We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travellers have booked this property
Cosy Neuk Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy Neuk Cottage
Cosy Neuk is just a short stroll to the sea in the old village area Lounge area at Cosy Neuk
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Cosy Neuk Cottage
Cosy Neuk is just a short stroll to the sea in the old village area
Lounge area at Cosy Neuk
A cosy corner at Cosy Neuk
Main bedroom at Cosy Neuk
Cosy second bedroom
Sandend Beach just a short distance away
The famous Bow Fiddle Rock, Portknockie a stroll from Cosy Neuk
Cosy kitchen
Cosy corner in the kitchen
Portknockie Harbour
Fabulous Fish n Chips made on the premises just around the corner from Cosy Neuk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Portknockie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robert F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do Not Book This Property”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I had no hot water in this property for my entire stay. The owners did respond promptly on day one & sent a handy man over who assured me it was fixed. Later that day on my return, no hot water. After sending a second message I had no response from the owner. I have since written two emails directly to the owner requesting money back but I have had no response. Had it not been for the electric shower, I would have been unwashed. The property has very steep stairs with very tiny treads on it. It should be mentioned on the description of the property. The windows downstairs do not fit properly. There are velux windows up stairs but they only have normal roller blinds in them. Obviously they do not fit properly. There were carpet nails sticking up on the door plate to the main bedroom which was very dangerous & the carpets throughout look old & dirty. The smaller bedroom has a bed squeezed under the eaves of a very small room. The shower cubical is old fashioned & very small. Combined with the stairs and with the bathroom being downstairs & to the rear of the property it makes the trip to the bathroom somewhat hazardous. On the plus side though I have to say that the bed & bedding were very nice in the main bedroom and the room was of a good size. To be honest this entire property would benefit from some modernisation with better quality fixtures & fittings. There are much nicer properties in this area that are much more modern. Todays travellers are much more demanding and this type of property is just not acceptable any more. Having driven 400 miles and having had no feedback from the owners I am left extremely disappointed and I feel cheated out of my money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice location
Liked least: Tired old property
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
I do not think this is a fair review for the following reasons. This was a 4 night rental. £44 per night so good value.
The cottage was checked the day prior to arrival concerning the hot water and the shower and basins were working fine. You arrived on Monday pm. and our representative advised you were very happy upon arrival. You reported the water matter to us Tuesday morning and we had someone there within 2 hours who said the timer had been changed from the auto setting. It was re-set and checked and hot water was present when he left. The following morning it was reported again but we were told not to send someone as personal effects were there and you were out so we did not. You checked out Thursday morning and we inspected the property and found hot water was fine, however, timer was once again changed. This is very puzzling as we have let the cottage since with no further problems. The Shower worked fine for the duration and was always going to as it is electric. The stairs have open standard size treads in accordance with building regulations. I would not say they were tiny at all. The windows downstairs all open fine and are fitted fine so do not understand this comment. The carpets are 1 year old and are regularly cleaned. The location of the shower is clear in the description. Cosy Neuk is a quirky small cottage which is mentioned in description and part of its charm. There are probably are 'nicer' properties depending on personal preference , however, the design is not meant to be modern hence the rustic antique blanket box in the lounge. With regards to modern the cottage is a shabby chic style so maybe not everyones taste, however, with reference to modern fixings and comfort and for a balanced view it should therefore be mentioned that all the kitchen equipment is new including microwave, fridge, crockery and cutlery plus even a new food processor. The lounge has a comfy M & S feather sofa. The second bedroom has a new bed and the main bedroom has a lovely king-size sleigh bed. Our bedding is all new this season. I feel Cosy Neuk is just that and offers value for money in a lovely region.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 128
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing