We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect place to eat, pray and love" :D”
Summerhut and swimming pool in the ocean front garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Summerhut and swimming pool in the ocean front garden
The beach in front of the villa Walking on the beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Summerhut and swimming pool in the ocean front garden
The beach in front of the villa
Walking on the beach
Children playing on the beach
Yoga session on the beach at the villa
Breakfast
Beach side garden
Lunch
Lunch in the summerhut
Coconut
Garden with swimmingpool
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Bedroom
Veranda
Fountain in the garden
Wedding at the villa
Bride and broom on the beach at the villa
Buffet at the villa
Wedding celebration at the villa
Sitting room
Courd yard
Night party
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Pitiwella, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Russian first
Any
English first
AnaPrapro...
Murska Sobota, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The perfect place to eat, pray and love" :D”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this beautifull Villa with our family and freiends, all together 17 people for one week in July. The atmosphere in this Villa is amazing, the staff is really freindly and the manager Siri had organizedeverything for us - trips, good food and everything else to satisfy our needs! We fell in love with the dog Polly!!! She is very protective and an indeispensable joint in this chain of fun, joy and laughter. The location is great, with the private beach, it is very close to other beautiful beaches, water sports, the city Galle and everything else the south has to offer.
Furthermore we celebrated our wedding in the Villa on friday and the Staff prepared an amazing buffet style dinner and coordinated pefectly with the wedding organisation.

Once again a huge thumbs up and highly recommend to all big families or groups of people who would like to enjoy Sri Lanka!

>Ana from Slovenia<

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dog Poly, food and private pool and beach!
Liked least: That we had to leave :(
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2013
Dear Ana ,
We are proud we had you and your family for your wedding celebration . We all wish you all the best and maybe many , many children ?
We all will remenber this as a very special event !
Thanks for your review .Always welcome at The Old Lady at the Sea !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyberdoc1
Doonan, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend for the location and staff”
Reviewed 3 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
5
people found this review helpful

11 of us stayed from several families and locations. Excellent base to see the south of the country. The manager Siri is better than Apple's Siri! Let the cooks decide the menu for you- they are fabulous. Drink the local Tiger beer- it is cheap but avoid the local Arrack! Have breakfast next to the beach and enjoy the pool. Galle and Hikkaduwa are but a short tut tut ride away. Consider the overnight trip to Kandy and the Day River Cruise- both were excellent. Everyone was sad to leave and we all miss the dog!
Worth checking with owner if others are staying. We had assumed we had booked exclusively but discovered on arrival we hadn't. Owners did work hard though to help the situation. Also worth confirming costs of airport transfers ( which worked really well) and use of the minibus prior to arrival. Some rooms do suffer from road noise. Wi- fi is limited to dongles.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staff and the food!
Liked least: Not being there longer!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2013
It was a pleasure having you all at our beach villa .
Indeed there was a misunderstanding concerning the exclusive use of the beach villa : there is an extra charge for exclusive use if the group is less than 14 . Nevertheless I'm happy that we could sort this out .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MimiDxbTr...
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Holiday with Friends”
Reviewed 25 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
5
people found this review helpful

We rented the whole villa for 4 nights with friends. Gorgeous location by the beach, amazing staff, so friendly! The food was amazing, the dinner buffet was so delicious!
We had a great time, playing cricket on the beach and walking around the area, it's short distance from the main town like Hikaduwa. The resident dog, Polly is such a star, we miss him and he added so much character to the place.

Highly recommended if you're traveling with a group of friends!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location, the food, the staff...
Liked least: nothing to mention here.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2013
Good to read that you and friends enjoyed The Old Lady at The Sea !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hangzhou, China
Reviewed 8 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
6
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: service and the view
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Mar 2013
We were pleased having you and your friends as our first guests from China . Thanks for recommending The Old Lady at the Sea .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ai3x
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stayed here for a wedding, great place, calming with friendly staff”
Reviewed 31 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
6
people found this review helpful

Stayed here as a guest at a wedding.

Staff including Siri the manager were really helpful and accommodating. They were able to change money for me when I ran out of rupees and all the local places were shut (full moon), arrange a tour and sort out pretty much anything.

Food was all prepared by a great team and tasted great. Beach is a little narrow outside the hotel but 50m down the shore it becomes much larger. Lots of local fishermen and friendly locals all happy to see tourists. Hotel dog Bulbul was absolutely AMAZING! Anytime someone staying at the hotel went to the beach she would come with of her own accord. She'd always stay about 3ft behind you at all times and just make sure you're okay. Any local she didn't like the look of she'd ward off any any other local dogs who came near and looked menacing she's happily see off. Go for a dip in the sea? No problem bulbul would sit on the shore and guard all your belongings. Never quite seen a dog like her!

All in all a great stay and highly recommended.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Beach, pool etc
Liked least: Wifi like most places in Sri Lanka was a touch iffy.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2013
It was a pleasure for us having you and your friends as our guests .
We also enjoyed the beautiful pictures of the wedding party !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing