We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was in great quantity”

Gulf Pomegranate Iranian Restaurant
Cuisines: Persian
Description: What comes out of the kitchen should be what we would feed our own family.” That is the philosophy of the owners of Gulf Pomegranate Iranian Restaurant. Using the best local ingredients, real Persian saffron and handpicked vegetables allows diners to taste the finest Persian dishes in town. Drawing on traditional family recipes and home style cooking further enhances the dining experience. Surrounded by rocky hills and a cool desert breeze you dine in tranquility.
Restaurant details
Description: What comes out of the kitchen should be what we would feed our own family.” That is the philosophy of the owners of Gulf Pomegranate Iranian Restaurant. Using the best local ingredients, real Persian saffron and handpicked vegetables allows diners to taste the finest Persian dishes in town. Drawing on traditional family recipes and home style cooking further enhances the dining experience. Surrounded by rocky hills and a cool desert breeze you dine in tranquility.
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Great Iranian food, its as good as any western restaurant. Clean premises, and fun place.

Date of visit: April 2012
Thank AmirAlAmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2011

OK, so most people have identified that this place is a little drive out of Muscat, but despite our local taxi driver never having heard of GPIR, it was worth the perseverance of making him drive into what seemed like the middle of nowhere. Al Ansab Road does go on for ages, but there it was alongside the mosque and hardware store, in a sandy car park with about half a dozen shops max.

The place was empty when we got there (and left) but we were adamant to try it after reading the great reviews here and elsewhere online. The owner greeted us and sat us down, making us welcome and explaining the menu and what they contained, where caught and cooked etc. A friendly and pleasing chap, he seemed very proud of this out of town, simple but effective restaurant. I am a bit fussy about hygiene, but was very impressed that the tables and cutlery where spotless, and the bright interior if simple, was clean and presentable.

We settled for the salad and humus starter (not sure there was much else t.b.h), but the dressing was delightful and salad so fresh it was a pleasure. We then both had mixed platter, kebab, chicken and lamp chop, along with some Iranian rice. No desert available and no alcohol (I guess no surprise – so quite nice just to have a Fanta), but a very tasty and enjoyable meal.

I think the whole lot came to RO 12.20 for the two of us, and as others have said, presented on a wipe clean slate which I wish I’d taken a photograph of. I’d recommend this place to anyone seeking something different, at great value, not withstanding a taxi ride out of town, which was simple when we found our way!

I wish the proprietor all the best with his venture and encourage those seeking the above, to give it a go.

Date of visit: March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Oowart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomegranateManagemnt, Owner at Gulf Pomegranate Iranian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2011

Dear Mr. Oowart and family,

We are so very pleased to see that you enjoyed your Pomegranate experience. So much of who were are goes into making sure that our customers leave feeling like they have dined at an establishment similar to dining at home. We have made it cozy and try to make up for its simplicity by presenting food with high quality ingredients. For example, our saffron comes from a small village near Isfahan, our pomegranate molasses is homemade and we like to use local vegetables (as much as possible) so that everything is fresh and tasty.

As for our location, we are currently working on that. We are in the process of securing a location further in town and have closed the Al Ansab location during this time of transition. Once Pomegranate has moved into a better "home", we invite all our most cherished guests back again.

Thank you again for persevering and coming back to try Pomegranate. My hope is to continue to live by the motto that "everything that comes out of that kitchen, should be what I would feed my own family and friends." I hope that we have made you feel as you were a part of the Pomegranate family.

I sincerely appreciate your well wishes as well.

Pomegranate Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

I had the pleasure of having dinner at Gulf Pomegranate Iranian Restaurant. At first when I saw the location I was a bit sceptical but the service, the owner, the atmosphere was for sure outstanding. Even the presentation of the bill in a small whiteboard written on it is a great Idea. Definitely recommended and great place for a relaxing day out worth the ride for sure

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank waleedma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orchideh, Owner at Gulf Pomegranate Iranian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2011

Dear valued G. Pomegranate Guest,

We very much appreciate the fact that you took the time to write a review of our family owned and operated restaurant. We are so very happy to hear that you had a great experience as well. We have kept true to our word of providing wonderful diners, like you and your family, with high quality authentic Persian cuisine made with integrity. When you enter G. Pomegranate you are like family and we hope that on every occasion you visit us, you leave knowing that we have done everything possible to make that happen. Thank you again. With kind regards, the G. Pomegranate Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

It is a little drive, but it is worth it. We started with the house salad and the hummus. Both tasted very well. For main we had Loubiya Polo (Persian style rice) and Aloo Karafss (a stew of tender lamb and chicken with plums and celery). We also ordered a mixed grill and a basmati rice. All the dishes tasted very well! This is really delicious Persian food (and we know how it should taste because my brother in law is from Iran). Prices are low, everything is fresh and well prepared and the service is excellent. We have attached a map, because it can be a litte difficult to find, but it's worth the drive! (approx 10-15 minutes from the Grand Mosque). We were impressed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank A31970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orchideh, Owner at Gulf Pomegranate Iranian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2010

Dear Gulf Pomegranate Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments. Each and every customer is valued so, the fact that you took the time to write this review shows us that we are doing something right. The Gulf Pomegranate team will continue to strive to keep customers like you happy every time you visit. Now with the Muscat Expressway open, you can take the Al Athaiba/Al Ansab Exit which reduces travel time to the restaurant considerably. The weather is much cooler in our area and getting outside the city and viewing nature is a plus. We hope to see you back soon with more family and friends in tow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

This place is a bit out of the way from Muscat, about 20 mins from Al Kuwair or MSQ, but boy is it worth the drive. The main thing about this place is the quality of ingredients and preperation, and you can tell the difference in a big way. The salads are fresh, never tired, the humous is the best I've tasted, the daily specials kept to one or 2 so the quality remains and the grilled items are simply stunning, especially the lamb kebabs - no filler rubbish, just great quality meat and spices. The quality is so good I'd personally be more than happy paying double what they charge as the prices are incredibly reasonable for the quality. In short, just go there, as once you've been you'll be dying to return...

1  Thank stuckinmuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orchideh, Owner at Gulf Pomegranate Iranian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2010

Dear Gulf Pomegranate Guest, we thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at our restaurant. Everyday we strive to make every single customer's experience better at Pomegranate. Next time you come in we will make every effort to make sure you have another wonderful dining experience at Gulf Pomegranate. The Gulf Pomegranate Team
P.s. Please remember to bring in a print-out of your review for a special offer. With many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gulf Pomegranate Iranian Restaurant also viewed

Muaskar Al Murtafa'a, Muscat Governorate
Muaskar Al Murtafa'a, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to Gulf Pomegranate Iranian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing