We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,091)
Filter reviews
1,091 results
Traveller rating
538
282
153
83
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
538
282
153
83
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed fan heater farmers bar beautiful building sunday carvery wedding venue evening meal wedding reception lovely setting lady on reception black pudding food was fantastic lovely room short break following morning cooked to perfection full english breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 1,091 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2018

our main requirement for a good hotel is a very quiet setting and this hotel met that requirement in the middle of nowhere large grounds a lovely building and very popular for sunday lunches it was a very hot Sunday afternoon when we arrived and the grounds were quite full of people enjoying the surroundings we booked in ok but were disappointed with our room in the west wing one of these add ons that hotels build a very small room no wardrobe just a couple of hooks but most disappointing was the west wing easnt full by any means so why do reception put guests all together so we can hear each room as the sound insulation in these annex buildings is always poor if you are not full have a bit of sence and space people out, the staff are all very good but im afraid the bar for such a nice place is hopeless only fissy lager type beers no ales not even bottled surely stocking some ale even in bottles is better than not bothering the annoying thing is that the Best Western at Beamish Hall only 40 minutes away has its own brewery making 5 different ales so how about supporting the group mr bar manager,however grype over the food is good , the setting is lovely the room was rubbish if you are going tell them no west wing room

Room tip: dont accept a west wing room unless you like shoe boxes
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank graypower2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear graypower2015,

Thank you for writing your review of our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and although you decided to stay in the west wing, we do have larger more spacious rooms available inside the actual castle itself. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future as these rooms may be more to your liking. I do take on board your comment about real ale, and although we don't really have a huge demand for this, we should perhaps offer a small section for customers such as yourself. Although you mention that Beamish has its own brewery, all Best Western Hotel are privately owned and operated and i think their individuality adds to the charm of the brand. I do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards

Mrs Swain
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Our daughter was married at Walworth Castle on Saturday 26th May 2018. From the booking of the wedding beautifully orchestrated by Ailsa and ran like clockwork, it was absolutely fantastic. The Manager could not do enough to ensure all our guests were duly looked after at a very high standard. Equally the staff were magnificent in how they ensured we were all happy, they were helpful polite and went out of their way for all guests. Our room which was a four poster room was very clean, comfortable and complete with everything we needed. We visited other families and friends rooms that were staying for the wedding (we pretty much took over the hotel) to find that they were equally lovely, clean and spacious. I would like to name to some key people that did a fantastic job for us which I will do in a separate card to the hotel as everyone from the receptionist, waiters, bar staff, housekeepers etc should be applauded. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it. The setting is also particularly beautiful.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carolandmike2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear Carol & Mike,

We were delighted to host your daughters wedding at the castle on 26th May. From reading your review it appears that every member of staff you encountered went over and above to make sure you enjoyed your time with us. I will certainly take your feedback to our management meeting in order to let everyone know how much you enjoyed your experience. We really do appreciate the time you have taken to write your review and we hope to welcome you back again in the not so distant future.

Kind regards

Mrs Swain
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Beautiful looking hotel with well manicured grounds, really friendly staff all very helpful. Ate in the resteraunt food was great and the staff excellent. The rooms are comfortable well looked after and all the usual amenities are available tea coffee etc.
I would definately book here again.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank carlhO9605FC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear Carl,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the food and staff to be excellent. I will pass your comments onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mrs Swain
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary - booked with no expectations and we were delighted. The setting is beautiful, the castle is lovely and the staff were amazing - their friendly and helpful attitude and approach really made our trip special. Breakfast recommended! Susan the receptionist and the manager were delightful. We will return again next year,

Room tip: Great views
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Family_Sherratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear Family_Sherratt,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your wedding anniversary. I will certainly pass your comments onto Susan and we look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next in the area.

Kind regards

Mrs Swain
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

My wife and i just spent 4 very enjoyable dsys at Walworth castle, the room was very clean,loved the spa bath(room 16) and the large tv. The breakfast was very nice as was the meal we had at night. The location meant you have to drive to get to most attractions but that's not a problem as having a quiet drink in the grounds with nothing but the birds and tge sheep for company more than makes up for it. The staff are all very helpful and friendly. All in all.i wouldn't hesitate in staying here again and would highly recommend Walworth castle hotel for anyone wanting to stay in the area.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear Gary,

Thank you for your recent review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are delighted that you would recommend us to guests wanting to visit the area. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Mrs Swain
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews