We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful retreat in the French Countryside!”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Gite du Moulin

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Saint-Germain-de-Coulamer, Mayenne, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
C B
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“A wonderful retreat in the French Countryside!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in June 2013

We had a delightful stay in this beautiful rural location which provided an excellent base for exploring this region. A beautiful house to stay and very gracious hosts who provided an interesting tour of the old mill. Sylvaine's preserves are delicious! This is a place to return to. There are many places to eat (of course) from the simple to the luxurious within easy driving distance.or one can simply relax in the garden and get away from it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts Sylvaine and Robert and the location
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina...
Olympia, Washington
1 review
“Lovely, private French retreat.”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in July 2013

We had a wonderful time at this beautiful cottage. We traveled from the cottage to the Normandy D-Day beaches, Mont St. Michel, and Haras National du Pin. We put a lot of miles on our rental car. After a day to sight seeing sitting on our private patio with a glass of wine watching the cats and the chickens was very relaxing.

The cottage has everything you need and the hosts are gracious and willing to give any information you might need to make your stay perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting was beautiful.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy2510
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful well appointed cottage in a charming setting”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 for a stay in May 2013

A beautiful setting, a delightful cottage and very charming hostess and host Sylvaine and Robert. Our trip through the old mill was most interesting and told with much enthusiasm by Robert and Sylvaine. We loved our week, walking some of the local walks and visiting historical and charming towns in the region. We hope the new "chook" is happy.
Judy and Brett, Canberra, Australia

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigel w
Temuka, New Zealand
1 review
“How much more French could you get”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in June 2013

We arrived by train at Le Mans to a baptism of fire. A huge thunder and lightening storm . We were met by our friend Rhian who drove us directly to Gite Moulin de Classe
through pouring rain. When we arrived it was as though the sun had come out to welcome us. the Gite exceeded our expectations ten fold. A delightfully typically French cottage which oozed atmosphere. Sylvaine and Bob were very welcoming and helpful.We used our gite as a base for exploring Mayenne. Our favourite place was Le Lac De Sille Guillaume avec Le plage. Close by was a horse treking centre where rides were available at very reasonable rates.For those not riding a walk around the lake followed by some refreshments at a shore side cafe made for a very pleasant day. We enjoyed some lovely evenings on our veranda sampling some delicious wines and cheeses .A walk up to St Germain De Coulamere and the Boulangerie in the morning gave us an appetite for breakfast. We also had the pleasure of staying at another Gite called " La Belaziere ' a much larger style of accomodation right in rural France with some lovely local walks. thank you Sylvaine and Bob for a most enjoyable experience.Best wishes to you both and a special thank you to Rhian. A votre sante. Nigel and Frances

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The double sided log fire !
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2014
Thank you Nigel! We appreciate your comments, coming from far-away New Zealand. Glad you enjoyed our other gite too for those extra nights that you decided on at the last minute ! We'd love to see you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to enjoy a true holiday!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Gite de Moulin in July 2013, after travelling through Bretagne. Upon our arrival we thought we had seen the best of the north of France, but we soon realised the best was yet to come! The gite is a perfect place to relax, unwind and yet again actively explore some of France's most wonderful area's. We did not plan much in advance, but Sylvaine has lots of information and we picked several suggestions from the big map and many folders available. Every morning we did one of the hikes nearby or in a nearby town. Spectacular views and very peaceful! Afternoons were filled with visits to the many pitoresque cities nearby, and of course with our daily routine of enjoying our wine and cheese sitting on the bridge over the river at the gite. Details of all the places we visited are written in the guest book (filled with excellent reviews and tips for visits).
The hosts are wonderful, very friendly and respecting all privacy. The latter could not be said about the 2 chickens who came to check out the new guests upon arrival, and who came to visit us every morning. I never thought I would ever get so fond of a chicken, and they are still the topic of our conversations months later.
Do not hesitate to book this place; we are planning to return soon again, as it is a true little place of paradise, the best escape, the perfect holiday!
PS: the home made jams are also delicious!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything; well equiped place
Liked least: honestly... nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing