We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic, peaceful, rural delight with plenty of...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ipomoea Cottage

Front of cottage with terrace area to the left
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage with terrace area to the left
BBQ and terrace Cheers! Pineau, the Charentaise aperitif toasts Morning Glory(Ipomoea) flowers.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Front of cottage with terrace area to the left
BBQ and terrace
Cheers! Pineau, the Charentaise aperitif toasts Morning Glory(Ipomoea) flowers.
Relax on the swing seat
Sunset with a glass of wine on the terrace.
Garden with steps to the pool
Blossom time in our orchard
Part of the pool garden
Fun for all ages on the Velo Rail
A contrast to summer
Shady lawn beyond the pool
Pool and terrace area
Pool
Pool with Japanese collection behind
Hay making in early June, viewed from the pool terrace
Cows in the field beyond the swing
New Kitchen for 2016
Lounge
Dining
Garden bedroom
Second Bedroom
Open plan lounge,kitchen,diner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Le Lindois, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RandSOtor...
Thatcham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic, peaceful, rural delight with plenty of French charm and a pool!”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Well, it isn't often that we have found a place with which we all became so in tune with, so quickly. The cottage drew us in like a magnet and we were not disappointed. We had looked for somewhere with that ' je ne sais quoi ' for quite a while and sent numerous emails over several months to which we always got a pleasant and informative reply. Wendy and Den were very clear about what we could expect as far as young children were concerned. There are a few things to consider and we were pleased to know about these in advance rather than get somewhere to find it completely unsuitable. We would say if you know your children, you'll know if it's for you.
The cottage is well equipped, comfortable and has a lovely bright and airy feel. The aspect gives you plenty of privacy while still having Wendy and Den (and Scruffy the cat and Chicken...the chicken) being on hand to make you feel at home. If you literally want someone to tell you all the best bits, they are a mine of local information.
The location is great and a visit to the lakes a must. You can spend days in peaceful tranquility by the glorious pool or taking in the local sights, food and wine. We did both and were never short of places to go and things to do.
Wendy and Den were fantastic hosts. The cottage was a great place to stay. This part of France is beautiful.
We have even been back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and privacy
Liked least: Nothing to add here
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
We are always delighted when guests enjoy their stay. It makes our efforts really worthwhile and extra pleasing when they become captivated with our chosen piece of France and want to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Just try it - you won't be sorry.”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

From the light hearted banter exchanged in emails following our booking, we expected to enjoy this holiday - and we weren't disappointed. It's a clean and comfortable gite, ideally situated for real rural peace (we even watched Hoopoes fledge from their nest in one of the stone outbuildings) yet close enough to reach many attractions by car (or bicycle if you're related to Sir Bradley Wiggins). We visited beautiful towns, caves, chateaux, wonderful restaurants, and took an interesting canoe trip (we've never been stuck on a weir before) - then sometimes we just relaxed by the 'naturally heated' pool (which we took to mean cold, but the water was just nudging thirty degrees when we arrived) and cooked for ourselves in the well equipped kitchen or on the barbecue before settling down to eat outside and watch the sun set over the lovely garden and farming landscape. If you like seafood, 'Scruffy' the cat will find you very interesting - but 'Chicken' (the chicken) is content with just a few crisps.

Wendy and Den, the owners, were always available but never intrusive, and their local knowledge and recommendations provided enough information to keep us busy for far longer than our two week stay. In all our years of visiting France, we have never stayed at the same place twice - but this one is a real possibility.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamishLon...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday gite”
Reviewed 27 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We stayed in this house at the beginning of August and it exceeded all our expectations. The location is beautiful and the gite is set in lovely gardens.The house is well equipped and there is every comfort including lots of towels etc.
There is a great pool which is set behind the owners house, yet private. The small pool house has a fridge, kettle etc which is really handy.
There is lots to do in the area apart from relax but you do need a car.
Wendy and Den, the owners, are charming and have the knack of being available and helpful without being in any way intrusive.
We have rented many houses in France over the years but this is definitely the best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tobyandca...
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet, beauty and first rate hospitality in rural France”
Reviewed 22 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We spent two weeks at this beautiful little holiday cottage and loved it. The owners, Denis and Wendy Rowell, live next door and could not have been kinder or more generous. They let us use wood for the wood burning stove (more of this later), pick cherries off their fruit trees and borrow their dictionaries - we played a lot of Scrabble!

The cottage is very tastefully decorated, extremely comfortable and was spotless. There was lavender growing in abundance right by the barbecue area next to the gite, and the pool, of which we had exclusive use, was lovely. Denis and Wendy even thought to provide a small fridge for drinks up there and the wherewithal to make tea and coffee if wanted. There was nothing they hadn't thought of.

The area is very rural and quiet and was just what we were looking for. We wanted two weeks of complete tranquillity to read, eat, drink and sleep and that was precisely what we got. We had two of our adult daughters with us and had made it clear that our intention was to do very little. We were all happy with that! We did visit Brantome, which is about an hour and a quarter away and a very pretty little town, and there is plenty to do if you're looking to be more active than we were.

Sadly the only downside was nothing to do with the property, which we cannot recommend highly enough, but with the weather - and if the Rowells could have done something about that, they would have! Very unusually for June, there was a lot of rain and grey sky - we had about 5 really nice days out of the fortnight - hence the wood for the stove, and all that Scrabble!

Anyway, just go. We loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful area and property and reasonably priced
Liked least: the weather!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing