We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Corbierres best kept secret”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La cave

La Cave
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Cave
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
La Cave
terrace
bedroom 1
bedroom 2
bedroom 3
bathroom
village lake
the village lake
les cascades
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tuchan, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julia E
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Corbierres best kept secret”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have just got back from an amazing weeks holiday at La Cave. From the minute we arrived we were met by a warm welcome from Lin & John. The accommodation was totally awesome and there was everything there that we could possibly need. Our party was my husband, son and daughter in law and our 9 week old granddaughter and this property was everything that we had hoped for with excellent wifi. The village of Maison is a quaint and totally un commercialized which just adds to the charm of La Cave. We totally enjoyed village life and the welcome off the local residents. If you are looking for a relaxing and lovely holiday then this is for you. We are already planning out next trip. Thank you Lin & John your were wonderful hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip V
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

we had a fantastic holiday thanks to John and Lin the freindly owners who have created the perfect place for a holiday, on the outside it looks like any French building but through the sliding doors it opens into a private oasis with everything you could need to make your stay a good one. Attractive, spacious, clean and well presented accommodation with large outdoor patio and private swimming pool with a fantastic view of the tree clad mountains around the tuchan area. I couldn't have wished for more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool and outdoor area
Liked least: nothing really
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William B
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just the job.”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed for two weeks in September,with my daughter & son in law and 20month old grand daughter.had great time in pool .private not over looked.really quite & relaxing stay. Nothing too much trouble for the owners ,could not be more helpful made our stay a great time.you need to remember to stock up on food etc. when return from a day out( nearest shop about 10 miles away) but not a problem.a really good place to chill out,we will be returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redsamsuf...
suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique, relaxing, Quiet unspoilt location”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Just got back last week. We stayed for a week, Drove down from the UK, Collected family from Perpignan Airport. John and Lin ( Owners ) wonderful and couldn't do enough for us all.
Good quality food from Supermarkets and great Wine !! - Shame the VATS at the property are empty.
Would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet relaxing, private holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tranquility
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davesleer...
Riding Mill, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Exactly What We Wanted”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked "La Cave" through French Country Cottages based on the list of facilities given, especially the private pool, high standards of accommodation, air conditioning and Wi-Fi. We were not disappointed.

If you have teenage kids then you will know just how important it is to have internet on Wi-Fi for all their gadgets and phones to work. It would have been near impossible to get Morgan to come on holiday without internet - and in the past we have made regular trips to McDonalds to "borrow" their Wi-Fi. Anyway, back to "La Cave"....

Lin was waiting for us when we arrived and showed the very useful doorbell that we could use to contact her - then we didn't see John and Lin until the day we left - but the flowers in the courtyard were watered every time we were out exploring.

And what a place to explore from! Get a decent hire car for the mountain roads. Perpignan is an hour away through Cathar country. Narbonne and Carcasonne about the same distance. The little yellow train is a 2 hour journey. One and a quarter hours to the Spanish border and only 3 hours to Barcelona for a day trip to Gaudi territory.

Don't forget to fill the car boot with the local wines - excellent reds and the Limoux sparkling. Great cooking facilities including a decent barbeque next to the pool means you should stock up on plenty of steaks and duck at the supermarket on your way there.

We flew into Toulouse following a few days in Paris - Toulouse has lots of different airlines serving and is about 2 hours away from La Cave. Carcasonne or Perpignan are closer by an hour, but for instance only Ryanair fly into Carcasonne, so very convenient (and cheap) from some parts of the UK directly, but not for us in Newcastle.

We stayed last week in July/first in August and had 30 to 35 degree Celsius bright sunshine weather and only two early morning thunderstorms that were spectacular and cleared the air. The air conditioning got put to good use to keep the gite cool enough to sleep comfortably at night.

UK Freesat TV was a bonus as were a fine stock of books and family games for the evenings.

To sum up, "La Cave" might seem to be at the pricey end of the range of accommodation on offer, but we have found that you get what you pay for and the Sheriff's house "La Cave" is excellent value for money. Everything we wanted and more...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Pool, Wi-Fi, air conditioning & Barbeque
Liked least: I can't nit-pick: Nothing at all...
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing