubs and it was noticeably more expensive.

The decor is good and it has a nice feel but because it is so small it is extremely noisy and it was very crowded when we visited. The sausage roll wasn't particularly good and seemed a bit on the expensive side at a fiver.

The beer was well presented and well kept as you would expect but we won't be rushing back.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nelly_norman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Took mum tonight for a drink for part of Mother’s Day (6.30 on a Sunday evening). Very few people in here apart from a ‘regular’ and his mate (whom I’ve seen here every time I’ve been here so I’m assuming he’s a regular) and the bar man and a group of his friends
Everyone was extremely loud and the regular was swearing at every opportunity. Not pleasant. Real shame as I liked this place a lot but if tonight was my first experience I wouldn’t return.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank 286shellw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Owner at One Inn the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

We are sorry you didn't have your normal OITW experience Shell. We certainly do not condone loud swearing in our little pub. We have spoken to our member of staff who was working that day and made them aware of your discomfort. Hopefully your next visit will be more pleasant.
Cheers,
Team OITW.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed One Inn the Wood also viewed

Orpington, Bromley
Bromley, Greater London
 
Chislehurst, Greater London
Chislehurst, Greater London
 
Orpington, Bromley
Bromley, Greater London
 

Been to One Inn the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing