We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachside Valentines”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caves Beachside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Caves Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beachside Valentines”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I purchased an accommodation and dining package as a surprise valentines day getaway. As a beach lover, there is nothing better then waking up with the sound of the waves breaking at you doorstep. Well they may as well have been but its a 20m stroll to the sand! The meal in C Restaurant was outstanding, as good as anything i have ever experienced, clearly an opinion shared by the full restaurant of other happy couples. The suites are clean and modern, with everything you would expect at a 4 1/2 property. The staff around the property were friendly and always helpful. Breakfast in the resort's cafe was delicious and hearty, my 'big breakfast' really hit the spot after an early morning swim. An added bonus is the undercover security parking at no additional cost. I just wish we stayed an extra night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie_torrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    82
    38
    13
    14
See reviews for
58
119
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I attended a wedding at caves beach hotel. The venue itself was nice, although i did not stay i got to have a peak at a room. And they were very nice....

However,

I personally was not happy with the food and I know a few people that were not either. However, I had a friend post on her facebook that the food at the reception is very average in which I peronally totally agreed. It was a disapointment, and i was looking foward to being able to go back there.
My friend made the cake for the wedding for our friend, she is not a baker or a cake maker and has had very little experience in the cake making field and this was her first ever tierd and wedding cake.

The kitchen staff at CAVES became aware of this post on facebook. So they decided to take it upon them selves to take a photo of the cake and post it and tag her on facebook giving the cake the title "WORST WEDDING CAKE EVER"

Who ever the person is that posted the cake their behaviour is appalling and very disgraceful on the behalf of caves beach staff. The 80 comment debate that is still on facebook is now posted on the net for millions of people to see.

The caves beach hotel was emailed...But no reply to this behaviour apparently their boss was aware of them posting this and saying this on fb... And I beleive the Head chef (who is ment to be well know) also took part and commented calling the cake .. VERY SLOPPY.

I am discraced in the behaviour and unprofessionalism of Caves beach. If the staff there was offended by the comment the food was very average there are plenty of ways to adress it, however instead they chose childish behaviour and now have lost potential/regular customers and possible weddings.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank e2ikiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

They advertised internet access but it wasn't working on my recent trip, I enquired at reception and with some reluctance they gave me wi-fi details but I still couldn't get it to work. They suggested it was my PC but it wasn't, might seem a minor point and I was on holiday but I was booking my accommodation on the web, next day on checkout I reminded them about the problem but the receptionist didn't seemed particulary interested and when after being asked to provided ffedback a few days later they said the first they knew about it was at checkout.Not true. Younger receptionists more helpful. Location excellent, pity about the weather we experienced.

Room Tip: All rooms or cabins well spread out, it was raining very hard for the duration of our stay and we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryH307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The setting of the bungalows is superb, with close proximity to the beach and ocean views. The rooms are nicely finished and the bed very comfortable. The shower and bathroom are first class, offering a comfortable stay.
The boardwalk surrounds are aesthetically pleasing, but the pounding of footsteps or rollers on baggage accross the boardwalk in the morning reverberates like thunder, preventing any chance of slumber once other guests awake.
The restaurant is quite underwhelming. Despite the error of presenting the incorrect dish as ordered, the smoked salmon resembled some watery sludge that was innedible.
The 1200 checkout was a welcome feature, allowing ample opportunity to enjoy the surrounds.
The accomodation is highly recommended, but I would advise eating elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBMB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

‘C’ Restaurant - great view but a disappointing overall experience.
Saturday evening only five tables occupied, the sourdough bread tasted & looked more like a thick slice of cake with poppy seeds.  The main took too long to be served and the portions were very small, yet the size of the side (extra) was unnecessarily enormous.
The service was attentive and the view of the ocean great. If they improve the meal & lower the price it could be a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ta55hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caves Beach
23.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
1,005 reviews
5.1 km away
Lake Macquarie Motor Inn
17.1 km away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Raffertys Resort
Raffertys Resort
#1 of 1 in Cams Wharf
316 reviews
1.6 km away
Black Swan Waterfront Motel
25.8 km away
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caves Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caves Beachside Hotel

Property: Caves Beachside Hotel
Address: 27 Mawson Close, Caves Beach, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2281, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Caves Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Caves Beach
Price range (per night): $211 - $297
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Caves Beachside Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caves Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing