We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Abel Tasman Lodge(Marahau)(Great Value!)
USD 112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Adventure Inn(Marahau)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Barn(Marahau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (49)
    Filter reviews
    49 results
    Traveller rating
    49
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    49
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewswelcome homeperfect hostsshared bathroomlovely breakfastother guestshomemade breadlocation is greatwonderful placeroom was cleanone nightabel tasman national parknew zealandlisabenjamshikecook
    Filter
    Updating list...
    13 - 18 of 49 reviews
    Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

    We booked on line and stayed two nights separated by a night in the Abel Tasman NP. Have to say that this is one of the very best places we have stayed in. Such a lovely location, good rooms, exceptionally clean and such brilliant hosts.

    The location is great being at just about the start on the Abel Tasman walk and just a few minutes walk from all the amenities in Marahau.

    The hosts are fantastic and could not be more accommodating or helpful. And then there is the breakfast- truly tremendous.

    Very much hope we will be able to return at some time in the future.

    Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    Thank 99RM99
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    serenitylodgenz, Owner at Serenity Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

    Rob, thank you so much for this kind review. We loved having you stay with us and really hope that you will return one day. Have a fabulous trip through NZ and a safe trip home! Lisa & Ben

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

    We booked Serenity Lodge for one night prior to a sea kayaking trip in the Abel Tasman. Our stay was so lovely that we were dissapointed that we didn't have much longer.

    The location is great, right next to the beach at Marahau. It had the benefit of being peaceful and very relaxing as well as being within easy reach of everything, including the hooked on Marahau restaurant which we'd recommend.

    The rooms were comfortable, the shared bathroom great with a very powerful shower (free eco shampoo, conditioner and body wash much appreciated) and a very pretty front room and veranda. All the little things are thought of from free tea and coffee,including all the herbal varieties, to some chocolates in our room on arrival. It felt luxurious but at a very affordable price.

    The breakfast was unbelievable including home made jams and croissants. As a coeliac I was also very well taken care off!

    Our hosts went out of their way to be accomodating. They were even able to lend us some sealable bags for us to use to help us keep our bags dry when we asked at last minute notice.

    If I return to that part of the world I wouldn't hesistate to go back.

    Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    Thank annalstar
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    serenitylodgenz, Owner at Serenity Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

    Thank you so much Anna for this maxing review. What a shame that you couldn’t stay longer but then even better that you enjoyed your stay. We’re hoping to have you back here one day and wish you all the best! Ben & Lisa

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 March 2018

    Very friendly personalized welcome. It was the perfect location to relax and unwind. Ben and Lisa could not have been more charming. We would thoroughly recommend Serenity Lodge. The room was very comfortable and breakfast had a personal touch with home-made bread and jams.

    • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Monique H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

    Could not have been made more welcome. From the greeting "welcome home" to great advice on what to do, where to go and where to eat, Ben and Lisa made sure everything was perfect for our stay in their spacious three bedroom B&B. Lovely breakfast, cooked fresh accompanied by home made jams and everything you could possibly want. To top it off, Ben and Lisa's company was so warm, friendly and interesting. This has to be your first choice stay.....if they are not booked up solid!

    Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    Thank Ian T
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 March 2018

    Staying at Serenity Lodge and meeting Ben and Lisa was our most memorable time on our recent trip to New Zealand. We were skeptical about staying in Marahau because it is smaller than Kaiteriteri, our other choice. We're certainly glad that we chose Marahau, which is less touristy, quieter, and more accessible to Abel Tasman Park.

    We also lucked out on our choice to stay at Serenity Lodge. There are three rooms, one has an en suite bathroom and the other two share a shower room with a sink and a separate toilet room with a sink, both directly across a small hall from the sleeping rooms. I did not tell my husband ahead of time that we were in a room with a shared bathroom because he would have been upset. Once we got to Serenity Lodge I asked him how he liked sharing a bathroom and he said he hadn't noticed. It's that private! So, don't let a shared bathroom keep you from staying here. You'll share it with only one other room.

    I'm not sure that I can improve on what other reviewers have said about Ben and Lisa. They are indeed very special people. We're the age of their parents, yet it feels like we've made new best friends--we're already planning our return. Fabulous breakfasts, afternoon homemade cakes, and evening cheer all complement the thoughtfulness and gracious welcome you will feel here.

    Room Tip: All three rooms are very nice.
    • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Patricia0703
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews