We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great House for a large group”
other travellers have booked this property
L'Orangerie
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
L'Orangerie
view looking down garden from mid way down Living room (80+sq metres & ample seating and space)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
L'Orangerie
view looking down garden from mid way down
Living room (80+sq metres & ample seating and space)
Living room - fireplace view - cosy in winter around log burner
kitchen between dining room and main sitting room
Dining Room next to kitchen - partial picture only - seats 18
Second sitting room - has bookcase, games, & 2nd DVD player
Upstairs triple single bedroom (about 50% of very cute room)
upstairs end en suite bedroom from window
upstairs end en suite bedroom towards window
Upstairs example of beamed double bedroom (about 50% of room wardrobes etc. in other 50%)
Example of spacious upstairs en-suite shower rooms
Downstairs Double En suite Bedroom - Walnut Art Deco furniture
Complimentary bikes for use by guests
Plenty of room to relax and enjoy the gardens
Inside our 300 year old 'Wendy House'
Andrew at the helm with large BBQ steaks
Colourful blooms in the gardens - all year round
Kayaking in river Orne nearby at Pont d'Ouilly
Up close to the 'Mulberry Harbour' at sandy Arromanches beach
Garden view - 'gin & tonic' snicket
Another quiet corner - nice and private
Sunset view looking down the valley from the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
La Foret-Auvray, Orne, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pip C
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great House for a large group”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here as a large family group of 10 in May 2015. The house has a huge living room with a large open fire as the centre piece. We were all able to sit down comfortably together in the lounge and spread around when we wanted more space. Similarly the kitchen, breakfast area and dining room could accommodate us all together which is essential for a large group.
Andrew and Jeanette were perfect hosts and provided a fantastic BBQ on one evening - the garden is beautiful with views across to the Chateau and surrounding countryside. As keen walkers we were delighted to be provided with maps and information to take with us on our walks.
There is a great restaurant nearby and numerous activities - Andrew patiently tried to teach us Archery and took us kayaking.
The house was clean comfortable and I would thoroughly recommend it particularly to a large group that needs space to be both together and apart.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
How gratifying it is to read another great review. It was a delight for us to join this wonderful family for a little archery, and Andrew has long since been saying he really must try the kayaking on the Orne, as so many of our previous guests have given us such glowing reports. We were so pleased to be able to share some of our local knowledge with this group - we even managed to provide a very acceptable vegan bbq dish for the non-animal product eating member fo the group (I learnt a lot about additives). We are hopeful that we will be able to welcome this family again to L'Orangerie, and maybe next time, the members who did not join them in 2015, will be able to come too. We thank Pip for taking the time to write this kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Distance to shops - difficult for freshly baked croissants
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Apr 2015
What a wonderful start to the 2015 holiday season. It is so very gratifying to know that our first guests of the year had such a good time, and that everything was to their satisfaction. They booked a long time ahead to secure the Easter week, and we are so pleased that they not only liked the property, but also, the springtime weather was splendid. They have mentioned that they would like to visit again, and we would love to have them back.

We thank this lovely group for taking the time to write such a complimentary review - we hope future guests find it helpful to know that we are continuing to invest time, effort and money into our property, to ensure that it remains a destination of choice for discerning visitors, now and in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LadnerLad...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Everything here says chill out, enjoy, relax. So we did!”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

There aren't many places where six couples can share a holiday home and not feel like they're tripping over each other: L'Orangerie is the place. Top of our "must have" list was a private bathroom -- the older we get the more important this feature seems to be -- and each couple had their own ensuite. Nice. After that detail we loved the space, the grounds, the area and of course our charming hosts. The mix was simply perfect. This corner of the world is delightful, full of history, charming towns, walks by the river and in the countryside.

We loved the meals cooked by our hosts -- delicious, abundant and great value. So much better than the options of driving to a restaurant or cooking ourselves.

Sitting outside in the garden we were treated to uninterrupted views of rolling hills and endless sky. We did make a small dent in the lawn games of badminton and bocci but we'll have to come back for a croquet. We really meant to get a game going but somehow ran out of time.

As you can tell from reading this, we had a most perfect holiday. You will too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything from cooked meals to en-suites.
Liked least: Can't think of a thing.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardBa...
basingstoke
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful week”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This holiday exceeded our expectations and fulfilled all trip advisor recommendations and more. We were a family group of 8 adults and 8 children aged 12 years to 4 months. The accommodation is huge both inside the house and in the garden with lots of things to occupy children. Everywhere was well resourced especially the kitchen. The hosts, Jeanette and Andrew were attentive without being intrusive and made us so welcome that we would not hesitate to book again. A wonderful week with happy memories for us all.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2014
What a lovely review from this guest and her family. It was a great pleasure to welcome them to L'Orangerie, and it was good to know how relaxed the parents could be, secure in the knowledge that the garden is totally private and enclosed, so the children were safe.
Andrew ran one of his famous complimentary treasure hunts, and the children absolutely loved it - where do they get all that energy? A trip to the castle at nearby Falaise (birthplace of William The Conquerer), had the children equipped with rubber swords and foam maces, so they had many a re-enactment of the battle of hastings in the garden.
We are happy to read and hear that the holiday was such a success, this lovely family are considering returning - we would be delighted to see them here again.
We thank them for taking the time to post this kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillippa...
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hosts, fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stay here for a week in July with a group of 15 from ages 6 months to over 60. The give is fabulous large enough for us all to feel at homie and not on top of each other. Andrew and Jeanette are a wealth of knowledge and we used this to our advantage going out for meals and trips to local areas!!! Andrew even arranged a treasure hunt for the children who loved it!!! On the last night they even cooked a meal, which was a great end to a fabulous holiday. All in all it was a great week in France. I would definitely return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2014
The nice thing about reading this review, is that it shows how flexible the accommodation is at L'Orangerie. Robust enough for very young children, spacious enough for teenagers to play badminton or boule, and relaxing enough for parents to just sit back and enjoy the views, maybe with a glass or two of local Calvados! Equally, it is good for walking groups, or just friends getting together.
We thoroughly enjoyed meeting this lovely family, and it is great for us to know that all the generations were able to get together and enjoy their precious time together. We very much hope to see them again one day in the future, and thank them for taking the time to share their experience with our potential future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing