We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
83
128
74
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
128
74
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river bedroom villa washing machine hobart cbd easy access friendly ducks the kitchen on site large group budget room restaurant food single bed cadbury chocolate factory home away from home per night great value for money wonderful view
Filter
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed in one of the self contained villas for two nights. The villa is spacious (two bedrooms, a living room with sofa two chairs and tv, dining/ kitchen, bathroom and separate toilet, laundry) but very dated. The space is not used very adequate. If they knock down some walls and refurbish, they could make really something out of it. Now it's just average. A shame! Missed opportunities.

Advertised as with swimming pool but we haven't seen it (and haven't asked btw).
We also had diner here one night, in the main building. Was ok, nothing special but not bad.

location: very close to MONA. Need a car to visit Hobart!

overall:
advantage: spacious
disadvantage: even though there is a lot of grass around the villa, there was no seating outside. The shared bbq near the water was too old and dirty to use.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tikitaka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We found our riverfront motel room perfect for our stay, clean and comfortable. We did not use the restaurant but bought inexpensive light meals from room service (all we needed after lunching out). It was lovely to have only lawn and gardens between us and the beautiful Derwent River. MONA can also be seen from the garden and is just a very short drive away (or walk if you are energetic). We didn’t take the car to the city – instead we caught the MONA ferry. The first morning ferry was crowded with tourists travelling to MONA, but we were the only passengers on its return journey to the centre of Hobart. The river cruise was scenic and we arrived in the centre of old Hobart where we wanted to sightsee. We walked round Salamanca Place and Battery Point, then returned to the restaurants and museums near Constitution Dock, all within walking distance without need of a car.
Yes, we did have a car and it would have been inconvenient otherwise to go anywhere else, or even to MONA if you don’t like walking. We would have preferred to have some self-catering equipment, even just a toaster, but only tea and coffee-making facilities are provided.

Room Tip: Ground floor riverfront rooms are closer to the river than the first floor rooms
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FNQJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

1. Location is too far from Hobart - about 20 min drive to the town (if you drive at pick-off time, otherwise expect traffic jams) and no less than 25 mins to Hobart Airport (pick-off time).

2. No sound isolation - you hear absolutely everything from outside. A strange "Latinos" girl from the neighbor room who constantly was chewing her... hair cried for about 3 hrs out of our door. No chances to sleep.

3. No management supervision at night time. From 9.30 pm till 7 am reception is closed. If you have problems with you neighbors (they are drunk, under the influence of drugs, cry and don't give you to sleep) - there's nobody on the territory of the motel who can resolve the problem. By the way, it's a big motel, more than 60 units and the problem from neighbors is possible.

One more example - neighbors from another side (2 women) returned at the motel at 1 am and just started to loudly cry (at that moment they were simply unable to speak - too drunk). When I went to their room, they were absolutely drunk or used drugs, I don't know. I was simply unable to explain anything to them due to their condition. The reception was closed. As a result, we had only 2 hour sleep before 27 hr flight ahead. I just wonder to know for what I paid about 90 AUD??? For 2 hr sleep???? It's too much for that. In the morning at 7 am I went to the reception and asked the receptionist (a young girl) to send my opinion to the management and then return the money because it wasn't the service. She promised but the whole week has passed and no comments from the motel management followed.

So my opinion - if you want to have a place to rest, especially before long flights, AVOID this motel and find the better place!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sergeika30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

It's a bit out of Hobart by the Derwent. Not much around it but fine if you're driving everywhere. I had a riverside room that was pretty good, including a family of ducks saying hello one morning. I got room service a couple of times and the food was quite good and not too expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We could not believe we had found our little paradise in this very comfortable and private 2-bedroom family villa unit with panoramic views of the Derwent river..if I could buy it I would!!
Everything to make our stay perfect and to have our family visit us.
Our evening meal in the beautiful Restaurant was superb, the staff marvellous.
Reception staff very helpful and the whole experience was one we are still talking about.
We can't wait until our next stay in number 63.

Room Tip: Number 63 2 bedroom family villa unit was quiet, private and has great views.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sianjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews