We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb”
other travellers have booked this property
plenty parking right at the door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
plenty parking right at the door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
plenty parking right at the door
a 4 star VisitScotland property
a warm welcome awaits
a large comfy corner sofa
be sure to read previous guests comments and leave your own tips for future guests too
all fuel supplied, perfect for a cosy winter break
light airy hallway, with lounge, main bathroom and master bedroom
quality DENBY tableware
great welcome hamper so you needn't worry about food for your first night and breakfast the next day
great welcome hamper included, tailored to every guest
fully fitted dining kitchen with quality kitchenware by DENBY and your very own NESSPRESSO machine
fncy a coffee?
your very own NESPRESSO machine with a great variety to choose from
family bathroom with separate shower, separate bath, underfloor heating
DUCK ISLAND toiletries throughout
waterfall head and flexible hose in shower
super-king master bedroom with feature stone wall, Egyptian cotton sheets
super comfy super king sized, with Egyptian cotton bedding
ensuite with large walk in shower
oak finishing's throughout
upstairs hallway
snug with sofa bed
full sized single beds x 2
relax in our lovely 6 seat, 1 lounger hot tub
picnic table or bench depending on what your doing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Portknockie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison W
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Just arrived home from this beautiful cottage. We spent 5 nights here and can't fault it. Absolutely stunning. The owners have thought of everything, the largest welcome hamper in exsistance, shampoos and shower gels, bikes, hot tub. The cottage is newly renovated and is a quality finish.
It is situated just a few minutes stroll from the sea. We enjoyed lovely walks on the cliff tops from the property. We cycled from the house to Cullen. It took about 10/15 minutes and was relatively flat. The fish and chip shop at Portknockie serves in my opinion the best fish and chips in the UK! We used tennis courts near by. There are plenty of places of interest within an hours drive.
I would highly recommend this property to anyone who are looking to visit this area. You won't be disappointed. The photos don't do it justice!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
Thanks for the lovely review Alison, we're so glad you enjoyed the cottage and all it's little extras and had a great few days break here, the chip shop is definitely worth a mention too, thanks again, Wullie & Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safari603...
1 review
“Great Cottage in a lovely quiet and freindly Village”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

First thing I would say much larger than photos suggest plenty of space in a house that is 100% PERFECT!!! Superb welcome pack with everything you need (don't shop before you visit) great small village shop with local bakery products etc nearby. Everything is top quality in house for sure, Wullie and Alison have everything covered from cool hot tub to fibre optic broadband ,smart tvs . IFyou decide to leave house there are loads of quaint fishing villages and distilleries (highly recommend Glendronach Distillery for a friendly fun tour 22miles away) The best fish and chip shop we have been to is in portknockie itself Be sure to go there .Cottage in very quiet setting nothing to disturb you in this location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet ,hot tub and the modern extras
Liked least: leaving the place
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Fàilte, thank you for taking the time to leave a review about it so others can see first-hand experiences, glad you enjoyed the welcome pack too, we tailor it every time and have had some great feedback on it.

It is wonderful to hear the cottage had everything you needed and were pleased with the choice and quality throughout.

For sure the fish and chip shop is very good (we enjoyed the treat you left for us too) and your recommendation of a distillery tour I’m sure will be a great idea for future guests

Hope to see you all return again sometime soon, thanks again, Wullie & Alison.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilly1237...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL, COMFORTABLE COTTAGE - 5 STAR QUALITY - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

If you’re reading this review, you’ve taken the first step towards making an excellent choice.

FAILTE is a fabulous cottage, immaculately presented throughout and only a minute’s amble from Portknockie harbour. Particularly impressive was the very well equipped kitchen complete with an amazing range of Denby cookware/crockery, coffee machine etc., but the rest of the cottage did not disappoint as it oozed quality and comfort. We hoped for a Home from Home and that’s exactly what we got - very happy. The village is lovely and our favourite walk was over the headland and along the beach to Cullen, returning via the old railway line and on our first day, we were lucky enough to see a small pod of dolphins. The provision of bikes/helmets meant we were able to explore a bit further afield and at the end of each day, we had the pleasure of returning to FAILTE where a dip in the hot tub was followed by a great night's sleep in the super king bed. In the unlikely event of inclement weather there’s Netflix or the snug with tv/playstation/games but the weather was too good for us to stay indoors. We especially like the Sonos sound system plus Napster which played throughout the ground floor. We can honestly say that we have never stayed in a cottage where our every need was so well catered for … and then some! From the minute we opened the front door, there were thoughtful touches and surprises everywhere and it would ruin the effect if we divulged everything. We cannot fault this cottage and in our opinion, Wullie and Alison have self catering sussed. They are prepared to go that extra mile to guarantee their guests' comfort and in the event you have any queries, are a ‘rapid response team’. We had a great holiday in a wonderful cottage. Would we stay here again? Absolutely!

P.S. Did I mention the Welcome Pack - Wow!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The immaculate, comfortable, quality cottage.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely feedback, we’re so glad you both enjoyed all the cottage and area has to offer and have still kept some surprises for future guests too, so glad the new hot tub was a favourite too.

Seeing the dolphins is always a great highlight so great that they put in an appearance for you too.
Thanks once again and would love to Fàilte (welcome) you both again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esingnrai...
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If Failte means Welcome, we want to be welcomed again!”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

At first I was concerned that being an attached property, in a town, and having neighbors overlooking, we might not feel as if we were away. That was dispelled the first day, when we didn't hear a car pass, and everything was so lovely and quiet inside and out. The town is perfectly situated for walking and exploring caves, cliffs and beaches. We love rock pools, and there was ample opportunity for that. The kids adopted the TV room, which they called their "Chill out" room. There were plenty of movie and TV choices, as well as comfy beds and lovely decor. Little niceties like a super king en suite, rain showers, heated tile floors in bathrooms, toiletries in the bathrooms, LG smart TVs, Denby dishes, and nespresso machine with beautiful gas hob made our week more of a treat. We chose this property because of the hot tub, and we were not disappointed! Everything was beautifully clean and well looked after. We had a few sunny days, and on the days that weren't, we were happy to stay in. We always have to stay somewhere that is NOT pet-friendly, as our daughter has allergies to animals. This was perfect. They even catered for our gluten free/dairy free children in the welcome basket!
There were 4 bikes and helmets to use, but we didn't need to, as ours were happy walking. Wullie was so friendly and helpful, we weren't lacking in anything! We hope we can come back in the future and would recommend this to anyone wanting a quiet place, but well within range of gorgeous Scottish scenery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thanks for the lovely review, we're so glad you had a great time and enjoyed all the cottage and area has to offer, it would be great to see you all again, thanks so much
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful and Perfect”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

After arriving from a long drive we opened the door and were truly wowed by this beautiful and greatly equipped cottage. The super king sized bed in the master bedroom was perfect as was the en suite. The children loved their bedrooms and the snug where they could watch tv on their own. The hot tub was a high light too, to relax after a day of activities. Bath towels provided were a great help too. The kitchen is super equipped with beautiful crockery and plenty of extras when we had visitors. The coffee machine was wonderful.
The walks around portknockie are suitable for all ages, the bikes are a great idea ( we didn't use them) but we will next time!!
The welcome pack of food and goodies was wonderful, it meant we didn't need to rush out to buy essentials. We'll definitely be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing!!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Thanks for a lovely review, we're really pleased you all enjoyed so many aspects of our cottage, it would be great to see you return, maybe in winter next time when you can enjoy the log burner, thanks again, Wullie & Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing