We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A peaceful week in beautiful surroundings”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa del Fiume

Casa del Fiume - an Artist's home in Abruzzo.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa del Fiume - an Artist's home in Abruzzo.
Casa del Fiume - An Artist's Award Winning riverside mountain retreat in Abruzzo. Casa del Fiume - a beautiful Majella mountain retreat.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
Casa del Fiume - an Artist's home in Abruzzo.
Casa del Fiume - An Artist's Award Winning riverside mountain retreat in Abruzzo.
Casa del Fiume - a beautiful Majella mountain retreat.
Fast flowing Aventino river that borders the garden.
View of the large terrace with BBQ and dining area.
Kitchen with view to terrace outside.
Kitchen with marble worktop and ceramic butlers sink.
Dining room with large table and wood burning stove.
Lounge with L-shaped sofa and wood-burning stove.
Main double bedroom.
Twin bedroom with double aspect views of garden.
Single bedroom with antique iron bed.
Shower room with sink and WC.
Fresh organic figs, just picked from our trees.
Part of the 5 acre garden showing walnut groves leading to the Aventino river.
A pit barbeque is next to the riverside dining area.
Abruzzo Rafting passing by on the Aventino river.
Our favourite deserted beach, now the 3rd best beach in Italy (Traveller Magazine 2014).
Olive picking in our grove producing highest quality organic oil.
View of Majella mountains from an olive grove 5 mins drive away.
'Trabocco', an ancient fishing platform found only along the nearest part of Adriatic, a WHO site.
Lake of Sant'Angelo 5 mins drive away.
'La Gola', the nearby dramatic entrance into the Majella National Park.
Walking in the Majella mountains.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Civitella Messer Raimondo, Province of Chieti, Abruzzo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Karen938
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A peaceful week in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely unspoilt region of Italy. Majestic mountains and warm, clean sea to swim in on the Adriatic coast. Casa del fiume has been beautifully restored and feels homely and easy to stay in. Stewart and Ruth are fantastic hosts, providing advice, help and all things organic to eat! The grounds and outside areas are spectacular but it was difficult to always make the most of these because of the mosquitoes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The mosquitoes!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debby C
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous place, lovely people”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Had a fantastic week staying in this beautiful house with 3 kids. Ruth and Stew are the most wonderful hosts, the house is very thoughtfully equipped and they went out of their way to make our time really special. Highlights for us include 'swimming' in the river - we went for total immersion but it is ice cold and more like a jacuzzi than a swim! Also the two festas we went to with Ruth, Stew and the family - the craziness of being drawn into a Caberet act (in Italian!) and some memorable dancing. We also did mountains, caves, gorge and beaches - it's an amazing area to visit with loads of wildlife (although we didn't see wolves or bears, there were lots of foxes, stoats and deer as well as lovely butterflies and birdlife. 1 piece of advice: do bring insect repellent!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsey L
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and garden with spectacular mountain and river views”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The house is very comfortable, attractively decorated and thoughtfully equipped, even though the weather was suspect our family including teenage children were never bored due to videos, internet etc. The huge garden is lovely with hammocks and seating by a wild mountain river that you can get into to cool down. There is also a private courtyard area for eating. Stewart and Ruth the owners are really kind and friendly and have lots of suggestions for things to do nearby and will arrange things like wine tasting at a small local wine producer that you wouldn't normally get to do. They were also invaluable with translations when we had issues with our hire car.
There is loads to do in the area, walking in the mountains, visiting local caves high in the mountains via a cable car, visiting the local beaches and nearby ancient towns and villages.
There is also a very good and very reasonably priced restaurant in the next village that we visited on the last night and wished we had been to earlier in the holiday and more often!
I would recommend this property to anybody that is looking for a holiday in a spectacular and unspoiled part of Italy but with the safety net of helpful hosts who speak Italian and English!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in the garden looking at the river, butterflies and mountains
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley J
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
“ONLY great memories, will go again.”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The hosts were warm and friendly. They made us feel like we were friends from the beginning of our adventure. They went out of their way to make sure we had a great time. They gave suggestions of things to do in the area. We arrived late on Sunday and they made sure the restaurant in town was expecting us. The food there was the best of our 2 weeks in Italy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumbo...
Stromness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with magnificent scenery all around and lovely, friendly hosts”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Stew and Ruth have provided a lovely holiday home with good amenities. The outside area is well equipped for relaxation. Our hosts provided guidance and maps relating to the area, which was extremely helpful.
Casa del Fiume has delightful views and the rooms are light and airy. It feels very much like a home from home.
The surrounding area is not only stunning, but the villages are also attractive with many places of interest.
Stew and Ruth organise a wine tasting at a local vineyard and it was fantastic to visit a family producer and sample their award winning wines in their own kitchen.
The highlight for me was Roccaserra - you won't believe your eyes! For my wife, the walk around the ruins in Gessopalena was her favourite, although shopping in Guardagrille came a very close second! May is the month for fireflies and it was magical to watch them in the garden.
The only real downside is driving around on the very narrow roads with blind hairpins - I'm afraid the local drivers don't seem to expect any other traffic on the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Local attractions
Liked least: Local driving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing