We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped, beautiful, historic windmill in a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
La Chapelle-Themer, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jilliande...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well equipped, beautiful, historic windmill in a lovely part of France”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in May 2016

Well equipped accommodation, lovely outside space with barbecue, beautiful surroundings with opportunities for walking and cycling. A truly relaxing holiday in the unusual setting of a wonderful restored windmill

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2017
Thanks very much for you kind words. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benmordey
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Honeymoon location.”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Well what can i say? An absolutely fantastic property, in a stunning location. We turned up late afternoon and was blown away by the beautiful property we found before us, very very peaceful too. once inside we found it to be perfectly decorated, but keeping within the original detail of the building, we was absolutely blown away at the whole property it really was the perfect honeymoon for us, it really made the whole fairytale experience for us both, and was gutted to leave on our last day.
We have reccomended this property to anyone who has asked about our honeymoon to be fair, and we are looking to come and stay here again for our first wedding anniversary. Only on the motorbike this time. Thanks again to Sally and the team at Moulin 85.. Bam

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words. The Windmill would be delighted to see you both again soon. All the very best... Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alibali50...
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning Windmill, amazing sky!”
Reviewed 17 December 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary in August. The windmill is beautiful, peaceful and in a perfect location, within easy reach of Fontenay Le Compte which is a lovely town with loads of amenities. There were loads of interesting villages and lovely walks nearby, and it is a drivable distance from the stunning Vendee beaches.

There is no tv, but there is a DVD player provided with numerous dvds, though we never used it as the garden and house were both so peaceful we just chilled out and chatted or read. It is such a quiet location we slept really well, not even disturbed by the occasional cow mooing in the distance.

Tha whole place was spotless and had everything we needed, including a bottle of welcome wine which was a lovely surprise.

The Vendee skyline is quite incredible and we spent hours lying outside on the sunbeds late at night looking at the stars. I have never seen such a sky, and my husband took some amazing photos of star trails above the windmill.

If you want a peaceful, romantic retreat I would definitely recommend the windmill and we were so taken with the Vendee it's featuring in our retirement plans!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2016
Thank you for your kind words, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The photo's are wonderful. Maybe you will come and visit again some time. With very best wishes.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath B
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, peaceful place to stay!”
Reviewed 16 December 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The windmill is an absolute delight-exactly what we wanted. Beautifully restored and in a fabulous location-lots to see only short drives away. The windmill is very comfortable and has everything you need. Peace and quiet and fantastic sunsets are provided for free!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review my property. I hope you will come and visit again sometime. With very best wishes....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrissieF...
Fareham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay at the windmill”
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at the Moulin. Everything we needed was there and it was comfortable, relaxing and beautiful.

The outside area is quiet and there is nobody close to disturb you, it is only a short walk to the village where there is a small restaurant which we didn't have time to visit.

We would thoroughly recommend if you want to stay somewhere away from crowds and heavy civilisation. However you need to prepared to travel to get anywhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review the windmill. I hope you will come and visit again some time. With very best wishes.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing