We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It doesn't get much better than this”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Le Lindois, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sallyandc...
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It doesn't get much better than this”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is the best holiday home we have stayed in either at home or abroad, and there have been a few! The accommodation and facilities were superb, with plenty of room (both inside and out) for the five of us so that we could all have our own space if we wanted - very important with teenagers. The children were delighted with the petanque court, the football pitch/goals, the shaded table tennis table and the badminton net, not to mention the lovely large pool. The gym was a fantastic bonus too.

There were so many thoughtful little touches, like travel plug adaptors provided throughout the property, a selection of games and books, even a fridge near the pool where you could keep your drinks. Everything we wanted was available and was of very good quality: lovely towels and bedding, excellent kitchen equipment with plenty of crockery/cutlery. There was even a supply of plates and cups etc for toddlers.

The bedrooms were a good size and stayed cool during the hot weather, plus the beds were very comfortable. The communal areas were just as spacious, and it was lovely to be able to sit out on the balcony (just outside the kitchen) to have breakfast as the front of the property faces south and has the best views.

The property is in a rural setting, with pretty extensive grounds and some wildlife interest - we saw deer and wild boar in the adjacent fields. Several villages are only a short drive away, plus necessities like supermarkets. There is plenty to see and do without travelling too far, and we were all kept amused, despite the disparate interests and ages of the children.

Les and Sara were perfect hosts, sharing their local knowledge and booking restaurants for us, and managed to be both unobtrusive and available at the same time. They even provided us with fresh eggs from the free range chickens, plus various fresh vegetables from Les's allotment.

We have all decided that we will return in the not too distant future and are looking forward to it already!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accomodation and facilities
Liked least: Not many local restaurants for evening meal
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for the positive feedback on your stay at Le Tilleul. We are delighted that you had such a great holiday here and obviously appreciate the lengths we go to in an effort to ensure our guests have a memorable and relaxing stay! It was a real pleasure having you and your family to stay at le Tilleul and we hope you visit us again before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from our gite
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thank you very much for all your positive comments. We strive to provide quality in everything we do at Le Tilleul, from the standard of accommodation and facilities to the help and assistance we offer our guests to ensure they have as fun and relaxing a holiday as possible and we are so glad you appreciated what we are doing here. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sigingstone
Reviewed 3 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilites available at the gite (inc. pool and summer terrace)
Liked least: nothing - we loved it all
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Sep 2012
Thank you for your kind and comprehensive Review. We truly enjoyed having you and your family to stay at Le Tilleul and we're thrilled that you were impressed with not just Le Tilleul, but also with the location, setting and the local attractions in the area.
We look forward to seeing you back again before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Gites were beautiful and had everything you needed, even fresh eggs laid by the owners chickens!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Jun 2012
Thank you very much for your generous comments and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Le Tilleul. It was a pleasure meeting you and your extended family and thank you very much for leaving the gites in such a clean and tidy condition - it is much apprecviated, and helps us to maintain the standards of quality and cleanliness we have set ourselves.
We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you again for your kind comments!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craig9W9
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful perfection....”
Reviewed 15 October 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We stayed as a family of six at Le Pommier at Le Tilleul the end of July, beginning of August; Mum, Dad, two children aged 4 and 11 and our parents. This was our first venture into a private rental type holiday in rural France and we were naturally apprehensive whether this was going to be the ‘right type’ of holiday for us. We had no reason to worry as our whole experience was entirely positive, to the point where we felt quite emotionally attached to the property when the time came for us to tear ourselves away.

Le Pommier is a beautiful property which has been furnished and equipped to meet every need, set in well maintained grounds. It has a huge grassy open fronted area, absolutely safe for the children to play in full view of the gite. Our children made very good use of the large trampoline which was an added bonus. There are also lots of games/sports equipment provided if you’re feeling energetic. The (large) swimming pool was kept perfectly clean and I have to say we all really appreciated the high quality loungers, super-comfortable cushions and huge umbrella. The sunbathing area around the pool is low-walled and secured with a gate to keep little ones safe and is an excellent feature for those with young children. There is so much attention to detail around the property plus thoughtful facilities such as a pool-side fridge, a convenient loo for bathers and a large family sized barbecue which really gives the gite a 5-star feel!

We found we had everything we needed in the gite to be fully self catering, with the lovely addition of fresh hens eggs and access to produce from the veg plots, we really couldn’t ask for more. The welcome basket is delicious and plentiful and we quickly used everything!

The living spaces are very comfortable for relaxing in the evenings and the balcony was the perfect place to take in the rolling views along the valley (wine in hand) and watch the family of deer tiptoe out of the sunflower fields at twilight. For those who appreciate wildlife this is a truly lovely area and we were surprised by visitors on a number of occasions as well as enjoying watching the many birds of prey in the area.

The region is rich in history and we ventured on many days out without having to travel too far afield, Brantome being our favourite on market day. (There are lots of guidebooks and leaflets in the gite to help you.)

It is not possible to fully do justice to the property and owners in just a few words of this review. Sara and Les and their lovely children have perfected the balance of being warm and welcoming, while still allowing you to feel comfortably private even though you’re just a few yards from their front door. They helped us with our every need both before and during our stay and we know that we have now been spoiled in our fortunate choice of staying at Le Pommier. In 20+ years of travelling abroad we have never visited the same accommodation twice, but with Le Pommier at Le Tilleul I have a feeling we may just have to make an exception!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool & space for kids
Liked least: No Negatives
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2011
Thank you so much for your fantastic review of your stay at Le Pommier.
Your kind comments are particularly welcome as they reassure us that what we are doing here is appreciated by our guests, and it is what they are looking for in this type of holiday. However, we will still continue to try and improve what we offer to our visitors in the coming years, both in terms of quality and also additional recreational facilities.
It was an absolute pleasure having you and your family to stay and we very much hope you will come back and see us again before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing