We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa del Fiume

Casa del Fiume - an Artist's home in Abruzzo.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa del Fiume - an Artist's home in Abruzzo.
Casa del Fiume - An Artist's Award Winning riverside mountain retreat in Abruzzo. Casa del Fiume - a beautiful Majella mountain retreat.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Casa del Fiume - an Artist's home in Abruzzo.
Casa del Fiume - An Artist's Award Winning riverside mountain retreat in Abruzzo.
Casa del Fiume - a beautiful Majella mountain retreat.
Fast flowing Aventino river that borders the garden.
View of the large terrace with BBQ and dining area.
Kitchen with view to terrace outside.
Kitchen with marble worktop and ceramic butlers sink.
Dining room with large table and wood burning stove.
Lounge with L-shaped sofa and wood-burning stove.
Main double bedroom.
Twin bedroom with double aspect views of garden.
Single bedroom with antique iron bed.
Shower room with sink and WC.
Fresh organic figs, just picked from our trees.
Part of the 5 acre garden showing walnut groves leading to the Aventino river.
A pit barbeque is next to the riverside dining area.
Abruzzo Rafting passing by on the Aventino river.
Our favourite deserted beach, now the 3rd best beach in Italy (Traveller Magazine 2014).
Olive picking in our grove producing highest quality organic oil.
View of Majella mountains from an olive grove 5 mins drive away.
'Trabocco', an ancient fishing platform found only along the nearest part of Adriatic, a WHO site.
Lake of Sant'Angelo 5 mins drive away.
'La Gola', the nearby dramatic entrance into the Majella National Park.
Walking in the Majella mountains.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Civitella Messer Raimondo, Province of Chieti, Abruzzo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
tonyhawki...
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

From the moment you arrive, Ruth and Stew make you feel like family. Nothing is to much trouble and they are always on hand to offer help or advice. If you haven't been to Abruzzo, then this is a great base in which to explore the region.
Thank you guys, we will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2018
Thank you so much for this review, you made it easy for us - you were perfect guests in every way!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picknarke...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab place, great hosts, awesome holiday”
Reviewed 15 January 2018 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely house up in the mountains of the Abruzzo, very peaceful and tranquil, an ideal place to get away from it all and relax. Stew and Ruth are welcoming and genial hosts, nothing is too much trouble and their lovely house and gardens reflect their passions for simple, organic living. The kids loved swimming in the (cold) river at the bottom of the garden and we enjoyed relaxing in the hammocks slung between walnut trees close by. Having never been to this region before we didn’t know what to expect, but the scenery is simply stunning, the people are friendly and relaxed and there’s plenty to do, whether visiting Europe’s highest caves or relaxing on the stunning beaches down at the coast, this place have it all. Book it today, you will not be disappointed.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for this great review. We are so pleased than you enjoyed your stay with us in our little piece of paradise. We hope that you come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
637lorat
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable stay at Casa Del Fiume”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a wonderful time at Casa Del Fiume. Steward and Ruth were so helpful and made our stay so comfortable and unforgettable. We loved the beautiful house, the garden and swimming in the pristine river at the bottom of the garden. Altogether a magical holiday.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Thank you for your kind review.We so enjoyed having you and your family stay here with us and your appreciation of the outstanding natural beauty that the Aventino valley has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adjph
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mountains, river, and sea - what more could you want?”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stewart & Ruth are the most gracious and helpful hosts in an absolutely amazing location. We went to places we wouldn't have thought of or found without their help,
and had the most wonderful stay. Swimming and rafting in the river at the end of the garden, and walking in the nearby mountains in the Majella National Park were an absolute highlight. We will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thank you for your review. We really enjoyed having you and your family as guests, you were great fun!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
636emma
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most brilliant, beautiful, place to stay.”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Casa del Fiume is in a lovely location; an unspoilt undiscovered part of Italy.

A river runs through the garden - heaven when it's hot.

Hosts Stewart and Ruth are completely wonderful and a mine of information.

The beaches are gorgeous; the food delicious; tons of walking in mountains; beautiful villages and towns to explore. Just a perfect holiday!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review! You packed so much into your time here and we really enjoyed having you stay with us. We look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing