We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Multiple family holiday”
Summerhut and swimming pool in the ocean front garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Summerhut and swimming pool in the ocean front garden
The beach in front of the villa Walking on the beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Summerhut and swimming pool in the ocean front garden
The beach in front of the villa
Walking on the beach
Children playing on the beach
Yoga session on the beach at the villa
Breakfast
Beach side garden
Lunch
Lunch in the summerhut
Coconut
Garden with swimmingpool
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Bedroom
Veranda
Fountain in the garden
Wedding at the villa
Bride and broom on the beach at the villa
Buffet at the villa
Wedding celebration at the villa
Sitting room
Courd yard
Night party
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Pitiwella, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Russian first
Any
English first
Sarah H
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Multiple family holiday”
Reviewed 9 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were 10 adult and 8 children staying for just over a week coming from Singapore. The villa has 9 rooms which meant we could easily sleep everyone and the villa grounds is perfect for young children (aged 0 upwards) as there is plenty of grass space to run around and 2 pools, one for kids and one for adults.
The villa staff are very hard working and sweet but English not great so a few things got lost in translation but we go there.
All the meals were fantastic and the children's food requests were all catered for. They even organized a fantastic surprise birthday party for my husband that included a disco and decorations.
I would definitely recommend the villa for people with young families and it is virtually indestructible.
The villa is also on the beach and is short drive in a Tuk Tuk to both Galle for day trips and evenings out and also to visit Haikadua along the coast.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2017
Thanks for your review . Happy that you enjoyed your stay at our villa that much .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect party location”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the villa for a long party weekend for which it was absolutely perfect. Accommodating staff, lovely food and a beautiful beach straight out of the garden gate. The bedrooms are all very pleasant and of a good standard and the outside seating area is a very relaxing place to spend the time. Clean pool of a good size and a perfect temperature.The owner was charming, exceptionally helpful and really quick to respond to our many questions. We would definitely recommend for a larger party.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2017
Thanks for your review . Always welcome at our villa .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful villa for a fun and happy family holiday”
Reviewed 20 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most lovely and relaxing holiday over New Year 2016. It was the perfect villa for a family/friends group of 12 of varying ages. The location next to the sea made it so easy to go for an early morning walk and it was so peaceful listening to the waves (sometimes a little large for a relaxed swim). The villa is opposite a bus stop which makes it very easy to go into Galle or Hikkaduwah (great restaurant called Neela's and the deeply moving Tsunami Museum).

The food was absolutely delicious Sri Lankan fare - especially the seafood and fish. We learnt how to make the tastiest dahl ever. The morning often started with sipping coconut water from a freshly cut coconut followed by a yoga session.

Siri and his team were on hand all the time to help us and make sure we had a good holiday. I'd go back given the chance...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2017
Thanks for your review . Very helpfull for the future guests to imagine how their stay at our villa will be .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mangocurr...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven on earth.”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
6
people found this review helpful

We were recently a part of 20-member strong birthday party collective that stayed for 3 utterly unforgettable nights at The Old Lady at the Sea.

My wife and I had arrived separate to the rest of the group and owing to the late arrival of our flight, we found it particularly difficult to locate the property in the dead of night with little or no locals to ask for directions and if they did, it would be patchy at best. If you intend staying here, I strongly recommend taking a printout of the location of the property to mitigate any issues with your arrival.

After an epic 23-hour journey from Sydney, we finally entered the Old Lady at the Sea, warmly greeted by one of their staff members. At once we were consumed by the villa’s utter simplicity - clean, effective and enduring design and basic but clean and spacious rooms. All rooms have their own private bathrooms and also come equipped with air-conditioning, an absolute must in Sri Lanka’s tropical heat.

However, you’ll have little time to appreciate the inside of your room because once you step out of it and on to the sprawling grounds of this Dutch villa, you’ll fall in love all over again. Well-manicured green lawns dotted by heaps of coconut palms, the azure blue waters of the pool, the breezy summer cabana and the sights and sounds of the ocean crashing just meters away from you – as I said, you’ll fall in love all over again.

As beautiful as any hotel or motel or villa or holiday rental may be, they are usually winners only because of the quality of staff that care for their guests. And this is The Old Lady’s winning hand.

The amazing staff will blow you away with their effortless service, always just right, never intrusive and all requests are met and served with love, a simple smile and a nod of the head.

Our friend’s 40th birthday do was planned in extensive detail. Every detail was comprehensively executed by the stunning kitchen and service staff and the results blew us all away. Not just on the day but all through our stay, the quality of food served was brilliant – authentic Sri Lankan fare is what we asked for and that’s exactly what we got.

The Old Lady at the Sea did not disappoint on any counts. Couple that with the company of friends who hadn’t met in years and an occasion that was special to all, this holiday and stay will remain etched in our brains for a lifetime.

Beware, if you book your stay here, you may not want to leave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2017
Amazing how you describe your stay at our villa . It gives us a happy feeling reading your review . Thanks for that .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suha C
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb.”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It was an excellent location. The food was superb. And the staff absolutely phenomenal as only Sri Lankans can be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2017
Thanks for your review . Also the staff was very happy having you and your family at the villa . Always welcome .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing