We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverfront Motel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosetta
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We picked this motel mainly because it has apartment w/ 2 rooms, and lodging in central Hobart was booked out. Our room was a bit worn out. The blinds need repair, as one can see the living room fm outside. The carpet was dirty, and the glasses and dishes in the kitchen too. Doubt if the rooms were cleaned before handing over the key to the next guest. Hardly any staff service, although this could be because of understaffing during the long holidays there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 256 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed in one of the self contained villas for two nights. The villa is spacious (two bedrooms, a living room with sofa two chairs and tv, dining/ kitchen, bathroom and separate toilet, laundry) but very dated. The space is not used very adequate. If they knock down some walls and refurbish, they could make really something out of it. Now it's just average. A shame! Missed opportunities.

Advertised as with swimming pool but we haven't seen it (and haven't asked btw).
We also had diner here one night, in the main building. Was ok, nothing special but not bad.

location: very close to MONA. Need a car to visit Hobart!

overall:
advantage: spacious
disadvantage: even though there is a lot of grass around the villa, there was no seating outside. The shared bbq near the water was too old and dirty to use.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tikitaka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We found our riverfront motel room perfect for our stay, clean and comfortable. We did not use the restaurant but bought inexpensive light meals from room service (all we needed after lunching out). It was lovely to have only lawn and gardens between us and the beautiful Derwent River. MONA can also be seen from the garden and is just a very short drive away (or walk if you are energetic). We didn’t take the car to the city – instead we caught the MONA ferry. The first morning ferry was crowded with tourists travelling to MONA, but we were the only passengers on its return journey to the centre of Hobart. The river cruise was scenic and we arrived in the centre of old Hobart where we wanted to sightsee. We walked round Salamanca Place and Battery Point, then returned to the restaurants and museums near Constitution Dock, all within walking distance without need of a car.
Yes, we did have a car and it would have been inconvenient otherwise to go anywhere else, or even to MONA if you don’t like walking. We would have preferred to have some self-catering equipment, even just a toaster, but only tea and coffee-making facilities are provided.

Room Tip: Ground floor riverfront rooms are closer to the river than the first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FNQJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

1. Location is too far from Hobart - about 20 min drive to the town (if you drive at pick-off time, otherwise expect traffic jams) and no less than 25 mins to Hobart Airport (pick-off time).

2. No sound isolation - you hear absolutely everything from outside. A strange "Latinos" girl from the neighbor room who constantly was chewing her... hair cried for about 3 hrs out of our door. No chances to sleep.

3. No management supervision at night time. From 9.30 pm till 7 am reception is closed. If you have problems with you neighbors (they are drunk, under the influence of drugs, cry and don't give you to sleep) - there's nobody on the territory of the motel who can resolve the problem. By the way, it's a big motel, more than 60 units and the problem from neighbors is possible.

One more example - neighbors from another side (2 women) returned at the motel at 1 am and just started to loudly cry (at that moment they were simply unable to speak - too drunk). When I went to their room, they were absolutely drunk or used drugs, I don't know. I was simply unable to explain anything to them due to their condition. The reception was closed. As a result, we had only 2 hour sleep before 27 hr flight ahead. I just wonder to know for what I paid about 90 AUD??? For 2 hr sleep???? It's too much for that. In the morning at 7 am I went to the reception and asked the receptionist (a young girl) to send my opinion to the management and then return the money because it wasn't the service. She promised but the whole week has passed and no comments from the motel management followed.

So my opinion - if you want to have a place to rest, especially before long flights, AVOID this motel and find the better place!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sergeika30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

It's a bit out of Hobart by the Derwent. Not much around it but fine if you're driving everywhere. I had a riverside room that was pretty good, including a family of ducks saying hello one morning. I got room service a couple of times and the food was quite good and not too expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosetta
2.7 km away
Claremont Hotel Motel
Claremont Hotel Motel
#1 of 1 in Claremont
33 reviews
0.6 km away
Mona Pavilions
Mona Pavilions
#1 of 1 in Berriedale
236 reviews
18.3 km away
Hatcher's Manor
Hatcher's Manor
#1 of 1 in Richmond
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
2.6 km away
Hobart Cabins and Cottages
3.2 km away
Martin Cash Motel
Martin Cash Motel
#1 of 1 in Moonah
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverfront Motel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverfront Motel & Villas

Address: 11 Strathaven Dr, Rosetta, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7010, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Glenorchy > Rosetta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosetta
Price Range: AU$92 - AU$193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverfront Motel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Riverfront Motel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverfront Motel & Villas Rosetta, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing