We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A comfortable and spacious house, lovely pool...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Villa Anglade

Large spacious living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large spacious living area
Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Large spacious living area
Dining area
Living room/dining room
French doors onto garden terrace
Kitchen
Master bedroom - double
2nd double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Downstairs bathroom
2nd bathroom
Villa Anglade's private pool
Villa Anglade is a large spacious 4 bedroomed villa
Large shaded back terrace ideal for alfresco dining
Shaded back terrace
Gas fired barbecue on garden terrace
Aerial view of Langlade
Lovely mature gardens
Our own little wishing well!
Palm trees in back  garden
Sun flowers in full bloom at Villa Anglade
Countryside around Langlade
Harvest time in Montboyer
Our neighbours horses.
The freshest of veggies from the local market
Local delicacies at the market!
Our local minstrel pays his weekly visit to Chalais
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Montboyer, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison A
Bishop's Waltham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A comfortable and spacious house, lovely pool, beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just got back from two weeks staying the Villa Anglade and had the most relaxing holiday. We were pretty lucky with the weather, having promised my daughters (aged 17,15 and 13) that we wouldn't force them to go on outings unless it was under 25 degrees we did have to spend quite a few days by the pool! The pool was the attraction for us, it was lovely to have one to ourselves and it is a real sun trap with loungers but not much shade. It is not right next to the house, which you can work out from the aerial photos, but this was not a problem for us. It's a nice size and goes from 1m in the shallow end to 2m in the deep end with quite a steep slope and a ledge all the round the edge to stand on. Mosquitos weren't a problem but there were quite a lot of flies.

The house is very spacious and cool on hot days, all of the bedrooms had electric fans but we didn't find it was that hot at night. The patio is shaded and there is a gas barbecue which we used rather a lot! The double rooms are really quite big but the twin rooms have less space and the two bathrooms are both of a good size, the one downstairs has the washing machine in it. The living space is all open plan with comfy sofas, a good sized dining table and plenty of kitchen cupboards. The TV has all the basic English channels and a dvd player too and there is wifi but it comes and goes a bit!

The small group of houses is surrounded by fields of sunflowers and sweetcorn, the road only leads to two more houses before it fizzles out so it is very peaceful, but only a three minute drive to the village where there is a boulangerie (with slightly erratic opening times!) and a good friendly restaurant that offers a set menu at 16 euros as well as salads, pizzas or burgers. Slightly further down the road is Chalais where you will find a good supermarket and a fantastic street market on Monday mornings. We visited Aubeterre on one of the not-so-hot days which was lovely, also Angouleme, Cognac, La Rochefoucauld and Bordeaux, but most days were spent relaxing in the house, garden or by the pool.

Frank and Carol were very friendly, welcoming and helpful, even booking a table for us at the local restaurant for the evening of our arrival, and we became particularly fond of Suzy, their little Jack Russell, who kept popping over to visit us! All in all a great place to stay if you're looking for peace, quiet and relaxation :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool!
Liked least: I can't really think of anything!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed_Heardm...
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A superb holiday experience, and wish we'd booked two weeks rather than one!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Recently spent a week in La Petite Anglade, and had a fabulous time. Very easy to find, we were taken aback by the beautiful countryside setting, the top notch accommodation and the sheer size. Rather different to the caravan holidays where the five of us (three kids, aged 15, 12 and 10) have been cooped up in a tin can, rubbing shoulders with hordes in the clubhouse – this roomy rural villa is excellent value and the way forward for us now! There are four ample sized bedrooms, and a very large downstairs, well equipped kitchen, and spacious lounge area.

We received a very warm welcome, including a delightful pack of food and drink to start us off. Frank was out every morning clearing the pool, even in the rain, and was hand to offer advice for shops to visit, restaurants to savour and sites to see.

A car is a must, but the site is well located, with Chalais just a few minutes drive away and with everything you could need, including a Farmers’ Market. We visited several sights with some lovely unspoilt old villages, with Aubeterre not too far and Cognac less than an hour away. We’ve saved some places for next time!

Although early in the season, we managed to make extensive use of the pool, and the weather picked up later in the week to allow plenty of lounging by the pool or just on the patio.

Much more relaxing than previous holidays, the only downside was that we’d booked one week instead of two, but hopefully we’ll remedy that next year! A superb holiday experience, and we would thoroughly recommend this to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny S
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Haven for relaxation”
Reviewed 27 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely trip! We stayed at Langlade for a week in September and absolutely loved the rural French experience! As a group of friends visiting we enjoyed much reading and sunbathing beside the prestine pool during the day and a glass of wine in the sun with our BBQ in the evening. It really was an amazing way to unwind and relax! The properties were well equiped, spacious and immaculatley clean. And we were welcomed by a very generous package with much more than essentials to start us off before we hit the local intermarche.

There is plenty to do in the surroundnig area with local markets, wonderful restaurants, live music at the local watering hole and many beautiful nearby villages such as Aubeterre-sur-Dronne where the monolithic church is worth a visit.

Frank and Carol were the perfect hosts, very friendly and happy to provide information about the area to ensure we had a truely memorable holiday. September was the perfect time of year for us to go, although the sunflowers had started to bow their heads the temperature was just below 30 degrees, ideal for our party who were more acclimatised to the dreich summer we were getting in Scotland! We're already talking about planning a return trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable accomodation and lovely pool area!
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles W
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful home from home with perfect hosts”
Reviewed 4 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly, we dont write reviews in fact we've never written one before. However every now again you come across something/someone who goes "the extra mile". This is true with the hosts at Villa Anglade who found that perfect balance of being there when you need advice whilst respecting your privacy at the same time - Thank you Frank! The villa is indeed finished to a very high standard with plenty of space and modern conveniences with a wonderful large garden offering welcome shade, with good parking, splendid views across the hillside and an excellent / secure pool environment. Situated on a very quiet country lane yet only a few minutes away from the bakers and supermarket (please note their welcome pack was very generous indeed).
Interestingly there is a fabulous little restaurant in Montboyer (3 mins drive away) revitalised by a new and young French chef who speaks good English too. The food is wonderful and good value for money (Menu Gourmande in Euro 25 with an excellent choice). Plenty of covered alfresco dining and room for the kids to play too. You might want to ask them to slow the speed at which they take pride in serving you.
There is nothing to say from a negative point of view - So there you go, book it and enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern Conveniences and awesome hosts
Liked least: Cant think of anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing