We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve Meal”
Review of Pom'Cannelle

Pom'Cannelle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Family run business, on main route in town. Plenty of free parking available close by.
Pleasant welcome, smart, clean restaurant.
The meal comprised of a set 6 courses, with a welcome cocktail and calvados over sorbet in between courses.
Each dish was piping hot and presented beautifully.

Thank you.

We will definitely return during 2018.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippe b, Propriétaire at Pom'Cannelle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur, nous vous remercions pour cet avis et vous souhaitons une bonne et heureuse année 2018. Au plaisir de vous revoir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017

Stopped off for lunch - we were a bit late and muddy from cycling but the host made us feel very welcome. We went for the set menu which was incredible value at €12. The food was classic French, very well done, nicely presented, and the local cider was predictably great. Recommended.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gad_oxf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippe b, Propriétaire at Pom'Cannelle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur, nous vous remercions pour cet avis positif.
Au plaisir de vous revoir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

This restaurant has just a small road frontage, so it’s quite easy to miss, though it is very close to the Hotel de Ville and the church which is the major landmark of this pleasant market town. There’s a large free car park two minutes walk away. The interior is surprisingly large. I’m told a couple has recently taken over this restaurant and are working hard to expand the business; I’d say they’re doing a very good job. A fairly basic knowledge of French was good enough for us to order, so we didn’t find out if they speak English. We went on a very warm Sunday evening in July and chose a table in the garden; it’s a plastic table so be careful not to knock it! Two of us ate from the €18.40 fixed price menu and two ate a la carte. Our total bill was €78.80 (plus tip) which included €7.70 for a half-litre carafe of wine. I started with Potage Parmentier, a substantial vegetable soup. I followed this with Saumon Roti, salmon cooked to perfection with a variety of imaginatively prepared vegetables, I finished with poire pochee – poached pear with all the trimmings.. Our friends (one a vegetarian) chose galettes as their main and struggled to finish them; a very good vegetarian salad was concocted as a starter on request.
All the food was excellent, the service was friendly, helpful and efficient. I would happily recommend this restaurant to anyone and will certainly go back there. I think the restaurant name means “Apple with cinnamon”, but I could be wrong. I’ll ask next time!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stevebee2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippe b, Propriétaire at Pom'Cannelle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur, nous vous remercions pour cet avis. Au plaisir de vous revoir une prochaine fois.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Had a lovely set menu meal here for a Sunday Lunch. Booked online very helpful.
Great staff, so nice and friendly.
We had soup / fish Rolettes for starters - both very tasty. I had roast salmon as main which was very good indeed, my wife had a vegetarian galette (G Free) which was good but not sure it sat on equal ground as my main meal! Desserts are incredible - poached pear with chocolate sauce, truly scrummy !!! All washed down with a bottle of Rose which went down very nicely indeed. Total bill came to £63 which isnt cheap but was certainly good value for what we had.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippe b, Propriétaire at Pom'Cannelle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur, nous vous remercions pour cet avis positif et espérons vous revoir bientôt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

Booked here for my husbands 60th with a little trepidation as I am a vegetarian and my French is (ashamedly) lousy. However, I was put at my ease as I announced "je suis vegetarianne!" I started with potage parmienter with homemade garlic croutons to die for! Followed by a galette vegetarianne stuffed with fromage, tomatoe & legumes. To finish (& I was struggling) the poached pear in cinnamon with chocolat chaud. Delicious. My husband is NOT veggie & thoroughly enjoyed shrimp casserole to start, pave de bouef Normandie with frites & ended with a superb pomme pastry. All beautifully presented & very reasonably priced. Allow at least 2 hours to eat- not because of bad or slow service - it's the French way, and it's the right way! Nice house red & white wine to complement the food. Many thanks to the restaurant & its staff for an authentic French experience. Bon appetite!!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank PLonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippe b, Propriétaire at Pom'Cannelle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur, nous vous remercions pour cet avis et espérons vous revoir prochainement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pom'Cannelle also viewed

La Haye-du-Puits, La Haye
La Haye-du-Puits, La Haye
 
La Haye-du-Puits, La Haye
La Haye-du-Puits, La Haye
 
Saint-Germain-Sur-Ay, Manche
 

Been to Pom'Cannelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing